NEW TWIST ON AN OLD SCAM: I received these two emails at the very same minute, one supposedly from Wachovia, the other from Wells Fargo. They went to my spam folder, the second contains the spelling error Wellsfargo. If you receive these types of emails DO NOT click on any link that looks suspicious. Always check with the lender and forward them to the abuse department.

 

 UPDATE YOUR ONLINE ACCOUNT


Wachovia is hereby announcing the new change in Online Banking Service. We're upgrading our SSL servers for a more reliable and secure Online Services.

 

 

The Online Service will be changing soon to make your Online Banking experience even better. It will have a great new look and some new features with the latest technology to keep your details secure, and dedicated teams to monitor Online activity and intercept any suspicious transactions.

With this upgrade, you are required to update your Online Account to avert any technical error with our processors. Click on the update below:

Reference*

UPDATE

Sincerely,
David H. Stone
Director of Customer Advocacy

 

Dear Sir/Madam,

Wellsfargo Bank is constantly working to increase security for all Online Banking users, due to enhancement in our online Banking Access homepage. To ensure the integrity of our online payment system, we periodically review accounts. Your account might be restricted due to numerous login attempts into your online account. Restricted accounts continue to receive payments, but they are limited in their ability to send or withdraw funds. To lift up this restriction, you need to confirm your online banking details.

Click on the following link to confirm your online banking details.

http://www.roomanklubi.fi/images/confirm.htm

*Important*
You are required to provide all necessary information completely and correctly otherwise, due to security reasons, we may have to close your account temporarily.

Security Advisor
 Phillip Brock

Are you new to Forest VA, searching for a home for sale in Greater Lynchburg  or at Smith Mountain Lake?  Give me a call for information on local events, things to do or Lynchburg MLS real estate listings.


Debbie Malone, ABR, ASP, e-PRO
RE/MAX 1st Olympic Realtors
(434) 546-0369 C
(434) 832-0941 F
(434) 832-1100 O
malone1981@aol.com

 

15 Comments on NEW SCAMS -Wachovia and Wells Fargo Spoof Emails

OCT
13
2007
I received the same email.  IT is such a sin, that people spend time coming up with these scams instead of applying their brains to something that helps society.
7:30pm • #1
249,259 Points 3 Featured Posts Outside Blog
There's no shortage of thieves out there......I've gotten these spoofs from ebay and paypal before, they are using any trick they can to reel people in to their scams. Thanks for your comments!
7:33pm • #2
Reeling in suckers, I guess that is why they call it phishing.  BTW Debbie, have you checked out my web site for referring Christian Realtors at http://www.ChristianRealEstateAgents.net
7:37pm • #3
281,433 Points Outside Blog
Thanks Debbie I,m always glad to be alerted to scams. They can wreck havoc on you.
7:45pm • #4
249,259 Points 3 Featured Posts Outside Blog
Tim, it's amazing how many people are trying these scams.  I'm so glad they're running the fake check ads on tv....it doesn't sound so believable in person. Thanks for the link to your website. I would love to refer clients to a Christian realtor. Thanks!
8:24pm • #5
249,259 Points 3 Featured Posts Outside Blog
Hugh, we had CE on identy theft last month and it woke us up to how vunerable we all are. Thanks for commenting!
8:25pm • #6
I received the same emails, I dont use either of them. I do know better that to respond if they were lucky enough to guess my bank.
8:27pm • #7
Debbie, when you get a chance fill out a form on my Christian Website so I can have you in my data base.  Give me a brief paragraph of your background and beliefs and anything that will be helpful in me referring you.
8:30pm • #8
Debbie - whooo that is scary for sure!  I had no idea... thanks for giving everyone the heads up!  
8:34pm • #9
249,259 Points 3 Featured Posts Outside Blog
Thanks Naoma, I've been shredding everything too.... you just don't know who's trying to get your info.
8:41pm • #11
184,270 Points 2 Featured Posts Outside Blog
Debbie - thanks for commenting on this.  One way to see if the link is what it is supposed to be is to hover over the link and see what shows in the bottom left corner of your Outlook screen.  If it looks different than what it claims such as the link you showed - then the Delete key is the best one to use!
10:31pm • #12
249,259 Points 3 Featured Posts Outside Blog

Great tip, I've never heard of doing that, thanks Matthew!

11:09pm • #13
OCT
14
2007

I just received this one today.

Dear Valued Customer :

We are unable to activate your account because we have just upgraded our online security parameters to make your Bank account and informations more secured from online frauds,so we request that you reconfirm your online Banking details with the one we have on file before you will be able to send and receive money online.
Your account may be place on restricted status. Restricted accounts continue to receive payments, but they are limited in their ability to send or withdraw funds. To lift this restriction, you need to login into your account (with your username or SSN and your password), then you have to complete our verification process. You must reconfirm your credit card details and your billing information as well. All restricted accounts have their billing information unconfirmed, meaning that you may no longer send money from your account until you have reconfirm your billing information on file.

This one purports to be from Bank of America



9:47am • #14
249,259 Points 3 Featured Posts Outside Blog
Yikes.... sure, let me give you my social security number too! LOL! Thanks for posting this.
1:32pm • #15

Leave a response…



(optional)
What does the graphic say?
 
Dsc01468 Rainmaker_large

Debbie Malone, Realtor Lynchburg, Smith Mountain Lake, VA

Lynchburg, VA

More about me…

RE/MAX 1st Olympic Realtors

Address: 20395 Timberlake Rd, Lynchburg, VA, 24502

Office Phone: (434) 832-1100

Cell Phone: (434) 546-0369

Email Me

Homes for sale in Lynchburg, Forest, Bedford County, Campbell County or Smith Mountain Lake. Check below for local information on schools, restaurants and things to do in the Lynchburg, Virginia area. Realtor ratings and reviews of Debbie Malone
Powered by RealBird.com

Forest, Virginia Community Information and Events



Links

Archives

RSS 2.0 Feed for this blog

Find VA real estate agents and Lynchburg real estate on ActiveRain.