I received one of these letters as well. I googled the name and came up with this scam alert!

Via Pacita Dimacali - e-PRO, CDPE, MBA East Bay, North CA real estate (Gallagher & Lindsey):

SCAM ALERT! Received inquiry about one of my listings.  But red flags were popping up all over the place.

When I researched the name, I was led to this site about scammers http://www.419scam.org/419people.htm

RED FLAGS:

  • CASH
  • Out of country
  • Email communications
  • Japanese name, but talks about Chinese tradition
  • Provided "passport" and "proof of funds".
  • Address provided is for a property advertised for rent

Here's the communique

My current address is: 2000 sheppard ave. toronto on, M3N 2J1 and there will be no other additional name on the purchase contract please note my full name are: FUKUHARA KAZUHIKO. I am relocating to state permanently and regarding the closing date i will deffinately be there in person before on the 26th of June 2010 because i have also placed an order in Chinese home style furniture, Chinese style home entertainment, Chinese home decoration and Chinese kitchen appliance in China.
 
I love my tradition and I want my home to look like little China mansion.  
 
Please take note 30 days will be sufficient for the closing so please kindly prepare the purchase contract agreement in docusign format so that i can sign and initial them electronically.
 
Attached is a scan copy of my international passport and ID including statement of account copy as proof of funds for the transaction.
 
Please note the property is going to be cash buy, and i have already discuss with my stock broker  regarding the purchase and the initial deposit(EARNEST MONEY). Please below are the information my stock broker need to issue out the earnest money:
 
Contact Name:
Check Payeable To:
Contact Address/ Physical Address: 
Phone Number:
 
Once again thank you very much for your attention and assistance regarding my distance purchase. I await the purchase contract agreement in docusign format including the ESCROW COMPANY informations to enable my stock broker issue the payment out as soon as possible.
 gards.
 
Mr. Fukuhara Kazuhiko
0034634035049
fukuhiko@asia.com

 

These guye are getting very good --- they even knew the key words like DocuSign

WATCH OUT!

If it's too good to be true, it is!


Google Teri Ellis

 


Mesa, Arizona Real Estate. Call me at: 480.382-8711 for information on purchasing or selling a home in Mesa, Arizona or surrounding towns. OR email me: Teri@TeriEllis.com. Feel free to visit my website: HomesAzRE.com, or stop by my blogs at: MesaAzRealEstateVoice and AzLadyInRed!



 

9 Comments on SCAM ALERT: cash buyer from out-of-area/country even provides "passport" and "proof of funds"

JUN
01
2010
946,592 Points 8 Featured Posts Outside Blog Called Shot Master

Your last sentence is the key -- too easy means warning signs!!!!

Thanks for this important alert.

12:18pm • #1

Thanks for the heads up Teri, one of the great things about Activerain is the ability to get this kind of information out!

4:05pm • #2
JUN
03
2010
549,082 Points 36 Featured Posts Localism Sponsor Outside Blog Hit Router

Thanks so much Teri!  There is so much of these types of scams and it is not like the good old days.

12:50pm • #4
JUN
04
2010
1,308,632 Points 65 Featured Posts Outside Blog Attended Rain Camp Called Shot Master

Teri  I haven't gotten this one - YET  Thanks for the heads up  Karen

8:37am • #5
JUN
05
2010
241,556 Points 5 Featured Posts

Teri, we are seeing a lot of this kind of stuff as well. I guess the Nigerians have moved to a new location.

12:28pm • #6
410,411 Points 17 Featured Posts Outside Blog

I actually thought this might not be a scam....duh!!! Of course, all I had to do was stop by Active Rain to find out....;-)

7:40pm • #7
JUN
09
2010
199,849 Points Localism Sponsor

Hi Teri,

Schemers are getting more and more sophisticated and their schemes more elaborate.  Thanks for reblogging this!

6:59am • #8
JUN
22
2010
229,420 Points 10 Featured Posts Outside Blog Hit Router

If something seems to good to be true... It is.   Just a waste of your time, when you could be doing "GOOD"!

9:07am • #9

Login or register to leave a comment

 
Teri2012-4 Rainmaker_large

**Mesa, Arizona Real Estate** Mesa Arizona Realtor

Mesa, AZ

More about me…

Teri Ellis at Homes Arizona Real Estate LLC

Address: Mesa, AZ, 85209

Office Phone: (480) 382-8711

Email Me



Listings

Links

Archives

RSS 2.0 Feed for this blog

Find AZ real estate agents and Mesa real estate on ActiveRain.