Located only 15 minutes north of Portsmouth New Hampshire lies the small town of Somersworth. Sligo, the original name of the city of Somersworth, was a part of a larger area called Dover, settled in 1700. Organized as the Parish of Summersowrth in 1729 and then incorporated as a separate town in 1754. Due to a clerical error, the incorporation changed the spelling to Somersworth. Only to be lated incorporated as the City of Somersworth in 1893.
With a rich history as a mill town, imigrants flocked to the city from all over the world. Textiles were the main source for employment, but there were also several sawmills, and cotton and woolen manufacturing buildings.
This is just a brief synopsis of the rich history you can find located at the Somersworth Historical Society Museum. The Museum, located at 157 Main Street, Somersworth New Hampshire, is the location of the former city hall. The City of Somersworth generously donated the building in 2002, when the town moved it's headquarters down the road.
The purpose of the museum is to preserve artifacts, documents, photos, and memorabilia all pertaining to the city of Somersworth. With two full floors of artifacts, there is sure to be something to peak every visitors interests. To top it all off, admission to the museum is free, and the entire building is handicap accessible. To help alleviate some of the cost, the Historical Society itself has an annual membership with dues of only $5 per person, and only $8 per family. Hours that the museum is open are on Sundays from 12:30 to 3:30 with the availability to open for group tours during the week.
To learn more about Somersworth New Hampshire contact;
Bill Somerset, Century 21 Central Falls Realty, Dover New Hampshire 03820