Be careful, I just received this e-mail and I know it is a SPOOF.

Sunday, July 20, 2008 5:55 PM From: "service@irs.gov" <no-service@irs.gov>Add sender to Contacts To: undisclosed-recipients

 

Over 130 million Americans will receive refunds as
part of President Bush program to jumpstart the economy.

Our records indicate that you are qualified to receive the
2008 Economic Stimulus Refund.

The fastest and easiest way to receive your refund is by
direct deposit to your checking/savings account.

Please click on the link and fill out the form and submit
before July 25th, 2008 to ensure that your refund will be
processed as soon as possible.

Submitting your form on July 25th, 2008 or later means that
your refund will be delayed due to the volume of requests we
anticipate for the Economic Stimulus Refund.

To access Economic Stimulus Refund, please click here.

Note: If you received this message in you spam/bulk folder,
that is because of the restrictions implemented by your
Internet Service Provider.
We are sorry for that inconvenience.


© Copyright 2008, Internal Revenue Service U.S.A. All rights reserved.

Never give your financial information when solicited like this. Pfishing works or they wouldn't keep doing it. Just take care of your financial information. Most often you can forward the offending e-mail to: spoof@wherever the financial organization is. com. They will normally respond if it actually is a spoof.

 
This post has been included in Oregon Information Lane County, OR Information Eugene, OR Information
Post is included in group: Eugene Oregon Real Estate
Post is included in group: Silent Majority
Post is included in group: Responsible Mortgage Lenders
Post is included in group: Club Chaos
Post is included in group: Internet Empowered Consumer

7 Comments on WARNING: IRS spoof on e-mail

I got that email too. It was deleted immediately.

07/21/2008 10:23 AM by Cheri' Smith (ERA Whitaker Realty)


One thing to remember....the IRS will never, ever, ever email anyone anything.  They do all notifications by snailmail.

07/21/2008 10:59 AM by Clint Miller - www.recr.com (Real Estate Client Referrals LLC)


Deleting is a good idea, but it is always right to forward to the financial institution first. That way, they can get the website removed. I don't know how many of these I have received from "Pay Pal." I always get a response from the real Pay Pal they are getting the site torn down. Unfortunately, it doesn't take them very long to put up a new one. Always check the properties of the sender line. Many of them will disclose that your aren't sending back to where you think you are.

07/21/2008 11:00 AM by Fred Chamberlin - Eugene/Springfield's #1 Experienced FHA Mortgage Consultant (Alpine Mortgage Planning)


Fred - I got a similar one yesterday - saying I had an adjustment on my refund of $136 - the rest was the same.  Deleted.  Good post.

07/23/2008 01:15 AM by Virginia Hepp Mesquite NV REALTOR >> Mesquite Nevada Real Estate Specialist (ERA Brokers Consolidated - Mesquite NV Homes)


Fred,

Thanks for the post. I've received similar emails. The most significant thing is that I've never given my email address to the IRS. Same with my bank. I don't do online banking but one day received an email from Wells Fargo. It looked so ligite that they must have copied the Web site. I called the bank and they gave me an address to report the fraud by forwarding the email. Plus I post to craigslist and always get a letter from someon with little grasp of English grammar saying that they want to buy or rent and are sending a certified check with an overage that I'm to refund. Red Flag Alert! Be careful out there.

07/23/2008 03:48 PM by Robin Scott - Broker, CRS, ABR, SRS (Amelia Bullock Realtors)


Virginia, Always send these in to the agency that they are on, whether it is the IRS or a bank. That gives them a chance to disable the pfishers.

Robin, I had the same thing with a Craig's List ad for a roommate. Was kind of fun carrying on the conversation with them until we got to the money part. LOL. It is just a new switch on the Nigerian letter, but with the overage they are passing conterfit cashiers checks or money orders.

To All, watch out, there are crooks out there. Just remember, if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. Thanks for your comments

07/23/2008 04:33 PM by Fred Chamberlin - Eugene/Springfield's #1 Experienced FHA Mortgage Consultant (Alpine Mortgage Planning)


I delete all this spam stuff.  I must get 50 of these and similar emails every day. 

07/23/2008 08:20 PM by Rob Arnold, Florida Realtor / Investor (Sand Dollar Realty Group, Inc.)


Leave a response…

Name:
Notify me of new comments:
Comment:
What does the graphic say?
 
Loan Officer: Fred Chamberlin - Eugene/Springfield's #1 Experienced FHA Mortgage Consultant (Alpine Mortgage Planning)
Fred Chamberlin - Eugene/Springfield's #1 Experienced FHA Mortgage Consultant
Eugene, OR
More about me…
Alpine Mortgage Planning

Office Phone: (541) 342-7576
Cell Phone: (541) 221-3455
Email Me
fha mortgage, real estate loan, FHA 203k streamline, eugene, springfield, lane county, oregon, mortgage, banker, events, reviews, green lending, mortgage broker, lender, loans, conventional, fannie mae, freddie mac, direct lender, experienced, professional, VA loans, veteran, home buyer, first time home buyer.

Links

Tags (Tag Cloud)

Archives

RSS 2.0 Feed for this blog
ATOM 1.0 Feed for this blog

Find OR real estate agents and Eugene real estate here on ActiveRain.
Disclaimer: ActiveRain Corp. does not necessarily endorse the real estate agents, loan officers and brokers listed on this site. These real estate profiles, blogs and blog entries are provided here as a courtesy to our visitors to help them make an informed decision when buying or selling a house. ActiveRain Corp. takes no responsibility for the content in these profiles, that are written by the members of this community.
© 2007 ActiveRain Corp. All Rights Reserved