Book Recommendation: The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles

By
Real Estate Agent with Realty Group Referrals 16766

Book Recommendation: The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles

Dolores and I enjoyed reading The Paris Library (2021) by Janet Skeslien Charles and recommend it for your reading list. Click on the links to learn more about the author and this novel, a work of historical fiction.

Janet Skeslien Charles

Janet Skeslien Charles divides her time between Paris and Montana. She enjoys reading, traveling, and spending time with family.

The backdrop of her debut novel MOONLIGHT IN ODESSA is the booming business of email-order brides, an industry where love and marriage meet sex and commerce.

Her second novel THE PARIS LIBRARY is based on the true story of the courageous librarians at the American Library in Paris during World War II. Janet learned about the story when she worked at the Library. Goodreads

Goodreads Review of The Paris Library

Based on the true World War II story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris, this is an unforgettable story of romance, friendship, family, and the power of literature to bring us together, perfect for fans of The Lilac Girls and The Paris Wife.

Paris, 1939: Young and ambitious Odile Souchet has it all: her handsome police officer beau and a dream job at the American Library in Paris. When the Nazis march into Paris, Odile stands to lose everything she holds dear, including her beloved library. Together with her fellow librarians, Odile joins the Resistance with the best weapons she has: books. But when the war finally ends, instead of freedom, Odile tastes the bitter sting of unspeakable betrayal.

Montana, 1983: Lily is a lonely teenager looking for adventure in small-town Montana. Her interest is piqued by her solitary, elderly neighbor. As Lily uncovers more about her neighbor’s mysterious past, she finds that they share a love of language, the same longings, and the same intense jealousy, never suspecting that a dark secret from the past connects them.

A powerful novel that explores the consequences of our choices and the relationships that make us who we are—family, friends, and favorite authors—The Paris Library shows that extraordinary heroism can sometimes be found in the quietest of places.

The-Paris-Library.png

 

Dahlia

Canon PowerShot G11 Camera

Photograph by Roy Kelley 

Roy and Dolores Kelley Photographs

Posted by

Roy Kelley, Associate Broker

Realty Group Referrals (Retired from RE/MAX Realty Group)

6 Montgomery Village Ave., Suite 200, Gaithersburg, MD 20879

Office:  301-258-7757 

Comments (17)

Patricia Feager, MBA, CRS, GRI,MRP
DFW FINE PROPERTIES - Flower Mound, TX
Selling Homes Changing Lives

Janet Skeslien Charles is an awesome writer and speaker. I have that book and loved it! I heard her speak and she is so smart and intelligent! She's a great person and author.

Dec 21, 2021 04:26 AM
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Good morning Roy. Thanks to you in 2020 I read over 100 fiction books. In 2021 went non-fictional and maybe 40 books. My current challenge is 996 pages and not easy reading. What will 2022 bring? Enjoy your day.

Dec 21, 2021 04:31 AM
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Hello Roy - not only am I impressed that you and Dolores share a passion for reading and enjoy many of the same books but that many AR members do as well.  Over the years, I have enjoyed seeing your thoughts on books and glad to see that you are once again sharing them on a regular basis after a bit of a respite.  

Dec 21, 2021 05:21 AM
Norma J. Elkins
Elite Realty Group - Morristown, TN
Realtor - Elkins Home Selling Team

I am always looking for new books to read.  I will definitely add this one to my list.  Hope you have a fabulous day!

Dec 21, 2021 05:24 AM
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

I hope you will read and enjoy this excellent book.

Dec 21, 2021 05:25 AM
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

Good morning, Roy... I've read both Lilac Girls and Paris Wife... so looking forward to reading this one. Saw it at BJ's when I was shopping there the other day, but then forgot to circle back and pick it up.

Dec 21, 2021 05:46 AM
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

Nina Hollander, Broker 

This book should be available at your local library.

Dec 21, 2021 05:48 AM
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

Hi Roy... I'm sure the book is at my local library... but if I wait for time to go there I'll never get there. I'll buy it on discount at BJ's and when done will send it to our daughter, who will then pass it on to someone else once she's read it.

Dec 21, 2021 06:12 AM
Lawrence "Larry" & Sheila Agranoff. Cell: 631-805-4400
The Top Team @ Charles Rutenberg Realty 255 Executive Dr, Plainview NY 11803 - Plainview, NY
Long Island Condo and Home Specialists

Roy, Always like to see the books that you and Chef Delores recommend from your reading list.

Dec 21, 2021 06:13 AM
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Roy,

I just finished reading it, and I enjoyed it.  It was Patricia Feager, MBA, CRS, GRI,MRP who initially mentioned it in a comment here.  Happy Tuesday.  A

Dec 21, 2021 06:13 AM
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

Roy, you do read a lot of books from many different authors.   I just want to finish the one I started on vacation!  

Dec 21, 2021 06:21 AM
Bill Salvatore - East Valley
Arizona Elite Properties - Chandler, AZ
Realtor - 602-999-0952 / em: golfArizona@cox.net

Sounds wonderful.  I am a huge history buff, especially WW2. Thank you for sharing have a productive TACO Tuesday. bill

Dec 21, 2021 06:26 AM
Myrl Jeffcoat
Sacramento, CA
Greater Sacramento Realtor - Retired

"The Paris Library" sounds like a great read for those who enjoy historical fiction, Roy.

Dec 21, 2021 04:50 PM
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

Thank you very much for your comments. It is always good to hear from you.

Dec 22, 2021 03:41 AM