The area to the west of April Road in Port Moody, on the gentle south facing slopes on the North Shore of Burrard Inlet, is owned primarily by the Imperial Oil Company, after which Ioco was named. Ioco is an enduring example of the early company towns in the Lower Mainland.
A huge oil refinery was opened in 1915 and a townsite of 83 homes, a grocery store, school, tennis court and other amenities were subsequently developed. Prior, all travel to the townsite was by boat or on horse back.
The Ioco area was incorporated into the municipality as part of a City boundary expansion in 1988, and although distribution activities continue, the refinery itself was officially shut down in 1995.
Working with local architect and urban planner, Michael Geller, Imperial Oil (Esso) Ltd. began feasibility planning studies for about 200 acres of the former IOCO refinery lands on the north side of Port Moody, overlooking the Port Moody harbour.
A revitalized Ioco Townsite could become the heart of a new community, but redevelopment will require significant infrastructure and transportation improvements and consider the protection and enhancement of the environmentally sensitive areas.
Ioco has a rich concentrated heritage conservation area and this character will be another of the considerations for future development in the neighbourhood.
At the present time there are no active listings available in Ioco, and only one new home was built last year. Prior to that the last sale was in 2007.