2008 California Laws
1. DUI and kill someone, you will be facing murder charges.
2. Smoke in the car with a minor child (under 18) and you will be fined. California's ban would prohibit smoking in a vehicle containing anyone under 18, but the traffic stop would have to be made for another offense, such as speeding, before a vehicle's occupant could be cited for smoking.
The smoking ban is the latest attempt by the state to shield people from the health risks created by breathing secondhand smoke. California already prohibits smoking in enclosed workplaces, including taverns and restaurants, and within 25 feet of a playground.
3. Effective July 1, 2008: Another change in law that will limit motorists' activities -- a ban on the use of hand-held cell phones while driving -- takes effect July 1st. For drivers under the age of 18, the prohibition extends even to hands-free use of cell phones.
4. California raised the minimum wage to $8.00 per hour.
5. AB 650 Employer Required Notification - Earned Income Tax Credit: Effective Jan. 1, 2008, California employers who are required to provide unemployment insurance must notify all employees that they may be eligible for the federal Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) within one week before or after, or at the same time, the employer provides an annual wage summary including but not limited to a Form W-2 or Form 1099.
6. AB 338 Temporary Disability Payments: Effective Jan. 1, 2008, AB 338 changes how temporary disability (TD) is paid to injured workers. Under current law, an injured worker can receive 104 weeks of TD benefits. However, those benefits have to be paid within 104 weeks of the first date that temporary disability is paid.
7. SB 929 - Computer Professional Hourly Rate Lowered: The law exempts a computer professional from overtime requirements if the employee is primarily engaged in work that is intellectual or creative. This bill lowered the hourly minimum compensation from $41 to $36, effective Jan. 1, 2008. The rate for 2009 will be set by Oct. 1, 2008 by the Department of Industrial Relations.
Wanta stay blessed this year? Learn & obey the new laws and continue to obey the existing ones. Don't drink and drive, observe the smoking ban and start practicing the new cell phone laws now so you will be ahead of the game. Check out http://www.cbs13.com/ for a list of the latest California laws. Also, check California DMV for the vehicle changes that are effective in 2008.
San Joaquin County CA, Stockton and surrounding areas do you need help with foreclosure? If yes,...
- Contact your lender
- Use the HUD information resources
- Call a real estate agent for help
For free market evaluation of your home visit http://www.motheranddaughterrealty.com/
Check out my Mother and Daughter Blog for other tips for Sellers and Buyers. I work with my daughter as the Mother and Daughter Real Estate Team and we also focus in Short Sales and the Pre-Foreclosure process. Our consultations are free. Our aggressive marketing plan includes progressive online listing advertising. If you are thinking of selling or buying a home in Northern California: Central Valley (San Joaquin/Stanislaus Counties), East Bay (Alameda, Contra Costa Counties) and would like a free Home Seller's or Home Buyer's Handbook, please call us at Perfect Financial Solutions 866-750-8282 or direct 510-284-7721 or email at firstname.lastname@example.org
HAPPY and SAFE HOLIDAY SEASON to you and your family & Friends!
Perfect Financial Solutions - We care about our clients Real Estate needs