The Ruston-McDowell House and Mill (c. 1790) have had some exciting changes. Come to our open house Sunday, June 5, 2011 from 1-3 PM and see what dedicated artisans did to refinish floors, sensitively paint the walls and millwork, AND install a gorgeous bathroom with frameless shower doors, subway tiles, and refinished claw foot tub. The rest of the house has been painted and floors refinished.
There are working fireplaces in kitchen, living room and bedroom, and the walk-in fireplace chimney in the 1790 secition is capped. The center and west sections date to the first years of the 19th century when the Ruston Mill was the center of the Elkview community. It still houses some of the flour milling machinery in a stone building which shares the 4 acres of land on the banks of the Big Elk Creek. At the turn of the last century, this property was known as "The Buttonwoods" after another name for the giant sycamore trees on the property (one is on the National Tree Registry). A must-see for the historic home lovers! See website www.psre.com/9412.