Facebook is making some major changes to their privacy controls and honestly it’s about time!
For those of us who use facebook to connect with family and friends the privacy issues are sometimes on the mind. For instance, if I place a picture on facebook who will see it and who won’t? If I’m tagged in a post or a picture who sees it? Well, before the changes if you were tagged in a post or photo everyone in your friend list will see it as well as all of the friends in the other people tagged in the post. So ultimately if you are tagged in a photo that you may find embarrassing, more people see it than you think.
This can affect your professionalism and the way others may view you. In business, name recognition and branding is critical. If you are seen in a not so wonderful light it may cost you business and a lack of respect.
One of the new tools facebook has implemented is a new tool that lets users ask for photos of them to be removed from the site. You have the option of having the photos untagged or having them completely taken down from the site.
Another tool is the ability to have more control over their apps. You will now have the ability to grant permission for some access requests but deny others.