Because I have a 2 wonderful listings that the sellers are offering as "lease to purchase" as well as selling, I've been receiving many phone calls from potential clients looking for more information.

A few days ago a gentleman called and was asking about the homes, citing incorrect information that was "listed on the website".  I finally had to ask him where he got this information.

It was on a "rent to own" website. Well, I never posted it there,  So I had to explore and this is what I found:

wolverhampton Raleigh

 

 

Both of the homes I have listed on this street,are displayed with a banner saying Rent to Own.  Now technically there is a difference between "rent to own" and lease purchase.  With a lease/ purchase you have to write an Offer to Purchase on the home  and do all of your Due Diligence BEFORE you move into the home and "lease" it. And there is a definite time frame in which the leasee has to buy the home.

The website also lists each home as 3 1/2 baths, which they do not have. 

Notice the "details" button? Here's what you find when you click it:

wolverhampton Raleigh

 

Yes, not a lot of details, just a lot of requests to "join now for details".  You know what that means- they want money!

I clicked one link and it asked for your credit card number, and says you'll get a 7 day free trial, and only be charged 1$.  How much after that will be on your credit card bill though?

 

More misleading info:wolverhampton Raleigh

 

This paragraph is in front of EVERY home listed. Now, since this is my listing, it's obviously not being sold directly by it's owner.  The gentleman who called me thought I was the owner, not a real estate agent. He was asking me very personal questions about why "I" was moving, etc.

 

Here's the worst part, and what this gentleman who called me was talking about: 

They gave this Financial Info:

wolverhampton Raleigh

 

Except for the asking price, all of the other financial details are incorrect and misleading. This website does disclose this as saying "Potential" at the top, although most people reading this would assume that these were the correct amounts. However, none of the other payments are what the seller is looking for.

If you're looking for a legitimate home for sale, you should never have to "pay" for information. 

A Realtor will  give you any of this information for free!

Also, a Realtor will never disclose financial details such as these. It's against RESPA rules, as we don't know your particular situation.

 

Want to know details about any home for sale, or these homes that are lease/ purchase?  Go to www.nchomesfinder.com and click on Search. I'll just ask for your name and email address so that I can send you info on other homes.  If you don't want to give that to me, it's fine. You can still search for homes on your own. But I'll NEVER ask you for your credit card information or for money!

 

 

 

 

  

What's going on in the Apex and Cary area lately?  

 As your local specialist, Linda Jandura knows Apex and Cary!

Call me today at 919-621-1691.

 

About The Author

Linda Jandura is a North Carolina Residential Real Estate Specialist that can assist you with the purchase and/or sale of homes in the Raleigh Cary Metro area, or any place else in the country by connecting you with a relocation professional in your destination of choice.

 To find all available homes for sale in the Triangle area of North Carolina, please visit www.NCHomesFinder.com

Call me TODAY at 919-621-1691

Email me with your Raleigh Cary area questions 

 
This post has been included in North Carolina Real Estate News Wake County, NC Real Estate News Raleigh, NC Real Estate News
Post is included in group: North Carolina Real Estate
Post is included in group: Posts to Localism
Post is included in group: Raleigh Cary Realty
Post is included in group: Real Estate Trends

8 Comments on Buyers/Renter beware- Fraudulent Info on Rent to Own Websites.

JUN
17
2011
114,590 Points 5 Featured Posts Outside Blog Attended Rain Camp Called Shot Master

Unbelievable.  How distressing for you and your owners.  What can be done about this? I knew about Craig's List, but this is the worst I have seen.

9:35am • #1
Outside Blog

So many tricks. You never know what will happen next. You have to keep your guard up.....

9:36am • #2
741,959 Points 18 Featured Posts Outside Blog Called Shot Master

Scammers. One after the next. Bloodsuckers trying to take advantage of people who are already hurt.

"Liked." "Suggested."

9:54am • #3
146,032 Points Called Shot Master

Hello Linda,

Thanks for sharing this information with us.

10:05am • #4
222,909 Points 6 Featured Posts

Jeanne- I called the NC Real Estate commission and they said that if a Realtor was running the site, they would have some contol. There's no way to find who is running the site, and the domain name is marked private.  So they can't do anything about it.

Dennis- yep, it's just one more thing to worry about.

Mike- thanks for like me! and suggesting. Yep, it's always something.

James- We need to pass the info around to our clients so they don't get taken in. Thanks for commenting.

12:18pm • #5
471,230 Points 26 Featured Posts Localism Sponsor Called Shot Master

Hi Linda, good expose' reporting... I notice one of our office listings on that site a few months ago- nope, the owner isn't selling it himself or renting it either ---

3:14pm • #6
JUN
18
2011
1,392,119 Points 28 Featured Posts Hit Router Called Shot Master

That web site should be reported to the Better Business Bureau.  They are scrubbing your listings and presenting false information.

8:04am • #7
222,909 Points 6 Featured Posts

Mary- interesting that you had a listing on there too. Where do these people get the nerve?

Gabe- I actually called the Real Estate commission and they couldn't do anything about it. I don't think the BBB has any power to stop them either.

 

 

8:28am • #8


What does the graphic say?
Leave a response…


(optional)
Spam Prevention:
 
Linda_jandura_april_2010_bb_660 Rainmaker_large

Linda Jandura Realtor North Carolina Buyer & Seller Specialist

Apex, NC

More about me…

Raleigh Cary Realty

Address: 1151 Kildaire Farms Rd Ste. 124, Cary , NC, 27511

Office Phone: (919) 621-1691

Cell Phone: (919) 621-1691

Email Me

<!-- Site Meter -->

Site Meter <!-- Copyright (c)2009 Site Meter -->


Listings

Links

Archives

RSS 2.0 Feed for this blog

Find NC real estate agents and Apex real estate on ActiveRain.