Spam prevention
Ambassador
2,211,306
Belinda Spillman
Aspen Lane Real Estate Colorful Colorado - Aurora, CO
Colorado Living!

No that is a new one.  I showed a property once where the owner was an appraiser and he made sure to be there for the showing so he could share his value opinions with us.

Aug 12, 2017 09:53 AM
Rainmaker
1,973,876
Nina Hollander
RE/MAX Executive | Charlotte, NC - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Area Realtor

That's a new one on me. I've sold where all buyers and sellers (including respective spouses) were lawyers. What do you think is worse?

Aug 12, 2017 08:16 AM
Ambassador
3,248,685
Jeff Dowler
Solutions Real Estate - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude - Carlsbad

Oh I get opinions, they have just never been appraisers

Aug 12, 2017 08:09 AM
Ambassador
1,783,439
Silvia Dukes PA, Broker Associate, CRS, CIPS, SRES
Tropic Shores Realty - Ich spreche Deutsch! - Spring Hill, FL
Florida Waterfront and Country Club Living

I have had a listing where one of the sellers was an out of town appraiser. Appraiser seller was receptive to comps shown and market condition, unfortunately, the husband was not and would not agree to recommended price adjustments or accept a reasonable offer that was received. Listing consequently expired and sold for much less with another agent some months later. Time and money lost when it shouldn't have. 

Aug 12, 2017 07:12 AM
Ambassador
1,781,659
Fred Griffin
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

     I won't let an Appraiser set the price for a house that he/she is buying... unless they have valid comps. 

Aug 12, 2017 07:10 AM
Ambassador
2,969,000
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams fox cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

I am sure that the Buyers will come along with some different comps and a non biased appraiser.

Aug 12, 2017 06:13 PM
Rainmaker
907,507
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
www.HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

That is a new one!  Too bad it won't help during the buyer's loan process (or maybe it will???)

Aug 12, 2017 03:37 PM
Rainmaker
1,265,915
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg IL Area Real Estate

Well yes, you will & I would expect it. They better be in line with yours or I'd find another client.  That's how it would work with an appraiser.

I did sell a friends house who was an appraiser & he was miffed at my price which was $30K below what the bought it for but it did finally sell at that.

Aug 12, 2017 12:27 PM
Ambassador
2,527,366
Anna Banana Kruchten,CRS,CRB,GRI
Phoenix Property Shoppe - Phoenix, AZ
Arizona's Top Banana of Real Estate!

That's a good one Sally & David. I have never run into 2 appraisers. 2 attorney, 2 this, 2 that but never 2 appraisers.

Aug 12, 2017 12:00 PM
Rainmaker
3,818,394
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Franklin, MA
"Franklin MA Homes"

all of the appraisals should land within the same price range....it's not an exact science but the variable is not a large one!!!! your opinion is the third one!!! you should all be the same "price range."

Aug 12, 2017 10:14 AM
Rainmaker
3,222,958
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

I have not sold one, but I did do a buy on one.  My client and the person the bank appointed came in at about $500 apart.

Aug 12, 2017 10:08 AM
Rainmaker
2,693,297
Michael Jacobs
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena Area Real Estate 818.516.4393

I can't recall this situation.  Sounds like a blog-post-in-the-making.  

Aug 12, 2017 10:04 AM
Rainmaker
679,911
Carol Williams
U.S.: I specialize in helping agents who have been in the business 2 years or less create a thriving business. - Wenatchee, WA
"Customized Mentoring & Marketing Services"

I sold a house owned by a mortgage broker, but it wasn't my listing.  

Aug 12, 2017 09:07 AM
Rainmaker
277,662
Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTACONDOS.COM
Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
Associate Broker

Have not.

Aug 12, 2017 08:44 AM
Rainmaker
413,708
Dave Halpern
Keller Williams Realty Louisville East (502) 664-7827 - Louisville, KY
Louisville Short Sale Expert

No, but I sold a house for a mortgage broker during the housing crash.

Aug 12, 2017 08:43 AM
Rainmaker
2,376,528
Kathleen Daniels
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
San Jose Homes for Sale - Probate Broker

Hahahahh ... that is funny.   No I have not. I would be that if I did I would get another set of comps.  

Aug 12, 2017 07:51 AM
Rainmaker
2,261,896
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker

I don't think so. Regardless, their opinion would not matter to me!

Aug 12, 2017 07:27 AM
Rainmaker
3,288,460
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding and Marketing

We have not

Aug 12, 2017 07:21 AM
Rainmaker
564,580
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

ABSOLUTELY NOT!

I will not call their baby ugly. (unless they agreed to abide by the 3rd party evaluation)

However, I will let the market place speak with a loud voice. No showings in 3 weeks is loud.

Aug 12, 2017 07:08 AM
Rainmaker
2,466,882
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty - Scottsdale, AZ
Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ

We have not

Aug 12, 2017 07:04 AM
Rainmaker
1,560,344
Michael J. Perry
KW Elite - Lancaster, PA
Lancaster, PA Relo Specialist

I almost did , but they could agree on price !!!!!!

Sep 11, 2017 06:04 AM
Rainmaker
1,348,941
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI NMLS#1483386
Realty One Group - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

Haven't been there...fortunately. And you still have hair left?

Aug 13, 2017 07:12 AM
Rainmaker
3,785,227
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

I haven't.  Is it ethical to do your own appraisal if your an appraiser?

Aug 13, 2017 06:14 AM
Rainmaker
401,358
Nathan Gesner
American West Realty & Management - Cody, WY
Broker / Property Manager

I tried to sell an apartment building owned by an appraiser. he had it priced almost $100,000 over market. I crunched the numbers ten ways to Sunday and couldn't come up with his but he insisted. It didn't sell.

Aug 13, 2017 05:32 AM
Rainmaker
3,604,561
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

No.

Aug 13, 2017 03:30 AM
Rainmaker
1,144,223
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • Green • GRI • HAFA • PSC Los Angeles CA

Nope, to tell you the truth I never had any seller who was an appraiser. But I believe it can be quite helpful ( no arguments about zestimate~ one of them!)

Aug 12, 2017 11:40 PM
Ambassador
2,097,182
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.AtHomesCharlotte.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
Charlotte Homes for Sale - Charlotte Neighborhoods

Never - this should be interesting, Sally K. & David L. Hanson! I'm looking forward to your post on this one!

Aug 12, 2017 11:31 PM
Ambassador
3,510,363
Praful Thakkar
eXp Realty - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Sally K. & David L. Hanson - now this can be very easy (if they keep their emotions in check....lol!)

Aug 12, 2017 10:57 PM
Ambassador
3,219,488
Debbie Reynolds
Platinum Properties - Clarksville, TN
Your Dedicated Clarksville TN Real Estate Agent

The hardest sellers to deal with are appraisers. I have to show and prove more than with other sellers.

Aug 12, 2017 09:50 PM
Ambassador
1,131,097
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

Never have done that. Should be "fun".

Aug 12, 2017 03:49 PM
Rainmaker
2,156,195
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

of opinions there is no end...give me results!

Aug 12, 2017 10:11 AM
Rainmaker
4,116,355
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD
Roy and Dolores Kelley Photographs

Nope.

Aug 12, 2017 07:35 AM
Rainmaker
249,527
Ron Tissier
Chapman Hall Premier Realtors - Atlanta, GA
www.SearchAtlantaLuxuryHomes.com

I sold one of my homes as a Realtor and when I was a former appraiser.  Had no bearing on the transaction as the Buyer's lender used their appraiser.

His appraisal and mine were right where it should have been.

Cheers!

Sep 11, 2017 06:44 AM
Rainmaker
2,259,952
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

Guess I was lucky that this never happen in any of my deals

 

Aug 15, 2017 01:59 PM
Ambassador
2,418,114
Paul S. Henderson, CRS, REALTOR®,
RE/MAX Professionals. - Tacoma, WA
Tacoma Washington Agent/Broker & Market Authority!

I had to do my own due diligence when this happened to me....

Aug 13, 2017 03:59 PM