The New City of Johns Creek, GA

Real Estate Agent with RE/MAX Around Atlanta GA RE License #296541

City of Johns Creek 

Welcome to the *NEW* City of Johns Creek, Georgia!

As of June 1, 2007, Johns Creek residents in zip codes 30022, 30097 and 30005 could begin using Johns Creek, GA, as their official mailing address! For those of you unfamiliar with this North Atlanta community, the city was created during 2006's election period in a heated vote (see timeline below).

We are proud to be Realtors in the new City of Johns Creek! Here are some interesting... 

...Johns Creek Facts

  • The City of Johns Creek is located in the northeast corner of Fulton County; bounded on the south by the Chattahoochee River, on the east by Gwinnett County and the Chattahoochee, on the north by Forsyth County and on the west by the cities of Alpharetta and Roswell.

  • Johns Creek has an approximate population of 65,000.

  • Johns Creek is the 10th largest city in the state of Georgia, Marietta being the 11th largest.

  • Johns Creek officially became a city on Dec. 1, 2006, when governance of the new city tranferred from Fulton County to Johns Creek's elected officials and city government.

  • Johns Creek's transition from six unincorporated northeast Fulton communities - Newtown, Warsaw, Ocee, Shakerag, Autrey Mill and Johns Creek - to cityhood was initiated through the state legislative process, as follows:

    • March 31, 2005 - pre-bills introduced by State Rep. Jan Jones (Dist. 46) to incorporate both northwest and northeast unincorporated Fulton County.

    • Feb. 13, 2006 - House Bill 1321 introduced by State Rep. Mark Burkhalter (Dist. 50) to incorporate unincorporated northeast Fulton County into the City of Johns Creek.

    • March 2, 2006 - House Bill 1321 approved by the Georgia Assembly.

    • March 29, 2006 - Governor Sonny Perdue signed House Bill 1321 into law.

    • July 18, 2006 - Voters of unincorporated northeast Fulton County approved incorporation.

    • Nov. 7, 2006 - Citizens of Johns Creek elected Mayor Mike Bodker and City Council members Randall Johnson, Karen Richardson, Liz Hausmann and Bev Miller as the city's first officials.

    • Nov. 14, 2006 - Inauguration; first City Council meeting.

    • Dec. 1, 2006 - The City of Johns Creek assumed governance from Fulton County.

    • Dec. 5, 2006 - Run off elections for Post 2 and Post 4 brought Dan McCabe and Ivan Figueroa, respectively, onto the first Johns Creek City Council.

For more information about the new City of Johns Creek, click here

You can also visit:!

I Love Johns Creek - logo

If you have any questions about the new City of Johns Creek or the North Metro Atlanta area, please give us a call or send us an email! We'd love to help you!


Pam, Maura, Nancie and Deirdre
The Gebhardt Group
RE/MAX Greater Atlanta
10220 Medlock Bridge Road
Johns Creek, GA 30097

(770) 751-5895
info@GebhardtGroup (email) (website) (blog)


This entry hasn't been re-blogged:

Re-Blogged By Re-Blogged At
Georgia Fulton County Johns Creek
atlanta real estate
north atlanta
johns creek
north metro atlanta
city of johns creek
johns creek ga
johns creek real estate

Post a Comment
Spam prevention
Spam prevention
Post a Comment
Spam prevention

What's the reason you're reporting this blog entry?

Are you sure you want to report this blog entry as spam?


Maura Neill

North Metro Atlanta Real Estate
Ask me a question
Spam prevention