High End Property Scam with Chinese Buyer

Real Estate Agent with Piatt Sotheby's International Realty RS274287

Who doesn't love leads from cash buyers looking to pay 99% of asking price without even seeing the house. When something seems to good to be true it usually is. I tried to give a perspective buyer "MR LIANG GUANG " the benefit of the doubt but when I Googled the address on the bank statement I found this blog. Thank goodness I can now be assured this a scam and not waste any more time.

Original content by Bryan Tobiason

There's only one thing better than a lead on a $800,000 property and that's a ready, willing and able BUYER for an $800,000 property.  So when I get the lead and they've shown that their Ready Willing and Able to buy a house they've never seen in a not so popular spot for high end homes red flags go off. 

Off course I get enough inquiries on homes to know when a question comes through that's out of the ordinary.  So when I see this come through about a particular property   "Hello I would like to formally make an offer of $780,000 for this property. Kindly get back to me ASAP if my offer would be accepted by the sellers. Thanks Kin."  I know that it's way out of the ordinary.

So being a professional Realtor who takes my job seriously I decide to see why he wants to make an offer.  Has he seen the home before?  I then get this response:

Thank you.

I have been to the area last year and liked the location.

Understand that I and my wife are OK with pictures and information we have seen so far as we would like to initiate the purchase process from China before we arrive USA before the end of next month.

This for we would not like to lose the property.

I am in China at the moment and hope to be in USA next month.

The home would be a cash buy as I have attached a scanned copy of my bank statement for your reference.

My contact information is

Address: unit 45 Liwaili Apartment, Futong West Street, Chaoyang, Beijing, China

Telephone: +86968942776

I would like to settle an up front deposit of $15,000 and close Early June.

Kindly get back to me with the  next step in accord.



This is obviously not a real buyer, but his scanned bank statement was so funny I almost spit coffee all over my keyboard when I opened it.  See below. Click on it for a larger version.  Is this guy looking to buy your properties too? 

Fake Proof of Funds


Bryan Tobiason, Realtor
Integrity Driving Results
Realty Executives of Kansas City
913-735-5748 | 913-SELLS-4-U
www.TobiasonRealty.com | www.KCHomeTours.com 

Posted by

Elizabeth Caplan, REALTOR

Keller Williams, The Caplan Group

5425 Baum Blvd. Pgh PA 15232

412-302-2645- direct, 412-682-0120 -office

Visit www.Pittsburghhome.com for all your Pittsburgh real estate and relocation needs

Comments (3)

Kimo Stowell
HI Pro Realty LLC RB-21531 - Honolulu, HI
REALTOR Associate® RS-76763 - Honolulu Hawai'i

Aloha Liz,

You are very brave to open an attachment from an unknown source, especially one that has the piquant odor of a scam. Like 5 day old take out, it's best to trash it.


Oct 07, 2014 11:15 AM
William Feela
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

I have opened these before and gotlucky...no virus.  These to good to be true are just that.

Oct 07, 2014 01:40 PM
Winston Heverly
Winston Realty, Inc. - Atlantis, FL

Liz,  a great read today and a chance for all of us to shine in this last quarter with these points and tips.

Oct 07, 2014 02:21 PM