We are, of course, speaking about cell phone usage.
But can you do it hands-free? You’d better if you are in California.
It seems as if just about everyone in a car here in California has a cell phone and is on it while driving down the road. You pretty much tell by the driving –
- they sit at green lights
- move more slowly down the road than anyone
- change lanes without signals (lots of other folks do too)
- meander from lane to lane or make abrupt lane switches
- and otherwise make it obvious they are paying attention to something more important than their driving.
Beginning JULY 1, 2008, you need to use a hands-free device to chat on your telephone while driving if you are 18 years or older.
If you are under 18, you cannot use a wireless telephone OR hands-free device while driving.
Emergency phone calls (no, not to real estate clients) are permitted to law enforcement agencies, medical providers, fire departments and similar services. And this applies to those of you from other states who are house-hunting here in California. Just because your state does not have such a law don’t think you are safe in California.
First offense is $20, with $50 for subsequent violations of this law. And if you don't pay in a timely manner the penalty assessments get ugly - $79 and $190. Hmm, wonder if these are tax deductible?
If I can provide more information about this community or the housing market in general, or otherwise assist you in your homes search, please contact me by phone or text at (760) 840-1360
or email me at JDowler@remax.net.