Just got this email:

~~~~~~~~~~Scam Alert

Hi there,

I am interested in viewing one of your properties, could you please call me on my foreign mobile +882 135 502 99 to setup a time. As I am travelling at the moment I am unable to pickup emails regularly so please call.

Kind regards,

Liz Casey
---------
Mobile: +882 135 502 99
Email: lizcasey@zapak.com

~~~~~~~~~~

I can tell you it was very suspicious to me so I goggled the name and then I goggled the email address and nothing really interesting came up...

So I tried something different. I googled part of the message:

"I am interested in viewing one of your properties, could you please call me on my foreign mobile"

which brought up a site where someone with the exact same message was questioning it back in Aug 2007

See: http://www.city-data.com/forum/renting/692960-scam-not.html

When you are selling Real Estate, you have to watch those crazy emails, people are pulling all kinds of things these days....

 
Post is included in group: "Whacked"!!!
Post is included in group: RE/MAX Active Rain Bloggers
Post is included in group: RealtorsĀ®
Post is included in group: Dedicated Bloggers
Post is included in group: Addicted to Active Rain

28 Comments on is this a Real Estate scam? you have been warned...

JUL
02
410,472 Points 59 Featured Posts Localism Sponsor Outside Blog

Well, Charles, this is a new one (to me anyway)!  Thank you so much for the heads-up.  Have a wonderful Independence Day...

Debe in Charlotte

12:12pm • #1
148,107 Points 9 Featured Posts Localism Sponsor

Charles, Thank you for sharing.  I wouldn't return a foreign call anyways, too expensive.  It's also suspicious that they didn't mention what property they were interested in or a timeframe for when they would be in the area to see the property.  I wonder what the scam consists of?

12:19pm • #3
108,418 Points 5 Featured Posts Outside Blog

Charles, I never return calls to foreign numbers, in most cases it's way to suspicious.

12:22pm • #4
535,928 Points 13 Featured Posts Outside Blog

Gail - good point. Not sure but I seem to remember where if you call certain numbers, the person can somehow make charges on your phone... not really sure...

 

12:23pm • #5
535,928 Points 13 Featured Posts Outside Blog

Michelle, what was a red flag is that they said they have trouble getting email, yet they are using email vs calling...

12:24pm • #6

I got an email from this person yesterday.  Thought it looked a little like a scam and when I googled the email address, I saw this post!  I don't know if it is legit or not at this point, but 1 - no info on which property, 2 - no specific questions about the property, 3  - I have no listings under my personal name, 4 - the email address she sent it to me is my old address, not the one currently published on any websites and now 4 - you got the same request and you are in a totally different part of the country. 

Would be curious to see if any other Realtors find your post and comment that they received it too? 

Jenna

Jenna
12:52pm • #7

Hi All,

I just got this email this morning. I was going to just delete it, but I decided to see if I could find out more. So I did what Charles did and googled it as it was very odd and I got this blog note. I was just curious as what the scam was about.

Happy Independence Day!

April

 

April
12:58pm • #8

Hello Charles,


I am from Williamsburg, VA and I just got this same e-mail today.  I was instantly confident it is a scam and figure that the phone number is a foreign type of "900 number" which would charge me some wild and crazy fee. 

I googled the message and got your blog, so thanks for being the clearinghouse for this scam info.  I send all best regards to you and your fellow CAAR associates.


Best wishes for a happy Independence Day.

Yours, Bobby Hornsby

Bobby Hornsby
1:06pm • #9

This is what I found when I Googled 'country code 882'

**Telephones question: What country code is 882? Its not a country code, its used for satellite phones.
http://www.wiki.answers.com/Q/What_country_code_is_882**

Most likely when you return the call, your own number is captured and used to sell phone time to who knows whom in who knows where.

Chris

Chris, North Carolina Mountains
1:35pm • #10

Received same email yesterday to my personal email address, which does not appear in any of my real estate listings.  Thought that I should try to find out more information and found your postings. My thanks to everyone for sharing and helping us to avoid this scam.  Wishing everyone a fun and safe 4th of July.

Bonnie
1:37pm • #11
434,877 Points 2 Featured Posts Outside Blog

We have not received this particular email yet, but I'm sure we will.  Thanks for the heads up on it.  And good thinking on your part by googling the body of the email.

1:51pm • #12

I just received this as well in the Seattle area.  Liz is all over the place it seems!

Cindy Chase-John L. Scott Seattle metro area
2:06pm • #13
535,928 Points 13 Featured Posts Outside Blog

LOL!!! That Liz really wants to see a lot of homes!

 

We have gotten great responce and I have actually recieved a couple emails from agents thanking me as that got the same message and they were looking to see if it was valid.

When they googled, they got my AR post!

AR is Great!

2:31pm • #14

I do commercial real estate is Southern California and got the email today 7/2/09.  Like you, didn't look right and googled the number and wound up here.  Nothing like creative people in 3rd world countries finding ways to screw Americans.

Craig
6:48pm • #15
513,953 Points 52 Featured Posts Localism Sponsor Outside Blog

Oh joy!  You know I am so sick of scammers.  My favorite new one is the LLC who wants to buy property at a discount with cash (duh why don't you go to the trustee's sales to get a better deal) and then they come up with a pre-approval letter.  Mortgage fraud surprise surprise!

9:26pm • #16
389,835 Points 1 Featured Post Localism Sponsor Outside Blog

New scams will continue to pop up as we continue to have a shortage of buyers and agents are so happy to have a warm body to show homes to they forget to make sure they are qualified.

10:18pm • #17
JUL
03

Charles,

I received the same email this evening (7/3/09) and was suspicious. After googling, I found your site and subsequent posts. Liz Casey appears to be a very busy individual. Thank you for clearing up the "mystery".

Best Wishes,

Laura Perryman

Real Estate Direct, Pensacola FL

Laura Perryman
4:07am • #18
244,473 Points 22 Featured Posts Outside Blog

It sounded very fishy to me too Charles Good for you for not falling for it and for warning the rest of us.

6:48am • #19
590,238 Points 80 Featured Posts Outside Blog

Thanks for the heads up.  I took my cell phone number off Active Rain after I started receiving scam calls from Africa of all places.

9:16am • #20
JUL
05

This international code is used primarily for satellite phones. Not sure curent rates, but the one I had charged me $4 per minute per call, and the INCOMING caller a $12 conect charge plus $4 per minute. I'm not sure how the person sending this out can profit here, unless they are set up as a vendor for satellite service, but since you would be calling them, it could be difficult to refute the charges.

This particular email came to an address for a mortgage company I manage, not my to real estate company, and the mortgage company has no listings, so obviously it is a blast email (sent to multiple addresses) and a scam.

Scott Miller
1:18pm • #21
1 Featured Post

I got it today....YEAAAAAAAA!!

Last three digits were different but the email was identical otherwise....

Thanks for the post!

7:04pm • #22
JUL
06
535,928 Points 13 Featured Posts Outside Blog

I have received well over 50 comments on my outside blog from agents who have received this:

http://www.mycharlottesvilleblog.com/?p=3385

 

7:36am • #23
JUL
07

I received same exact email today- a scam for sure-

thanks for the postings

Jim O'Connell REMAX Partners-Fort Lauderdale
8:40am • #24
535,928 Points 13 Featured Posts Outside Blog

Now I have received well over 110 comments on my outside blog from agents who have received this:

Charlottesville Real Estate Blog

 

9:11am • #25
329,668 Points 16 Featured Posts Localism Sponsor Outside Blog

I googled this as I received it this morning. Congrats on your outside post it came up right away. Thanks Charles...

9:32am • #26
JUL
08
602,420 Points 59 Featured Posts Localism Sponsor Outside Blog Hit Router

A comment on Charles WordPress.com blog post about the subject (which now has over 150 comments)  today says:

"Before I found this message, I returned the call to Liz. A woman answered and CNN was playing loudly in the background. Every minute or so, the woman yelled, “Liz, there’s a call from you.” and “Liz, are you coming?” I hung up after 8 minutes and it will be interesting to see what my charge is."

comment left by an attorney...  I got an email from Elizabeth late yesterday and found your WordPress blog post.

 

12:43pm • #27
535,928 Points 13 Featured Posts Outside Blog

Maureen

I saw that comment and it sure did explain a lot

The post has taken on a life of it's own

1:51pm • #28

This blog does not allow anonymous comments

 
High-def Rainmaker_large

Charlottesville Real Estate - Your Trusted Broker Charles McDonald

Charlottesville, VA

More about me…

RE/MAX Assured Properties - No one sells more Real Estate

Address: MyCharlottesvilleAGENT.com, 943 Glenwood Station Lane, Charlottesville, VA, 22901

Office Phone: (434) 515-1585

Cell Phone: (434) 515-1585

Email Me

Information about Charlottesville Real Estate including Land, Farms and Estates from a top Buyers Agent. Learn about Albemarle and wonderful neighborhoods and areas like Ivy, Keswick, Glenmore and Old Trail just to name a few.


Links

Archives

RSS 2.0 Feed for this blog

Find VA real estate agents and Charlottesville real estate on ActiveRain.