John Helmick, Realtor Personal Growth/Success Coach (John Helmick Success & Ohio Property Inspection Services)

Spam prevention
Ambassador
1,620,079
Alan May
Coldwell Banker Residential - Evanston, IL
Helping you find your way home.

As a buyer's agent, I always attend.  I like to be there to hear the inspector's explanation so that I can speak intelligently when I help the buyers format their inspection requests.

Feb 14, 2015 11:06 PM
Rainmaker
455,606
Eva Aliaga
Keller Williams Realty Boca Raton IdealFloridaLiving.com - Boca Raton, FL
Boca Raton & Delray Beach: SE Florida Real Estate

When working with buyers I do attend, expect for last one - I was out of town. As for listings, is seller request, but I stay out of way of inspector. 

Feb 14, 2015 04:06 PM
Ambassador
3,041,752
Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®, CRS
RE/MAX Northwest. - Tacoma, WA
Tacoma Washington Agent/Broker & Market Authority!

I attend all my Buyers home inspections and most of the Sellers by request of the Seller. Several Sellers don't like people crawling around their houses without their representative being there John Helmick.   

Feb 14, 2015 02:52 PM
Rainer
279,248
Dipti Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
On a team with Praful Thakkar

With buyers, Praful does go.

Jun 23, 2018 10:28 PM
Rainmaker
356,075
Bill Dandridge
Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices YSU - Durham, NC
GREEN, ABR, GRI, EcoBroker

As a buyer's agent I am ALWAYS there. It is very rare, as a seller's agent, to be present at the inspection.

Feb 15, 2015 12:18 PM
Rainmaker
1,675,306
Larry Johnston
Broker, Friends & Neighbors Real Estate and Elkhart County Subdivisions, LLC - Elkhart, IN
Broker,Friends & Neighbors Real Estate, Elkhart,IN

Many of our buyers want to be there for the inspection, so we try to be there with them.

Feb 15, 2015 10:59 AM
Rainmaker
692,112
Richard Bazinet /MBA, CRS, ABR
WestUSA Realty - Scottsdale, AZ
Phoenix Scottsdale. Sellers, Buyers & Relocations

Good question John Helmick . As a listing agent, never. As a buyer-agent, always in the last 30 minutes for the inspection for the oral report/presentation.

Feb 14, 2015 11:28 PM
Rainer
112,567
Vera Gonzalez
RE/MAX Suburban, Inc. - Sterling Heights, MI
Gonzo For Real Estate

I always attend home inspection for buyers side. 

Feb 14, 2015 10:59 PM
Ambassador
3,981,938
Debbie Reynolds
Platinum Properties - Clarksville, TN
Your Dedicated Clarksville TN Real Estate Agent

I generally do not attend. We are a small community and know the inspectors. I do recommend the buyer show up at the end and I will too. My sellers are comfortable without me being there to watch.

Feb 14, 2015 10:32 PM
Rainmaker
2,940,631
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of Manchester NH's Leading Agents

As a listing agent i attend every inspection. Knowing 1st hand what is said or foound is priceless info. As a buyer broker i attend every inspection to know first hand what my buyer should be concerned with. 

Feb 14, 2015 09:56 PM
Rainer
200,126
Richard Robibero, ABR, SRS
Panorama R.E. Limited - Toronto, ON
Selling Your Home as if it were My Own!

As mentioned by others. I always attend Buyer's inspections. As lsiting agent, sometimes.

Feb 14, 2015 09:45 PM
Rainmaker
4,431,972
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

I always attend home inspections.

Feb 14, 2015 08:59 PM
Rainmaker
2,971,618
Nina Hollander
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

I virtually never attend inspections. These days inspectors turn the reports around within 24 hours with great pictures for my buyers so no need to "watch paint dry" during the actual inspection. My inspectors do know, however, that if they come across something truly significant they should call me before issuing their report. Very few of my buyers attend inspections these days.

Feb 14, 2015 08:53 PM
Rainer
500,838
Sham Reddy CRS
H E R Realty, Dayton, OH - Dayton, OH
CRS

As a listing agent never.  As a buyer agent, try not to be anywhere near the inspections.  That only increases the odds that your notice something and have to disclose.  Besides what are you doing at inspections anyways.  You are no expert on inspections.  Let the inspector deal with the buyers directly and address any issues they have a concern on the post inspection agreements

Feb 14, 2015 08:26 PM
Rainmaker
4,796,451
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

Unless requested by the buyers or sellers, I will open the home and meet the inspector and will come back at the conclusion for a verbal report of the issues he or she has found.

Feb 14, 2015 08:19 PM
Rainmaker
423,906
Tom Bailey
Margaret Rudd & Associates Inc. - Oak Island, NC

I attend without exception as the buyer's agent, and almost always for the sellers.

Feb 14, 2015 07:09 PM
Rainmaker
530,069
Jon Quist
REALTY EXECUTIVES TUCSON ELITE - Tucson, AZ
Tucson's BUYERS ONLY Realtor since 1996

I have always attended all my buyer's inspections. I don't see how an agent could not attend, and be doing their job.

Feb 14, 2015 04:13 PM
Ambassador
4,298,221
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

I am not sure about others but I prefer to and make it apointe to attend the home inspections, John Helmick 

Feb 14, 2015 01:52 PM
Rainmaker
534,321
John Mosier
Realty ONE Group Mountain Desert - Prescott, AZ
Prescott's Patriot Agent 928 533-8142

The Buyers pay for the inspection. I like to be there when the inspection takes place so I am informed of what the inspector finds. I want to be there in order to protect my Buyer's interest.

As a listing specialist, I would not expect to be there as the inspection is done in order to make sure neither Buyer nor Seller is surprised. The Buyer is entitled to a good inspection without any influence from the Seller or the Sellers' Agent.

We are not allowed to influence an Appraiser, nor should we try to influence an inspector.

Feb 14, 2015 01:44 PM
Rainmaker
3,977,611
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

I try to attend no matter if I am the listing agent or buyers.

Feb 14, 2015 12:43 PM
Rainmaker
350,943
Jill Murty, Realtor - Orange County, CA
PREA Realty - Laguna Niguel, CA

When I'm representing a buyer, I'm always there.  

As a listing agent, I'm there only with the consent of the buyers and their agent.  

On occasion, I've had buyer's agents ask me to be there if they can't make it or if the buyer's agent is completely lazy and doesn't want to bother.

Feb 14, 2015 12:31 PM
Rainmaker
2,394,715
Evelyn Johnston
Friends & Neighbors Real Estate - Elkhart, IN
The People You Know, Like and Trust!

I attend when my Client request me to attend.  If they don't I don't go unless there are other issues.

Feb 14, 2015 12:11 PM
Rainmaker
633,936
Kathleen Luiten
Resort and Second-Home Specialist - Princeville, HI
Kauai Luxury Ocean Home Sales

I almost always show up no matter which side of the transaction I represent.

Feb 14, 2015 10:24 AM
Rainer
6,072
Alicia Lopez
Coldwell Banker Solomom R.E. Group, Inc. - Kissimmee, FL
Lic. Real Estate Sales Associate

I attend as a listing agent.

Feb 14, 2015 09:48 AM
Ambassador
1,962,843
Silvia Dukes PA, Broker Associate, CRS, CIPS, SRES
Tropic Shores Realty - Ich spreche Deutsch! - Spring Hill, FL
Florida Waterfront and Country Club Living

I don't normally attend as listing agent but I do as buyers agent especially when the buyers want to be there.  When buyers are not able to be present, I meet with the inspector toward the end of the inspection to find out what he found.

Feb 14, 2015 09:27 AM
Rainmaker
305,039
Cindy Davis
SD Home Source Realty - San Diego, CA

When acting as a buyer's agent, I ALWAYS attend my buyer's home inspection. No exceptions.

Feb 14, 2015 09:12 AM
Rainmaker
629,063
Ajay Pandya
e-Merge Real Estate - Columbus, OH
Realtor Ajay Pandya

I am less likely to attend the home inspection for my listings from other buyer's agent.

Feb 10, 2018 09:57 PM
Rainmaker
3,049,771
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
BVO Luxury Group @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty - Scottsdale, AZ
Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ

Listing Agent - No

Buyer's Agent - Yes

Jun 15, 2017 07:14 AM
Rainer
26,202
John Helmick
John Helmick Success & Ohio Property Inspection Services - Dayton, OH
Realtor Personal Growth/Success Coach

These are all GREAT answers!  Love it!

Feb 15, 2015 12:48 AM