Friday afternoon in the midst of a relocation nightmare (watch for details in another post), my phone rings with a weird call that goes something like this.....

ring, ring....

Kelly Willey here

 

Um, I'm trying to reach Kelly Willey

 

Yeah, you got her

 

Uhmmm, are you sure?kelly willey real estate

 

Wait let me check my drivers license, yep that's me. (I didn't really say this I wasn't that pissed...yet)

 

Ah, is the house at 1234 Scammer St for rent? (Address changed to protect the innocent)

 

Well, it had been for rent but the owner would prefer to sell the property.

 

Oh, I saw an ad on Craigslist and the guy I spoke to, Kelly Willey, said it was for rent for $800 a month. I called him in Nigeria and he said he had to move and was renting it cheap. He'd mail me the keys if I sent him the $800.

 

Oh really now. What is his email address?

 

KellyWilley@Rocketmail.com (feel free to have some fun spamming him to death)

 

So after I convinced this nice lady that I was the real Kelly Willey, female and American we had a nice chat about this guy. He had jacked my real estate ad, photos and all, had it all posted on Craigslist and was trying to get people to wire him $800.

 

The next day I had about 5 other people calling me trying to get in to see my house for $800 a month. Luckily when they drove by to see the house it had my sign and name rider and they called me to see what was really going on.

 

I haven't been able to find this ad on Craigslist so maybe he has gotten smart and taken it down. Anybody ese ever have this happen? Any ideas on who to report this to? I suspect with him being in Nigeria there won't be anything the authorities can do to him.

 

 

 
This post has been included in Maryland Information
Post is included in group: "Whacked"!!!
Post is included in group: Baltimore, Harford, Cecil, Real Estate
Post is included in group: Almost Anything Goes

27 Comments on My Name Rider Prevented a Scam

FEB
21
3 Featured Posts

Believe it or not, when people see "Nigeria" and "Send Money" in the same sentence, they still do it! Just ten days ago, a local family was surprised when the absentee owner of the rental they had just moved into came from the mainland to check on her property. You guessed it, same scenario.

7:27pm • #1
1 Featured Post

Wow - Craig's list used to be wonderful, but every time I post on it now I am guaranteed at least one email from someone usually with a yahoo.uk address who asks what the rent is (always included in my ads) security deposit, move in fees, can they wire me the money to my bank account - or give me more money and they will get it back from me.... so said that Craigslist has been hijacked!

7:29pm • #2

Kelly - that's an amazing story.  Thank you for warning us about it.  And, thank goodness you are smart enough to catch on.  Unfortunately, there are many, many people who are taken in by these people.

7:32pm • #3
2 Featured Posts

Wow, Kelly.  That's pretty bold.  I guess nobody actually sent him any money, thank goodness.

7:35pm • #5
1 Featured Post

Thanks, Kelly. I hadn't heard of this but I will pass it along to our staff. I have had a number of emails from Kijiji and Craigslist asking if properties I have listed for sale might also be for rent, but I think that is just a sign of a tight market for rentals.

7:37pm • #6
Outside Blog

Wow!  I haven't heard this before.  Good info and I will definitely pass it on.

7:41pm • #7
210,248 Points 5 Featured Posts

Its such a shame these scumbags get away with this stuff.  How creepy your name was being used!

7:44pm • #8
3 Featured Posts Localism Sponsor Outside Blog Hit Router

Thanks for the heads up. I get many calls asking my craigslist properties that are for rent, so I will definitely keep an eye open for anything suspicious. I will also pass it along!

7:45pm • #9
114,422 Points Localism Sponsor Hit Router

Michael:

Incredible isn't it!!! I bet I had 6 people come to this house looking for "the deal" and ready to send this guy money.

7:46pm • #10
114,422 Points Localism Sponsor Hit Router

Lise:

I know its sad. They really need to have a better way to screen folks that post on there...KW

 

Susan: Thanks....exactly the same scam!!! KW

7:47pm • #11
114,422 Points Localism Sponsor Hit Router

Sharon: That creeped me out he was using my name and set up the KellyWilley@rocketmail email address too.

7:49pm • #12
588,387 Points 34 Featured Posts Localism Sponsor Outside Blog Hit Router

Haven't had a listing jacked, but I had a couple of properties for lease and had the "I'll send you a certified check for $10,000 and you can just make a check out for whatever is left...  "  Oddly, also Nigeria. 

7:52pm • #13
191,531 Points 8 Featured Posts Localism Sponsor Outside Blog

Kelly, there was a news story here in CT about the very same thing. No realtor involved, it was a homeowner, they actually came home in the middle of someone trying to look at the house. Amazing. I was thinking of posting a listing on craigslist, but I am thinking NO right about now.

Good thing you got the call from your sign!

Michael is so right, amazing that people will send money when they see Nigeria in the address. Where are their heads at?

7:56pm • #14
114,422 Points Localism Sponsor Hit Router

Lane: It's scary, but the reality of having so much information on the internet.

8:04pm • #15
114,422 Points Localism Sponsor Hit Router

Andrea: Apparently, people are falling for this because it keeps going on. I hope this post helps educate people of this going on...KW

8:05pm • #16
Outside Blog

We too get odd requests from Nigeria usually by fax or email.  Does anyone know what to do in this case with craigslist?  We also had an agent have a problem with a stolen identity and the police thought that it was from craigslist.  As one of our marketing tools (at the agents' request) we have our admins prepare a postlets and place them on different sites.  Craigslist was always a good one for the rentals. It's just a shame if we can figure out a way to stop this.  I am not sure if the site is worth using anymore?

8:11pm • #17
114,422 Points Localism Sponsor Hit Router

Kimberly:

I think unless Craiglist gets a handle on this they are going to se their usage decline

8:18pm • #18

Thanks for the warning. Thank goodness for the good outcome.

10:06pm • #19
105,199 Points

Kelly - I haven't had that happen to me yet. I'll be sure to look out for it.

10:46pm • #20
114,422 Points Localism Sponsor Hit Router

Lisa:

It has been a real hassle....

11:11pm • #21
114,422 Points Localism Sponsor Hit Router

Hi Robert: I sure hope it doesn't happen

11:11pm • #22
FEB
22
588,387 Points 34 Featured Posts Localism Sponsor Outside Blog Hit Router

Most of the solution is to just pay attention.  Sorry to all of the wonderful people of Nigeria... but anything from Nigeria in my inbox is deleted.  Craigslist is rife with scammers, but mixed in are real people.  Just paying attention eliminates most of the scammers... they are looking for easy prey.  If you are at least watchful, they will go away. 

10:02am • #23
210,248 Points 5 Featured Posts

How come your comments are not highlighted in blue?

5:53pm • #24
FEB
24
221,511 Points 5 Featured Posts

What the hell is it with all these scams coming out of Nigeria, I got one last week; you know the one about someone dying and money etc.

10:24am • #25
OCT
07
114,422 Points Localism Sponsor Hit Router

Lane: I know which is worse an email from Craiglist or Nigeria? LOL Kelly

7:09pm • #26
114,422 Points Localism Sponsor Hit Router

Robert:

It was a nightmare.....Kelly

7:09pm • #27

Leave a response…



(optional)
What does the graphic say?
 
Rainmaker_large

Kelly Willey SHORT SALE Agent HARFORD COUNTY MARYLAND REAL ESTATE

Bel Air, MD

More about me…

Long and Foster BEL AIR MARYLAND

Address: 3004 Emmorton Rd, Abingdon, MD, 21009

Office Phone: (410) 879-8080

Cell Phone: (410) 937-5561

Email Me



Links

Archives

RSS 2.0 Feed for this blog

Find MD real estate agents and Bel Air real estate on ActiveRain.