
Like many of you, I post my listings to Craig's List. (FREE CLASSIFIED's Online) Now, while most the inquiries I get are legit, I thought I would pass this beauty on to all of you as a "Head's-Up".
After posting a new high-end listing I got the following e-mail:
Hello,
I was browsing through this web site in search of a property like home or land to buy when I found your ad, am interested in purchasing the property. Let me know if is still available and the approach of buying properties like this in USA Hope to hear from you soon.
Regards,
Dr lokem
+44 07024087604
Anyone sending me an e-mail like this makes me curious. (Like, hey, if you are so interested, Dr. lokem, why don't you just pick up a phone to call and ask questions?) I was on to the Dr. pretty quick and wanted to "shake some more info from this weirdo tree" so I could gather more info to send forward to all of you, in this warning. So, I responded with, "Why, yes, Dr. lokem...this lovely home is indeed still available. Call me if you would like further information." (SMOOTH, huh?)
Well, here is the WACKY response:
Hello,
Thanks for your mail, Am okay with what I have read about this property and i will be buying it with my cash. am not taking any loan .I will be sending an attorney which i know he knows much and have good experience on estate management, he still advice that i should go ahead to purchase the property. Although he is presently out of the state but will be back soon. Well i will be visiting USA by February or march with my family and I need the property to be ready before then.
As regards the purchase agreement, I would want it as my review, I will eventually have it filled and signed on my arrival in your place or when my attorney arriver's there as i am of the opinion that such documents are best filled and signed physically. We can start by our attorney going ahead with the process of purchasing the house while I send advance payment to you to understand that am serious and in order to keep the property too. I will like you forward to me an account for wire transfer payment or your name, address and phone # to receive advance payment of 1% to 3% of the total amount in order to keep the property until my attorney comes over to finish the agreement and what ever it take's to buy the property. Once that is forwarded to me, I will instruct my USA financier to send the payment with a certified USA check. I will pay the balance via wire transfer from bank in Swiss
let me know if that sound's okay with you.
Hope to see your respond soon.
Regards
Dr lokem
12 Beverley gardens,
Middlesex, ha9 9ra,
England
(+44) 7024087604
this # is available from 9 am to 5: 30 pm England time.
Attorney Contact Information In England
Daniel Juice Anderson,
50 Stroud Green Road
London N4 3EF.
England
(+44) 7031863869
Contact in USA.
1544 Berkshire hill court Duluth,
Georgia 30097.
409 299 3870
So, be warned, if you get an e-mail like this, do not respond. Anyone who is this serious about a home will definately CALL you.
(If you have any other great scams to post, fill me in. I love to learn with warnings rather than by experiences.)
Live good. Be happy. Be alert to scams.
-Mimi
Mimi Osterdahl / The Muljat Group Realtors / Bellingham, Washington / www.LiveGoodBeHappy.com
My Gosh!!! The fact that the scammer is from England and it is apparent that English is not his first language lets me know it is a scam. I seen a documentary about several individuals from other countries but relocated to England. They call and e-mail Americans with scams. The statement that he would wire a percentage first is just the beginning. He would contact back and ask you to wire money for the fee and he will pay you back! I would continue with the e-mail to see what he says them I would forward it to the U.S. Investigations. They are starting on Realtors now... Most of us will be to smart for this!!!! I hope.