New Hands-Free Driving Law in California for 2017
A new law in California takes the notion of hands-free while using a smart phone to a new level.
The new law, AB1785, takes effect on January 1, 2017 and requires that drivers have their smartphones mounted in their cars when in use. That means you can’t just hold your phone in your hand using the speakerphone.
The handheld wireless telephone or “electronic wireless communications device” must now be either mounted on the windshield (lower right or left corner) in a way that does not interfere with the driver’s vision, or on the dashboard or center console.
Plus the device must be activated by either a single tap or swipe of the driver’s finger.
The first offense will cost you $20, and each successive offense is $50.