California Smoke Detector Update

By
Real Estate Agent with Coldwell Banker Realty CalBRE #01248430

Just a few days ago we informed you of California SB1394 that was to take effect 1 January 2014, requiring 10 year batteries in all new smoke detectors installed in California. We have since communicated with the office of the State Fire Marshall and became aware that in late November the bill was revoked and in its place a portion of California SB745 took its place.  SB745 phases in the implementation requirements of the new style detectors.

In-A-Nutshell:

The new law (SB745) says that the 10 year battery smoke detectors will not be fully required until 1 July 2015. (Yes, 2015!)

  • Please be advised that these new models which meet all the below requirements, and significantly increase the safety of occupants, are currently available at retailers throughout the county and through several online retailers.

Details:

July 1, 2014. Manufacturers may only sell smoke detectors in California that have non-removable batteries capable of powering the unit for 10 years.

Exception: If anyone (retailers, wholesalers, managing agents, contractors, property owners) has the older models (not a 10 year battery), they may continue to install them until July 1, 2015.

January 1, 2015. Manufacturers may only sell smoke detectors in California that meet the requirement in number 1 above, plus they must:

a.  Display the date of manufacture

b.  Provide a place on the device to where the date of installation can be written

c.  Incorporate a hush feature

Exception: As in above, if anyone (retailers, wholesalers, managing agents, contractors, property owners) has the older models (not a 10 year battery, no dates, no hush), they may continue to install them until July 1, 2015.

July 1, 2015.

a.  Any installations of battery operated smoke detectors (new installs or replacements) must be with detectors that

    • Have 10 year non-removable batteries
    • Provide a place on the device to where the date of installation can be written
    • Incorporate a hush feature
    • Display the date of manufacture

 

 

b.  When a permit is pulled/$1,000 or more in work is performed all detectors will need to be updated to the new models.

Comments (0)