What is the deal with this guy?  They ask a legitimate question or near legitimate question and they have no logical out come in mind.  It really makes you mad when you think your blog is reaching someone and it isn't. 

 

Dave Woodson

The Indiana FHA Expert

Via Chanda Barrick REALTOR (Indianapolis, Avon, Greenwood) (1st Choice Real Estate Group):

I thought I was starting to pick up more hits from people interested in obtaining information related to the tax credit, home buying, etc, but apparently it's a new scam.  The only thing is...I don't know why they are doing it

Is it simply email harvesting so they can sell my address to a million other people that want to spam me or is it something even more sinister?

Last week I received an email from "Frank" regarding the tax credit.  I thought "Mike/Frank" found my blog about the tax credit and had additional questions about how the credit works.  I thought it was odd that he signed as "Frank", but the email address was "Mike"...  I searched the internet for this particular address, but didn't come up with much so I responded...

Here's "Frank's" message:

From:"mike.power200@gmail.com"
To:chandasellsindy
Sent: Friday, July 3, 2009 10:04:24 AM
Subject: How much of a tax rebate will i get for buying my first home

How much of a tax rebate will i get for buying my first home?  I was thinking that your advice would be very helpful.  I know you must be very busy so any pointers would be very much appreciated.
Please point me in the right direction.  Thank you in advance.
Thanks, Frank

This morning I go to check my mail and see I have an email from "Janet".  The wording of the message sounded very similar to the one I got from "Frank" last week so I thought I'd look this particular email address up.  This one yielded results.  Various people were saying this same email address was sending messages with inquiries related to whatever industry they were in...

Here's "Janet's" message:

From:"andri.manager@gmail.com"
To:chandasellsindy
Sent: Tuesday, July 7, 2009 10:31:13 PM
Subject:Do homebuyers pay sales tax

Hi,
Do homebuyers pay sales tax?  I don`t know if you are the right person to ask, but any advice/pointers you might have would be very much appreciated.
Would you consider giving me a couple pointers?
Thank you for your help.  Gratefully,
Janet

So here I thought I was being a good Samaritan when in reality I was being scammed.  ARGH!  I don't know what will happen as a result of responding to "Frank" but I wanted you all to be aware in case you've received similar inquiries!  DON'T RESPOND!!!

 

1 Comments on Beware of New Email Scam! Although I don't Understand What the Purpose Is...

JUL
10
202,819 Points 19 Featured Posts Outside Blog

Strange - we got very similar e-mails.  I replied... I don't get the point of this scam either.

1:16am • #1

Leave a response…



(optional)
What does the graphic say?
 
Rainmaker_large

Dave Woodson

Chesterton, IN

More about me…

Dave Woodson

Address: Portage``, IN, 46368

Office Phone: (219) 872-8000

Cell Phone: (219) 608-9790

Email Me



Links

Archives

RSS 2.0 Feed for this blog

Find IN real estate agents and Chesterton real estate on ActiveRain.