Salesperson and Broker Requirements

By
Real Estate Broker/Owner with Accelerated Real Estate Schools

SALESPERSON AND BROKER LICENSING AND RENEWALS INFO PAGE

 http://www.dre.ca.gov/pdf_docs/fee_increase_notice_09.pdf   NEW FEES AS OF 7/1/2009

HOW TO OBTAIN A SALESPERSON LICENSE          Salesperson Exam Application 

Note: All applicants applying for the state exam must complete Real Estate Principles, Real Estate Practice and one elective before you can apply for the Department Real Estate Exam.  <CLICK HERE  TO SEE OUR HOME STUDY PACKAGES>       <CLICK HERE FOR OUR COURSES with LIVE EXAM PREPARATION PACKAGES>

Once you pass the State Exam you will receive a letter in the mail stating that you have passed the exam. To complete the licensing process you must show a copy of your birth certificate or Passport, Live Scan Fingerprinting and the current application form the Department of Real Estate sent to you filled out and mailed with a check or money order to the D.R.E of the current licensing fee's.

Your license may be a conditional license if you have not submitted proof of completing the two 18 month course requirements at the time you applied for the license (If you received a License prior to the October 1, 2007 law change.) The condition will be removed once you have submitted evidence of completion to the Department of Real Estate within 18 months of your original licensing. (DO YOU STILL NEED  18 Month Course Requirements (If you still have a Conditional License! <CLICK HERE>))

HELPFUL EXAM HINTS:

The California Department of Real Estate (DRE) will usually schedule your State Exam date approximately 4 to 6 weeks from the date you apply.  You can now apply online which is the most efficient way of applying for the State Exam. (Check out the D.R.E to apply or find more about applying online.) You can apply in person or by faxing your application to the DRE for your exam date.  If this is not practical, then applying by mail may delay your exam date up to 1-2 weeks longer than the usual 4-6 week waiting time.  During this waiting period prior to taking the State Exam, you should study the exam preparation book or software for a minimum of 80 hours.  Your scores should consistently be in the 85%-95% range on all sample questions.  The "Crash Course" should be used as a final review ONLY and not to obtain new information.

The Dept of Real Estate's Salesperson or Broker Exams (State Exams) are not an easy exams. You must be willing to devote sufficient time and effort to successfully pass the exam.  There are two knowledge bases you must master to be successful: 

(1)  Thorough knowledge of the information being tested on the California Department of Real Estate's Salesperson  or Brokers Exam.  This is the information that the DRE considers important enough to place on the State Exam and, therefore, you must know this information prior to taking either the Salesperson or Brokers  exam.  In other words, you must actually learn and understand the material do not memorize.:

(2)  You must understand the nature of the State Exam questions themselves.  You must know the material AND be very careful reading the exam questions. The California Department of Real Estate does not consider the State Exam questions tricky; however, they are worded in such a way that you must really know the material or you will probably select the wrong answer to the question.   For this reason, it is imperative that you spend the proper time and effort with the correct materials to pass the State Exam.  Memorization alone will not be enough to pass the State Exam.  You must learn the material that will be tested and complete enough sample questions to understand the nature of the exam questions.   When you have attained these two levels of knowledge, you are then ready to pass the State Exam.

 

SALESPERSON RENEWALS (Click Here):

1st 4 year renewal - is  15 hours of  continuing education  and includes:

3 hrs Agency, 3 hrs Ethics, 3 hrs Trust Fund Handling, 3 hrs Fair Housing, 3 hrs Risk Management -$66.50 Booklet  or $39.95 to Download Each with  Timed Online  Exams

  

DO NOT GET CONFUSED!!!  NOTE: Those licensees who were licensed on or after 10/1/2007,  and were required to have all three statutory/pre-licenses courses (RE Principles, RE Practice, and one additional course), ( Which means in 4 years "That starts  in the year 2011"  SO WAIT!!!!For your 1st 4 year  Renewal  you must  complete 45 clock hours of DRE-approved continuing education  We will Offer those courses in  the 2009:

 

4 years thereafter you are required to complete 45 hours of continuing education.   

  

Our 45 hour continuing education includes:

At least 39 clock hours of consumer protection courses;

One 6 hour survey course that covers the four mandatory subjects (Ethics, Agency, Trust Fund Handling, and Fair Housing);  (Salesperson and Broker licensee's Renewing after June 30, 2007 are required to take an additional 3 hour course called Risk Management)

After you have completed your Continuing Education up date you license by going to

 

 

HOW TO OBTAIN A BROKER LICENSE               Download Broker Application

 http://www.dre.ca.gov/pdf_docs/fee_increase_notice_09.pdf   NEW FEES AS OF 7/1/2009

To obtain a California Real Estate Broker's License, the California Department of Real Estate requires that you complete a minimum Eight courses. 5 are required and 3 are electives:

5 Required courses are: Real Estate Practice, Real Estate Economics or General Accounting, Real Estate Finance, Real Estate Appraisals, and Legal Aspects of Real Estate.

The Electives we offer which you only need 3 are: Property Management, Mortgage loan Brokering, Escrows, and Real Estate Principles.

In addition to completion of the above 8 course, you must have 2 years full-time verifiable experience as a real estate professional within the last 5 years or equivalent educational attainment .

A four-year college degree from an accredited institution of higher learning can be used in lieu of the 2 year experience requirement. Please call the California Department of Real Estate.   <Click Here for Broker Packages>

 

BROKER RENEWALS (Click Here):

Real estate brokers renewing an original license for the first time must complete 48 clock hours of DRE-approved continuing education consisting of:

Our 1st 4 year Broker Renewal consists of 39 hrs of Consumer Protection of Legal Update  Plus the 15 hour of continuing education of the following subjects: Ethics, Agency, Trust Fund Handling, Fair Housing, And Risk Management.= 51 hrs

4 years thereafter you are required to complete  45hrs of continuing education (our package is 48 hours .   

Our 48 hour continuing education includes:  39 hrs of Consumer Protection Legal Update  Plus the  plus the 6 hour survey and 3hrs of Risk Management

 The Requirement is At least 18 clock hours of consumer protection courses; and The remaining 21 clock hours in either consumer service or consumer protection courses.

One 6 hour survey +3 hrs Risk Management course that covers the four mandatory subjects (Ethics, Agency, Trust Fund Handling, and Fair Housing and Risk management);

After you have completed your Continuing Education up date you license by going to

Updated Continuously by Webmaster

Comments (0)