The beginning of the new year brings with it a variety of new state laws across the country. Here are some of the most noteworthy laws already having an impact in 2020.
Privacy for Internet Users
The newest and toughest internet privacy law in the country went into effect on January 1st, 2020. The California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA) allows residents of California to demand access to data that companies have collected from them. Internet users can review the collected data and request that it be deleted. All companies will need to comply with this request.
Companies that are affected by this new law must be for-profit and generate over $25 million in annual gross revenue, have personal data for more than 50,000 individuals, or generate over 50% of their annual revenue from selling user’s personal data.
Nevada, Hawaii, and Colorado are joining a list of states that have initiated a “red flag” law, which allows judges to temporarily take away firearms from individuals who are determined to be a danger to themselves or others.
The new law is already facing controversy in Colorado. Multiple counties have passed resolutions under the moniker of “Second Amendment sanctuaries” and refuse to enforce this new law.
Under a new law, Illinois residents 21 and older can now buy and possess recreational marijuana in 2020. The Law allows individuals to possess and purchase up to 30 grams of cannabis, cannabis-infused products with no greater than 500 milligrams of THC, and five grams of cannabis concentrate.
Patients approved to purchase medical marijuana are allowed to buy marijuana seeds and grow a maximum of five plants in their homes, so long as plants are hidden from public view.
According to the National Employment Law Project, 72 jurisdictions are set to increase their minimum wage in 2020. The raise will occur in 21 states as well as 26 cities and counties. The new minimum wage will reach or surpass $15 an hour.
Later in the year, four additional states and 23 more cities and counties will raise wages. Fifteen of said cities and counties will also meet or surpass a wage of $15 an hour.
Texting while Driving
A new driving law will take effect in Florida at the start of the new year. Drivers can now receive tickets from law enforcement if they are caught texting while driving. Fines range from $30-$60 depending on the circumstances of the violation.
Starting on February 23rd, Massachusetts drivers will also face legal consequences for texting while driving, and for the general use of phones while driving. Bluetooth and other hands-free forms of cellular communication will still be considered legal.