This building was built in 1857 and was the home of the Wiltwyck Fire Station. In 1981 it was listed in the National Register of Historic Places.
In 1982 this building became the Volunteer Firemen's Hall and Museum. This is a meeting place for volunteer firemen in the area and the purpose of the museum is to preserve fire related equipment and paperwork.
In the museum can be viewed a parlor with ornate furniture from the 1800's as well as a player piano which was a common piece of furniture in fire house parlours. Other items found here are:documents, badges from conventions, working fire alarms and carriages.
The unique building is located in the Stockade district of historic Kingston.
Tours are available from April to October
Other historic Kingston blogs:
Jennifer Fivelsdal - JFIVE HOMES REALTY LLC - 845-758-6842- email@example.com