In the state of Texas, you better want it pretty badly! To be a licensed real estate broker, in addition to "time served" in the business you will need a whopping 900 hours of classroom coursework. This image represents my remaining coursework after receiving 630 hours credit for a college degree and 30 hours credit for already completing a required course. Seriously, when I received the package I almost fainted!
Don't get me wrong -- I'm not feeling sorry for myself! I am thrilled to have my Texas broker's license and I am all for state-regulated licensing laws. Being a licensed broker in Illinois as well, I am intimately familiar with the licensing procedures in another state. It's just that my Principles of Real Estate book has a chart which lists the licensing requirements for all the states in the country. So, I was just wondering ... does anybody know why there is such significant disparity in state licensing requirements? I mean, don't we all have to know pretty much the same stuff? We all pretty much have to follow the same procedure. You take the appropriate coursework, then pass the course exam, then pass the State exam. Sounds simple enough. But, 900 hours ... I didn't have this many books my freshman year at college!