As an approved provider of continuing education, we get several questions about requirements for Oregon Real Estate licensees.
Here are some good tips and timeframes to help you stay on track with the state requirements:
License Renewal: 30 hours of required education, every 2 years by the last day of the licensee’s birth month. (3 of these hours must be the Law and Rule Required Course.)
Q: What topics are approved?
A: Continuing Education Eligible Course Topics This link will take you to the Oregon Real Estate Agency's list of approved topics and also topics that do not qualify for credit.
Is this the first time you are renewing your broker license? Learn about the 27 Hour– Broker Advanced Practices course here.
Law & Rule Required Course (LaRRC): All real estate licensees must take the required 3 hour Law & Rule Required Course (LaRRC) within each two-year renewal period.
Q: Where can I take the LaRRC training?
- North Willamette Association of REALTORS has this scheduled for May 27th 9:30 am – 12:30 pm
- If you belong to a different REALTOR association, check with them to see if this is on the schedule.
- Check out the OAR calendar for any course being offered in your area. (This has come and gone for 2015 in the Willamette Valley area.)
- Take The CE Shop course online. ($26)
Code of Ethics: NAR requires all members to complete a 2.5 hour (minimum) Code of Ethics training every 4 years to maintain membership.
The current quadrennial is January 1, 2013 – December 31, 2016. This means you must have your Code of Ethics training completed within this time frame.
Q: Have I taken my Code of Ethics?
A: This link will take you to Realtor.org where you can log in with your NRDS number to see if you’ve completed the course.
Q: Where can I take the Code of Ethics training?
CODE OF ETHICS COURSES *2.5 - 3 Credit Hours
Offered through NWAR
When: Wednesday, November 4th | 9:30 am – 12:30 pm
Where: Columbia Bank, 1755 Mt. Hood Ave, Woodburn
Invitations will go out closer to the class date
Offered through OAR
When: Thursday, April 16th | 9:00 am – 12:00 pm
Where: Salem Conference Center
Offered through the CE Shop
When / Where: Online
Click to Register ($26)
Offered through NAR on Realtor.org
*Free, but does not count toward CE
When / Where: Online
Record maintenance: Real estate licensees must keep their own records of continuing education. All certificates of attendance and a completed Continuing Education Record Form must be kept by the licensee for three years after the license renewal date for which the continuing education hours were used.
This is a gathering of information from several sources and is deemed reliable but not guaranteed. If you have ANY questions or concerns, please check in with your managing principal broker or the Oregon Real Estate Agency.