With today's drastic Real Estate legislative changes being made at record pace, from State to State. Depending on your State legal and governmental mandated licensing requirements, which do you look for as a professional Home Inspector or Inspection company for your clients; what is your Home Inspector preference, Certified or Licensed & Insured?
Nothing against all of the outside non-profit home inspection certification organizations out there; they have been both a great and valuable asset to the Real Estate and Home Inspection Community. However, with new State legislative licensing requirements to be a Home Inspector or legally perform Home Inspections, DBA (doing business as) in several states already. Are these non-profit organizations being relied on, (in states requiring licensing), as the major source for home inspector referrals based on their certification of an inspector over a States list of Licensed and Insured?
A few STATE Application Requirements, Texas, Maryland and Florida to view:
State of Florida; EXAMINATION: Individuals seeking licensure as a Home Inspector must first take and pass the, National Home Inspector Examination (NHIE). EDUCATION/EXPERIENCE: The applicant must demonstrate proof of completing a course of study approved by the department of not less than 120 hours that covers the 8 components of a home and has passed the examination required by the department. And this is not a complete listing of educational and experience requirements. FINGERPRINTS: An applicant must have a background check as part of the licensing process. INSURANCE: Applicants are required to attest that they have obtained commercial general liability insurance in the amount of $300,000. FEE: Pay the required fee as provided in the application, payable to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation.
State of Texas: To become licensed as a real estate inspector or professional inspector, a person must satisfy: (1) the education and experience requirements outlined in §1102.108 and §1102.109 of Chapter 1102; or (2) the substitute education and experience requirements established by the commission pursuant to §1102.111. Effective September 1, 2011, a person may satisfy the 90-hour education requirement for licensure as a real estate inspector pursuant to subsection (a) (1) of this section by completing the following coursework: 10 hours in foundations, 8 hours in framing, 10 hours in building enclosure, 10 hours in roof systems, 8 hours in plumbing systems, 10 hours in electrical systems, 10 hours in heating, ventilation, and air conditioning systems; 8 hours in appliances, 4 hours in Texas Standards of Practice, 4 hours in Texas Standard Report Form/Report Writing; and 8 hours in Texas Legal/Ethics, (the list goes on).
State of Maryland: The MANDATORY deadline for when an individual shall be licensed by the Commission as a home inspector was January 1, 2008. The applicant must complete an application and remit photocopies of course certificates reflecting their completion of seventy-two (72) hour of an on-site classroom-based training course approved by the Commission. Provide evidence of having obtained a high school diploma or its equivalent, provide an examination score report verifying successful completion of the National Home Inspector Examination or its equivalent and Remit a non-refundable application review fee in the amount of $50.00. If the initial application is approved, the applicant will be mailed an application and instructions that will allow them to proceed with the application process and to receive a license. In order to receive a license the candidate is required to remit a license fee in the amount of $400.00, along with proof of having general liability insurance in the amount of at least $150,000. Thereafter, they are issued a license for a two year term.
So again I readdress; what is your Home Inspector preference, Certified or Licensed & Insured?