Ar_home_b_search
 

A variation on an old one.  A seeming innocent email comes in from a well known source saying things are deactivated.

This one is from "Google Adwords".  The highlighted link is innocuous enough but the link takes you elsewhere.

The body of the text is below.

This message was sent from a notification-only email address that does
not accept incoming email. Please do not reply to this message.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dear Google AdWords Customer,

Please sign in to your account at http://adwords.google.com.selectlogin.cn/select/Login/ , and update your billing information.
Your account will be reactivated as soon as you update your payment information.
Your ads will show immediately if you decide to pay for clicks via credit
or debit card. If you decide to pay by direct debit, we may need to receive
your signed debit authorization before your ads start running,
depending on your location.
If you choose bank transfer, your ads will show as soon as we receive your
first payment.


We look forward to providing you with the most effective advertising available.

Sincerely,


----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Google AdWords Team

Careful what you click when you receive such stuff.

 

12 Comments on New Email Scam! - Google Adwords title

MAR
25
2008
160,979 Points Outside Blog
Thanks for the information about this scam. It seems these people are getting pretty clever about the stuff they send.
9:45am • #1

 

My god you have to keep up with every scam now days....

9:49am • #2
302,251 Points 46 Featured Posts Outside Blog

I've gotten very cautious about responding to anything in my inbox these days, but I have to admit...I may have fallen for this one. I guess a good practice would be to log into your account and update it that way, but to never never click on a link in an email. Thanks for the heads up!

9:52am • #3
Thanks for that update. I dont know why people spend so much time on things like this. Royal..
9:54am • #4
233,380 Points Outside Blog
They spend so much time because people fall for it.  They can send it to enough people for next to nothing and if only a few reply they are in the money.
10:17am • #5
267,445 Points Localism Sponsor Outside Blog Hit Router
There are so many scams like this now it is getting rediculous.  I have been getting a lot of direct email scams from Active Rain contact form too!
10:23am • #6
100,037 Points 1 Featured Post Outside Blog
Wow, it looks authentic enough. It's hard to keep ahead of the bad guys these days but keeping us informed is another example of the benefits of a great network like AR.
11:23am • #7
200,847 Points 11 Featured Posts
Haven't received this one, but thank you for the heads up.
11:26am • #8
JUN
30
2008

As I did, thanks now I know how they highjacked my google g-mail account! What Jerks!

7:48pm • #9
OCT
21
2008

Thanks for the heads up.  I've received emails from what looked like my bank, their company logo's, exact sign in page,etc. and I receive emails saying my pay pal account needs updated all the time!  Why can't actual buyers find me so easily on the internet?  I wouldn't have time to blog if that was the case :)

Edna Ledoux Jamieson

Realtor/ABR

Lakeshore Rentals & Sales Inc.

www.smithmtnlakeproperties.com

Smith Mountain Lake VA. , SW Virginia's best kept secret.  Only 4 hours from D.C. or 8 hours from NY or FL!

11:53am • #10
DEC
02
2008
333,795 Points 1 Featured Post Localism Sponsor Outside Blog Hit Router Called Shot Master

i had a most convincing one today from adwords.  They actually even had live adwords links in the mail.  Very crafty criminals these days

11:15pm • #11
FEB
14
2009
Localism Sponsor Outside Blog Hit Router

Yikes. Thanks for the tip. That one might have got me.

7:20pm • #12

What does the graphic say?

Leave a response…



(optional)
What does the graphic say?
 

Matthew Rosov, Certified Mortgage Planning Specialist

Laurel, MD

More about me…

Amerisave Mortgage Corporation

Address: 6502 Walker Branch Dr, Laurel, MD, 20707

Office Phone: (866) 970-7283 x 6840

Cell Phone: (301) 536-2875

Email Me

Maryland Mortgages and Market Reports


Links

Archives

RSS 2.0 Feed for this blog

Find MD real estate agents and Laurel real estate on ActiveRain.