At Slepkow, Slepkow & Associates(401-437-1100), we have attorneys capable of representing either landlords or tenants in all Rhode island (RI) eviction and landlord-tenant matters. Attorney Bruce Cox has over 22 years of experience handling evictions and Attorney David Slepkow has over nine years handing evictions. Our attorneys have done hundreds of Rhode Island evictions and landlord-tenant cases. David Slepkow and Bruce Cox provide aggressive legal services in all landlord-tenant matters, including:
- evictions for non-payment of rent
- evictions for holdover tenants
- evictions of problem tenants
- 30-day notice to terminate tenancy (5 day demand letters for non-payment of rent)
- landlord failure to supply necessary services, including heat & electricity
- self-help evictions
- restraining orders related to the landlord-tenant relationship
- complex evictions
- commercial evictions
- evictions after foreclosure
- tenants at will
- tenants at sufferance
http://www.slepkowlaw.com -Official website of RhodeIsland Real Estate Lawyers- Slepkow Slepkow & Associates, Inc.
http://www.slepkowlaw.com/realestate.htm -Rhode Island Real Estate Law links and information
Eviction/Landlords-Tenant Law Frequently Asked Questions
- How long does it take to evict a tenant for non-payment of rent in Rhode Island?
- Is it legal to do a self-help eviction in Rhode Island?
- How long does it take to evict a month-to-month tenant?
- My tenant has a lease but is violating the lease and causing problems.
What do I do?
In order to begin the process of evicting a residential tenant in Rhode Island (RI) for non-payment of rent, the tenant must be more than 15 days late and then a five-day demand notice must be sent to the tenant. After the five days, you are entitled to file a complaint for eviction of the tenant for non-payment of rent and the court date will be nine days thereafter. If the ninth day falls on a weekend or holiday, then it will carry over to the next business day. After attending court to get the tenant out, it will take a minimum of five days to evict the tenant up to a potential of a month or longer (if there is an appeal).
No. Under Rhode Island law it is illegal for a landlord to do a self-help eviction. The landlord must go through the proper legal channels in order to evict a tenant from the premises. In the event that a landlord does an unlawful eviction, the tenant is entitled to collect damages against the landlord.
In order to evict a month-to-month tenant, you are required to send a thirty-day notice to terminate the tenancy pursuant to Rhode Island law. After the thirty-day period has expired, then the landlord is allowed to file a complaint for eviction. This type of eviction is a lengthy process because you must not only wait the thirty days, but the tenant has a minimum of twenty days to answer and after that it takes a minimum of ten days before you can get a court date. After that court date, it takes a minimum of 5 days up to a month or longer to get the tenant out (depending on whether or not there is an appeal).
a lease but is violating the lease and causing problems. What do I do?
Pursuant to Rhode Island law you can send them a notice asking them to terminate the offending behavior within 20 days. If they do not terminate the offending behavior, then you are able to file an eviction against them. These types of evictions are lengthy and you must prove that you sent the notice and that the tenant did not comply with the notice after receiving the notice. If the tenant is a month-to-month tenant, then it is better to terminate the offending tenant's tenancy rather than go through the above-described process.