This 316-acre day-use park has 3,000 feet of freshwater shoreline on Lake Washington. It was once a Catholic seminary, the buildings are still there but most of them are in sad shape. The park has a rich history best seen in its grounds and architecture. This park has it all, picnicking, hiking, soccer, mountain biking, fishing, bicycling, swimming, bird watching, softball, horse trails, and a fantastic playground. Additional details and driving directions are on the Washington Parks website.
One thing to keep in mind, parking is not free. By a parking permit here.
History of the park from the City of Kenmore website:
In the late 1920's the land for Saint Edward Seminary was donated by Bishop O'Dea to the Diocese of Seattle for use by the Sulpicain Order of Catholic Priests. In 1931 Saint Edward Seminary was constructed. In 1956 the ground breaking ceremony took place for a new Saint Thomas Seminary designed by architect John Maloney. The Rev. Thomas A. Connolly had contributed many ideas in the initial design that had a major impact on the project. The Seminary was completed in 1958 and became a school for theology and collegiate students. In 1977, because of declining enrollment and changes in the education of seminarians, the diocese sold 316 acres, including Saint Edward Seminary to the state of Washington for use as a state park. In 1978, the property was dedicated and received its current name, Saint Edward State Park. Saint Thomas Seminary which is just adjacent to Saint Edward park was renamed Saint Thomas Center and became a full-time conference center. Saint Thomas Center is now leased to Bastyr University from the Catholic Archdiocese of Seattle and is no longer used by the church. Due it it's superb acoustics, the 5 story main chapel has become one of the premiere film scoring stages in the US.