SCAM: I do not Recommed using Real Estate Client Referrals (RECR)

Reblogger Steve Mattison
Industry Observer

Here it is 2012, Clint is gone but RECR continues on, they took my money too and will take yours if you do not heed the warnings!  http://www.realtown.com/LeadGeneration/blog/reclientreferrals#c52243

Original content by Angela Helfrick

BE VERY CAUTIOUS WHEN THINKING OF USING THE COMPANY "REAL ESTATE CLIENT REFERRALS." (RECR)

I was recently contacted by this company and everything sounded good.  They give you referral leads that they have spoken to and confirmed for $99 per referral with a minimum purchase of 5.  If that lead is not good or your unable to work with the person, you have 7 days to let RECR know and they will replace the lead for free. 

Well I was also told that I had 90 days to try out the service and if I was unhappy, I would be refunded any $ spent on leads that I couldn't reach and the start up fee.  Well there was a place in the contract that seemed to contradict what I was told , so I questioned it and they said, Our customer service people will work with you to keep you happy and yes you could be refunded all you $ if you were unhappy.   BIG LIE!! 

I have received 3 "new leads" 2 of which I am unable to contact and 1 is no longer able to purchase.  So 3 bad leads which I had to pay for.  What I was not told is that when they replace your leads, they do not give them to you until you have received all the paid for leads and you can only have the paid for leads replaced 1 time.  This in effect means that you can get a max of 10 leads if you purchase 5 and it does not matter if you are not able to get in touch with 100% of them, you still need to pay for them and have nothing to show for it but a $600 bill and a HEADACHE.

New to real estate, this could not have come at a worse time with all the start up fees that I have had to pay without any income.  

Please do let yourself get taken advantage of like I was.

I believe this could only be good it you need some referrals, but are willing to pay a lot of money up front without any return.  After calling and speaking with the Customer service manager, I was cheerfully informed that only about 1 in 5 leads are converted into closings.  This means that an average you can pay up to $500 for 1 closed deal.  She also said there was nothing they could do to credit that money that I spent on dead leads, but if I would like they would refund me $198 for the 2 leads that I have not received and stop my service.  Yippee I could walk away with $400 less than I started and nothing to show for it.  I thought are you crazy, my best bet now is to spend the remaining $198 and Pray to God that I get 1 good lead out of the remaining 2 "paid leads" and 3 "free replacement leads" that I paid $99each for.  I found it interesting when I was told that the manager only had 2 choices: 1) to stop my service and refund the remaining $198 or 2)to give me 2 more "free referrals" that I would first need to spend the remaining $198 to get.  What a sham!  usually a manager of a good company would at least try to make a person happy, but that's not the case here.


Pardon my negative attitude.  I normally am not like this, but when people mislead other people just to get their $ I really take offense.  

I hope this saves at least one person out there from throwing away money.

 

close

This entry hasn't been re-blogged:

Re-Blogged By Re-Blogged At

Spam prevention
Show All Comments
Rainmaker
1,231,360
Wallace S. Gibson, CPM
Gibson Management Group, Ltd. - Charlottesville, VA
LandlordWhisperer

I'm not sure when these firms appeared in the real estate landscape; however, they are WEEDS appearing to provide GRASS.

May 14, 2012 09:34 PM #1
Rainmaker
735,175
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

Sorry to hear, but there are many companies like this that prey on the real estate industry. Always best to create your own leads. How mant post cards could you have mailed? How many weeks could you have paid for a classified ad in your local paper, or on internet? Glad you found out early, and didn't invest ( waste) and more $ with this company,

May 14, 2012 10:10 PM #2
Rainmaker
135,175
Steve Mattison
Canyon de Chelly National Mo, AZ
Vietnam Veteran

Wallace, so well worded, weeds indeed, I was warned just like I am warning others, but got to know Clint Miller and thought he was able to turn that company around, turns out they just used him too!

Jeff, you are right, after being burned by house.com I thought I had learned my lesson but was trapped by a clever marketing system just a few years later and again, hope I have learned my lesson for good this time!!

May 14, 2012 11:07 PM #3
Show All Comments

What's the reason you're reporting this blog entry?

Are you sure you want to report this blog entry as spam?

Rainmaker
135,175

Steve Mattison

Vietnam Veteran
Ask me a question
*
*
*
*
Spam prevention