Fred Griffin, Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker (Fred Griffin Real Estate)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
608,071
Kasey & John Boles
Jon Gosche Real Estate, LLC - BoiseMeridianRealEstate.com - Boise, ID
Boise & Meridian, ID Ada/Canyon/Gem/Boise Counties

No. With virtual tours, google earth, and excellent photography along with consumers having internet access to the listings, this really doesn't seem like a necessary practice like it may have been years ago. We do for out of town clients and sometimes for out of towners coming into town with lots of properties and limited time. Otherwise it is not a good use of our time. -Kasey

Feb 08, 2018 04:11 PM
Ambassador
2,349,066
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.AtHomesCharlotte.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
Charlotte Homes for Sale - Charlotte Neighborhoods

It depends - if it's a 'hot house' and likely won't last a day on the market, we look for the first time together.

Otherwise, I'll have a quick look first (INSIDE the home)!

Feb 08, 2018 08:55 PM
Ambassador
3,489,037
Debbie Reynolds
Platinum Properties - Clarksville, TN
Your Dedicated Clarksville TN Real Estate Agent

I do not preview listings. I do preview land.

Feb 08, 2018 10:38 PM
Rainmaker
819,682
Carol Williams
U.S.: I specialize in helping agents who have been in the business 2 years or less create a thriving business. - Wenatchee, WA
"Customized Mentoring & Marketing Services"

I worked in a relatively small market and went on the broker tour every week so I was always up to speed on what was on the market.  This allowed me to call clients looking for something specific or not waste our time if it wasn't a good fit. 

Feb 08, 2018 05:41 PM
Rainmaker
830,097
Kevin J. May
Florida Supreme Realty - Hobe Sound, FL
Serving the Treasure & Paradise Coasts of Florida

Previews seem to be passe' however I'm in as many as I can, agents permitting. Virtual tours and photos only give you a small window to what a home may have. Once you see them personally your description can often be all the edge you need to make the sale.

Feb 08, 2018 05:04 PM
Rainmaker
529,397
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

I very well might. If I think there's going to be a problem with the home, I'm going to check it out first so we don't waste time and let them know that there are issues, scratch this off your list unless you're absolutely dying to prove me wrong.. I work with a lot of investors too, like Joe. So I may be the only one to see the house before it's under contract. The buyers will come along later during inspections. That happens a lot and it works fine.

Feb 08, 2018 04:12 PM
Rainmaker
4,071,633
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Franklin, MA
"Franklin MA Homes"

I'm old school, and we always previewed properties.... as a listing agent, I would preview to see what my listings needed to be to  have the competitive edge.... 

Feb 08, 2018 04:07 PM
Rainmaker
371,095
Peter Testa
Nationwide Homes - Danbury, CT
PETER TESTA

It's not something I do on the regular but if the situation called for it- like someone was coming from out of town, had a limited time to look at a limited # of homes, then I would. 

Feb 09, 2018 05:08 AM
Rainmaker
1,323,331
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg IL Area Real Estate

I no longer preview & really never have. Now that we have pics, videos I don't see the need. 

Feb 09, 2018 05:01 AM
Rainmaker
1,111,893
Kat Palmiotti
Grand Lux Realty, 914-419-0270, kat@thehousekat.com - Monroe, NY
The House Kat

I rarely preview unless there is a specific reason. My area is much to big for me to spend hours driving around to preview homes.  

Feb 09, 2018 02:46 AM
Ambassador
2,665,067
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

that is a "it depends" question.  Last time I showed a house I wasn't already familiar with I got there a bit early and looked around myself and then my clients arrived and I was good to go. 

Feb 08, 2018 09:51 PM
Ambassador
2,181,012
Debbie Laity
Cedaredge Land Company - Cedaredge, CO
Your Real Estate Resource for Delta County, CO

well it kinda depends on my buyers and their expectations. Most want to see any house in spite of my opinions. 

Feb 08, 2018 07:53 PM
Rainer
426,575
Steve Higgins
RE/MAX Kelowna - Kelowna, BC

Only if a client asks me too. 

Feb 08, 2018 06:47 PM
Rainmaker
307,032
PropertyMinder (AccelerAgent)
PropertyMinder, Inc. - San Jose, CA
Modern Tools for the Modern Agent

Previewing in-person sounds ideal. But if you're pressed for time - there's probably a Mobile App for that, like our AgentView App. - Tim

Feb 08, 2018 06:42 PM
Rainmaker
644,118
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

If I have the opportunity, absolutely! One of the RE gurus (forget which one) advocated that previewing is a waste of time, but I disagree. It's good to know exactly what's on the market.

Feb 08, 2018 05:14 PM
Rainmaker
2,522,711
Kathleen Daniels
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
San Jose Homes for Sale-Probate & Trust Specialist

In the market I am in today, no previewing.  I generally take the buyers to the home even if there is an open house. 

Feb 08, 2018 05:11 PM
Ambassador
1,886,721
Silvia Dukes PA, Broker Associate, CRS, CIPS, SRES
Tropic Shores Realty - Ich spreche Deutsch! - Spring Hill, FL
Florida Waterfront and Country Club Living

Sometimes this make sense, other times, the property will be under contract sooner than we can preview and schedule a "real" showing.

Feb 08, 2018 04:35 PM
Ambassador
1,307,001
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

I have mostly out of state investors so this is a common practice for me.

Feb 08, 2018 03:41 PM
Rainmaker
2,218,027
Nina Hollander
RE/MAX Executive | Charlotte, NC - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

I almost never preview in advance unless it's an out of town client who has some very special requirements that are hard to deduce from mls photos.

Feb 09, 2018 07:03 AM
Rainmaker
15,233
Jordan Ayan
The Lifestyle Collection - Scottsdale, AZ

I focus on the North Scottsdale luxury market.  I preview every home before taking a client out, unless there is some reason I can't.  Many of my clients are business people who place a high value on their time (as do I).  I don't want to waste theirs showing them something that if I had walked it, I would have easily eliminated from the list.  I also want to be able to point out features that I have seen that they will like.

Feb 09, 2018 06:18 AM
Rainmaker
564,160
Richard Bazinet /MBA, CRS, ABR
AZuRE Team - Realty ONE Group - Scottsdale, AZ
Phoenix Scottsdale. Sellers, Buyers & Relocations

Preview, preview, preview. That's the secret to getting buyers to buy in less time. I can short list up to 25 homes, narrow it down to the top 6 to show a client. Typically, one of those 6 is the one they buy. And it's a much faster process.

If you don't preview and show the wrong houses, or show crap, then the client thinks you don't know your inventory or that you are not meeting their needs.

Feb 09, 2018 05:52 AM
Rainmaker
706,852
Jennifer Mackay
Counts Real Estate Group, Inc. - Panama City, FL
Your Bay County Florida Realtor 850.774.6582

I do for out of area customers - first is a drive by, if it meets their stds, I do a walk through with pics

Feb 09, 2018 04:09 AM
Ambassador
3,718,774
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Fred Griffin - I do not.

I want to be as much surprised as the buyers when I preview the home with the buyers.

Feb 08, 2018 09:49 PM
Ambassador
3,213,290
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams fox cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

I like to focus my time on listings rather than buyers.

For home buyers I generally refer them.

For forestland buyers it depends on the client and the consulting terms we have agreed on in advance for their land search.

Feb 08, 2018 08:49 PM
Rainmaker
197,105
Abby Stiller
Premier Realty Homes of SWFL - Cape Coral, FL
Real Estate Agent Serving Southwest Florida

I do for out of town clients.

Feb 08, 2018 06:59 PM
Rainmaker
2,300,019
Rebecca Gaujot
Perry Wellington Realty, Adam Conrad, Broker - Lewisburg, WV
Lewisburg WV, the go to agent for all real estate

Yes I do, except the ones that are further out in the country. Then I talk with the listing agent and have a good conversation about the property and forward that information to my buyers. 

Feb 08, 2018 06:50 PM
Ambassador
3,449,181
Jeff Dowler
Solutions Real Estate - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude - Carlsbad

There are times when I can and do, but sometimes we need to get into a property right away or it will be gone. I usually recommend buyers drive by the homes of interest.

Feb 08, 2018 05:55 PM
Rainmaker
4,400,779
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD
Roy and Dolores Kelley Photographs

Sometimes.

 

Feb 08, 2018 03:49 PM
Rainmaker
746,497
Thomas J. Nelson, Realtor,CRS,e-Pro
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
Co-Host of Mail-Right's: Real Estate Agent Podcast

For out of towners, all the time. Just did it last Saturday in fact and then Face-time toured it for them.

Feb 09, 2018 08:46 PM
Rainmaker
1,305,472
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Fred Griffin Most commercial real estate showings are by appointment only so I do not preview listings.

Feb 09, 2018 06:42 AM
Rainmaker
507,322
Gloria Valvasori, Accredited Senior Agent
BETTER HOMES AND GARDENS REAL ESTATE SIGNATURE SERVICE - Mississauga, ON
REAL Experience | REAL Commitment | REAL Results!

It would depend if I had the time, or if I think there could be a potential problem, or the photos don't clearly depict the layout, stairs, etc., I may preview it for my client.

Feb 09, 2018 05:21 AM
Rainmaker
2,536,307
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of Manchester NH's Leading Agents

It depends, in my area i know most areas. When i have a buyer that needs a specifci style, condition or such, i may preview for out of town buyers

Feb 09, 2018 05:08 AM
Rainmaker
2,351,305
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

I rely on what is in mls.

Feb 09, 2018 04:56 AM
Rainmaker
468,901
Mike & Eve Alexander
Buyers Broker of Florida - Orlando, FL
Exclusively Representing ONLY Orlando Home Buyers

If I started previewing, I would never get finished.  We work 5 counties and not a "farm area".

The market moves so fast that chances are that what I look at today will  be gone by monday.

Eve

Feb 09, 2018 04:37 AM
Rainmaker
491,083
Brenda Mayette
Miranda Real Estate Group, Inc. - Glenville, NY
Getting results w/ knowledge & know-how!

I encourage the buyer to drive by before we visit.  This is about THEIR opinion, not mine.   

Feb 09, 2018 04:21 AM
Rainmaker
2,738,413
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
BVO Luxury Group @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty - Scottsdale, AZ
Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ

Door #2

Feb 09, 2018 03:42 AM
Rainmaker
1,270,397
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • Green • GRI • HAFA • PSC Los Angeles CA

Depends...

Feb 08, 2018 10:32 PM
Rainmaker
3,433,116
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

I look at the MLS.  Many places to far to drive to preview all of them

Feb 08, 2018 07:27 PM
Ambassador
2,628,687
Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland
HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400 - Pikesville, MD
Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome

 

When I do work with buyers, I make sure they have driven by the house and the neighborhood.   I research with the buyer, the ones we are going to see. By checking tax records, prior listings, photos on all the sites...we can determine what to eliminate and what to keep on the list.

Feb 08, 2018 05:54 PM
Rainmaker
3,344,265
Joan Cox
Metro Brokers - House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

I used to, when homes lasted longer than a few hours.   In the higher price points, I still do, but the photos and tours are really good.

Feb 12, 2018 07:50 AM
Rainmaker
462,973
Hella M. Rothwell, Broker/Realtor®
Carmel by the Sea, CA
Rothwell Realty Inc. CA#01968433 Carmel-by-the-Sea

For some buyers I do if they are willing to go into a contract without seeing the home themselves. Mostly the buyers make up their own minds to view a place based on the photos. But often I do know the house, certainly from the outside, sometimes even the inside from other showings or caravans.

Feb 09, 2018 04:08 PM
Rainmaker
2,453,840
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

In a slow market I preview but not now.

 

Feb 09, 2018 04:06 PM
Rainmaker
1,006,181
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
www.HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

Look at the photos online.  If there are really specific requirements that the photos can't address I will, but 99.999% of the time the MLS is all I need.

Feb 09, 2018 08:33 AM
Rainmaker
812,493
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

About 85% viewers do their own search here. People are wary of agents send them listings thinking they picked home where agents get more commission.

 

Feb 09, 2018 08:28 AM
Rainmaker
2,478,890
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker

Sometimes I will preview and sometimes time does not permit!

Feb 09, 2018 08:19 AM
Rainmaker
627,471
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

It depends. Usually previews aren't needed.

Feb 09, 2018 07:15 AM
Rainmaker
1,659,948
Michael J. Perry
KW Elite - Lancaster, PA
Lancaster, PA Relo Specialist

I have done Previews for Ouy of Town RELO Buyers

Feb 09, 2018 07:10 AM
Rainmaker
3,539,450
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding and Marketing

Fred,

Always previewed all types of suitable spaces.  And we prepared a spreadsheet of all the stops.  A

Feb 09, 2018 07:06 AM
Rainmaker
4,052,313
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

Some of each depending on the situation.

Feb 09, 2018 05:52 AM
Rainmaker
625,360
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

This really depends on the buyer.

If they are early in the process and still a bit cloudy regarding what they will buy, I want to expose them to LOTs of real estate.

If the buyers need is urgent, Yes, I will preview the real estate to confirm the pre-requisites are present and in the condition the buyer expects.

When the buyer says. "I don't want to get into another project' I take that seriously.

Feb 09, 2018 05:25 AM
Rainmaker
3,823,736
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

no

Feb 08, 2018 03:44 PM