For new Florida Home Owners, now is the time to file for Florida Homestead Exemption for 2020
As a new Florida Home owner who purchased a Florida home in 2019 and are using it as your primary residence, you should now take the time to file for Florida Homestead Exemption!
In Hernando County, Florida, the Homestead Exemption provides for a reduction in the taxable value of the home by $50,000. Most importantly, it also places a cap on the annual increase in assessed valuation thus protecting home owners from sudden spikes in assessments and consequently property taxes.
Here is an example of the property tax calculation for a home without and with homestead exemption:
1. Without homestead exemption - the property taxes are $1,838.64
2. Here is the property tax calculation for the same home WITH homestead exemption: Property taxes are now $1,183.84 - a substantial savings!
To read more about how the Florida Homestead exemption works, please click on the link "What is Florida Homestead Exemption" .
If you have purchased a home in 2019 and it is your primary residence
in which you have lived in as of January 1, 2020
make sure you have applied for homestead exemption.
The deadline is March 1, don't miss it!
To apply for this beneficial exemption under the Florida Homestead Exemption law and to find out how it applies to your particular situation, please contact your local property appraiser's office.
Home owners in Hernando County, Florida, please contact the Hernando County Property Appraisers office at 352-754-4190 or visit them at one of their two locations either at
20 N Main Street, Brooksville, Florida
in the Forest Oaks Government Center in Spring Hill, Florida, 7525 Forest Oaks Blvd