Ginny Gorman, Homes for Sale in North Kingstown RI and beyond (RI Real Estate Services ~ 401-529-7849~ RI Waterfront Real Estate)

Spam prevention
Ambassador
2,235,641
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.AtHomesCharlotte.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
Charlotte Homes for Sale - Charlotte Neighborhoods

Ginny, I've had both good and bad experiences with reviews on Angie's List.

It seems that regardless of how wonderful the service/experience is, those who complain are the ones who post the worst reviews and oftentime, they're the type of people who will never be pleased - regardless!

So, I tend to read the good and take the bad with a grain of salt! Call me crazy but, sometimes you have to read between the lines. And, reading the business owners responses will give you a good idea of how they handle adversity also!

 

Sep 23, 2017 12:39 PM
Rainmaker
1,069,218
Kat Palmiotti
Grand Lux Realty, 914-419-0270, kat@thehousekat.com - Monroe, NY
The House Kat

I've only "used" Angies List a few times. I logged on to find information about a specific industry and didn't see much information at all. They only had a few companies with a few ratings which didn't really help me. So I haven't actually ever used a company listed on Angie's List.

Sep 24, 2017 02:39 AM
Rainmaker
721,894
Thomas J. Nelson, Realtor,CRS,e-Pro
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
Co-Host of Mail-Right's: Real Estate Agent Podcast

I use Tommy's List; it's more reliable than Angie's

Sep 23, 2017 08:58 PM
Ambassador
3,373,006
Debbie Reynolds
Platinum Properties - Clarksville, TN
Your Dedicated Clarksville TN Real Estate Agent

I have found they are okay and fairly accurate. Most people are not into posting reviews, good or bad.

Sep 23, 2017 05:07 PM
Ambassador
3,371,997
Jeff Dowler
Solutions Real Estate - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude - Carlsbad

I have personally not used Angie's List but use other sources like Michael Jacobs does. Clients I know do as well, including Yelp. Mixed reviews I'd say. I have my own list from over the years that I pull from

Sep 23, 2017 05:05 PM
Rainmaker
2,436,159
Kathleen Daniels
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
San Jose Homes for Sale - Probate Broker

The few times I had to resort to Angie's List the reviews definitely did not reflect the service I got.  Between scheduling issues, not showing up at all, no return calls, and crappy service ... it just did not compute. 

Sep 23, 2017 03:34 PM
Rainmaker
2,779,942
Michael Jacobs
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena Area Real Estate 818.516.4393

Hi Ginny -- it's hit or miss in my area.   I prefer personal references but have gone to Angie's List, NextDoor and Thumbtack when I'm stuck.  

Sep 23, 2017 01:52 PM
Ambassador
1,855,005
Fred Griffin
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

      I am leery of any review sites, after a Federal Court ruled in favor of Yelp for rigging their reviews.  

    Ask for referrals from people the Paving Company has done work for.

Sep 23, 2017 01:25 PM
Ambassador
3,105,976
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams fox cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

I suspect that Angie does to contractors what Z does to Realtors, I dont waste my time with them.

Sep 23, 2017 12:57 PM
Rainmaker
3,430,908
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding and Marketing

Ginny,

It is mediocre in Santa Barbara.  Two vendors we called for carpet cleaning last year still have not returned our call.  Other friends have had the same experience with different services.

On the other hand, other areas have great results.  Asking a friend has been the best for us.  A

Sep 23, 2017 12:37 PM
Ambassador
1,240,398
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

I have had better results with HomeAdvisor.

Sep 23, 2017 12:33 PM
Rainmaker
2,382,278
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker

I am leary about some of the reviews.

Sep 23, 2017 12:11 PM
Rainmaker
3,954,456
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Franklin, MA
"Franklin MA Homes"

I've never used angie's list.... I would only use references from people I know....

Sep 24, 2017 10:27 AM
Rainmaker
971,956
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
www.HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

No, wasn't willing to pay for it.  It's free now, but I'm still not interested.  So many other competitors out there.

Sep 24, 2017 10:26 AM
Rainmaker
883,872
Corinne Guest, Managing Broker
Barrington Realty Company - Barrington, IL
The Choice of Professionals

Used a painting company to paint house exterior. Reviews were 10 of 10. I only gave them a 6. More cautious now.

Sep 24, 2017 06:52 AM
Rainmaker
370,399
Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTACONDOS.COM
Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
Associate Broker

Have not tried them. 

Sep 24, 2017 06:43 AM
Rainmaker
3,937,855
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

I have not found Angie's List particularly accurate or useful.

Sep 24, 2017 06:32 AM
Rainmaker
2,110,984
Nina Hollander
RE/MAX Executive | Charlotte, NC - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Area Realtor

I haven't looked at Angie's List in eons... I have my own lists and if I need more I start calling around or check in with neighbors on NextDoor.

Sep 24, 2017 02:51 PM
Rainmaker
1,396,139
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI NMLS#1483386
Realty One Group - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

Never used Angie's List. Since they charge businesses to be on their site, in my opinion, the credibility is lost.

Sep 24, 2017 01:27 PM
Rainmaker
297,632
Teri Pacitto
Compass - Westlake Village, CA
Real Estate, Your Style...Your Home...My Specialty

I would not refer anyone unless they were ones that either I have used or referred by someone I knew and trusted.  To me using Angie's List would not be anything I would consider but have no experience with them either.  

Sep 24, 2017 09:58 AM
Rainmaker
2,453,753
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of Manchester NH's Leading Agents

Seeing a bussiness pays to be on there, i can not take all reviews as real or fair

Sep 24, 2017 05:43 AM
Rainmaker
2,625,685
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty - Scottsdale, AZ
Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ

I know they offer a free subscription now - but have not relied on them...

Sep 24, 2017 04:48 AM
Rainmaker
1,680,150
Ginny Gorman
RI Real Estate Services ~ 401-529-7849~ RI Waterfront Real Estate - North Kingstown, RI
Homes for Sale in North Kingstown RI and beyond

Thanks all...it is good to know!

Sep 24, 2017 03:59 AM
Ambassador
3,577,260
Praful Thakkar
eXp Realty - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Ginny Gorman - I have a complimentary subscription to Angie's list.

I usually do NOT go there... 

Sep 23, 2017 11:29 PM
Rainmaker
786,883
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

Personal experience.  I don't give a hoot about Diamond Certification. Give me the list of clients and I will call them or show addresses where they paved the homes.

Sep 23, 2017 10:13 PM
Rainmaker
3,337,716
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

I know people who love this service and some that want nothing to do with them

Sep 23, 2017 07:04 PM
Rainmaker
1,282,452
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Ginny Gorman I've only had one client select a company from Angie's List. The company in my opinion did a lot of good up front work to get the contract.

Sep 23, 2017 01:36 PM
Rainmaker
612,490
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

Some of the reviews can't be believed. I have zero interest in any Angie List recommendations.

Sep 23, 2017 01:18 PM
Rainmaker
4,277,155
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD
Roy and Dolores Kelley Photographs

I have not used this list.

Sep 23, 2017 12:58 PM
Rainmaker
231,692
Lynnea Miller
Bend Premier Real Estate - Bend, OR
Premier Real Estate Service in Central Oregon

Never used.  Sorry.

Sep 23, 2017 12:54 PM
Rainmaker
3,233,512
Joan Cox
Metro Brokers - House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

I have not called anyone from Angie's List, and have not heard anything from clients, sorry.

Sep 26, 2017 06:41 AM
Rainmaker
3,715,950
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

Not used for reviews.

Sep 24, 2017 06:57 AM