Paul S.  Henderson, REALTOR®, CRS, Tacoma Washington Agent/Broker & Market Authority! (RE/MAX Northwest.)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
5,272,062
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

I quickly climbed over a fence after encountering a big dog.

Apr 21, 2015 03:23 AM
Rainmaker
4,323,202
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Paul,

Your story is funny, those racoons are mischief makers no doubt about that.  The only time I had a near scare, was when I was showing a building to a former Dodger player who wanted to establish a new business.  I opened the door and music was on, a Christmas tree on its side in the next room and a hot plate.  It was clear someone had moved in.  I was glad to have this strong looking man next to me.  Called the owner and they got rid of the stuff, a homeless man had moved in and stolen a Christmas tree from an adjoining lot. A

Apr 21, 2015 06:38 AM
Rainmaker
175,264
Spirit Messingham
Tierra Antigua Realty - Tucson, AZ
Third Generation Full-Time Realtor® 520 471-6900

No, not scared.  I walked in on some vagrants on a REO, told them they needed to leave and walked them out.  I am 6'3 and 195LBS, I go in first when I show properties and that is why.  :)

Apr 21, 2015 04:15 AM
Rainmaker
2,765,939
Kathleen Daniels
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
San Jose Homes for Sale-Probate & Trust Specialist

I was previewing homes alone.  I opened the door and yelled inside to alert anyone that might be inside.  I cannot explain it.  I stepped one foot inside the door and decided it did not feel right ... and I stepped out and left.  It was just a gut feeling I had and I went with it.

Apr 21, 2015 11:19 AM
Rainmaker
2,394,765
Evelyn Johnston
Friends & Neighbors Real Estate - Elkhart, IN
The People You Know, Like and Trust!

I can't say I was really scared, but I was uncomfortable and nervous.  I said I needed to get something out of my vehicle and climbed in, locked the doors and drove off.  Sent that home owner a letter saying I could not represent him.

Apr 21, 2015 10:59 AM
Rainmaker
3,247,802
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Hi Paul -- maybe I'm just a wuss but I've been frightened more than once.

  • The naked guy buttering his bagel when I went to a house during broker preview
  • The ghostly guy who answered the door at a vacant house I was showing clients
  • The REO home that had been overtaken by intruders who seemed to be using it for a drug den and/or brothel

And then the next time some really frightening experiences....

 

Apr 21, 2015 10:17 AM
Rainmaker
291,517
Jack Lewitz
IL Real Estate Specialists - Evanston, IL

I almost peers in my pants but realized there were no bathrooms working in the house😁so I grined and bared it

Apr 21, 2015 08:49 AM
Rainmaker
437,598
Marie Story
Coldwell Banker - Pinecrest (Miami) - Pinecrest, FL
Broker Associate, Pinecrest (Miami) Specialist

18 years and have never been scared or have felt in danger - thank you LORD!

Apr 21, 2015 07:44 AM
Rainmaker
2,833,622
James Dray
Fathom Realty - Bentonville, AR
Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results

In my former profession I learned not to go somewhere where I did not feel safe.  So far I haven't experienced that issue

Apr 21, 2015 07:28 AM
Rainmaker
315,481
Robert Smith
Preview Properties, PC - http://www.RealEstateMich.com - Brighton, MI
SRES, Search for Homes Brighton-Howell-SE Michigan

Showing an REO. Upper/lower - bottom unit OK. Door to upper broken. Quietly went in with my big mag lite, found an OD victim (thought it was a pile of rags).  Big burn hole in roof with tarp over it. Apparently had started a fire to keep warm!

Crazy, crazy stuff. Called the cops and the listing agent, sent the buyers away. Just north of downtown in a major central city.  

Apr 21, 2015 07:20 AM
Ambassador
1,615,029
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

I was doing a market analysis in a poor neighborhood for a home that was supposed to be empty but I always approach cautiously. I looked in and there were squatters so I went immediately to the car. It can also be a good idea to walk around the back with the gate open for quick exit.

Apr 21, 2015 07:00 AM
Rainmaker
4,796,557
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

I've heard some noises in homes that have alarmed me.  And, in those cases I made a steady retreat out the door and left.

Apr 21, 2015 06:26 AM
Rainmaker
984,748
Kevin J. May
Florida Supreme Realty - Hobe Sound, FL
Serving the Treasure & Paradise Coasts of Florida

A late showing after dark brought me a huge adrenaline rush. No lights were on and as I progressed through the home to light some, the silhouettes of 2 Doberman Pinschers appeared. We all stood still as statues and luckily that's exactly what they turned out to be. They were completely black but I temporarily became porcelain white you could say.   

Apr 21, 2015 06:17 AM
Rainmaker
305,939
Cindy Davis
SD Home Source Realty - San Diego, CA

I haven't been really scared but did find a homeless person squatting in a forecloxse listing once. We just got out of there.

Apr 21, 2015 04:25 AM
Rainmaker
745,197
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

Of all the situations we have all encountered, from the vagrant living in the garage to the crazy dude babbling hatred in the street, the one that left me feeling exposed to emanate danger sounds much more innocent.

The house had been vacant, abandoned. Over grown. A boardwalk conveniently guided us to the front door. As we approached, our foot steps disturbed the wooden planks of the walkway and snakes exploded from beneath going left and right into the brambles. That wasn't so scary but certainly exciting. We get to the door and peer into the window. The floor is gone! Well, it was priced accordingly.

As we turn 180 to head out, at midpoint of the board walk is a cloud of honey bee's had formed, clearly very unhappy. Knowing what lays immediately in front, and what we knew was in the grass, created a moment of "Will it ever end?" thought of exasperation. We did enter the house, and existed via the garage door.

The real fear set in when I realized all the things that COULD have gone wrong!

Apr 21, 2015 03:36 AM
Rainer
26,764
Beatrice Briseno
RE/MAX Unlimited - San Antonio, TX
Beatrice M. Briseno, GRI, CDPE, San Antonio, TX

One of my agents was showing a home that was tenant occupied. The tenant answered her door knock with a handgun tucked in the front of his pants! 

Apr 21, 2015 03:23 AM
Rainmaker
4,877,883
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Franklin, MA
Marketing Agent for The Todaro Team

if I even thought that a situation was frightening or could be frightening, there would not be a preview or showing.... I won't ask for trouble.....

Apr 21, 2015 03:17 AM
Rainmaker
773,300
Bruce Walter
Keller Williams Realty Lafayette/West Lafayette, Indiana - West Lafayette, IN

Paul, we had a showing scheduled on a foreclosure where the tenant was squatting as the owner walked away and no longer collected rent.  We were pulling up for a showing and they were still home and the male was on the front yard screaming at the top of his lungs so we just drove on.

Apr 22, 2015 08:05 AM
Rainer
62,213
Evelyn M Epperson
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Johns Creek, GA
A Tradition Of [Excellence, Trust & Service]

Yes I was in model home and a person came in asking about a home.  He wanted to point out the house throught the window.  I was a rookie at this time.  He pushed me up against the window and I screamed.  I was very lucky as the builder was in the basement and came running.  They guy ran out of the model and got in his car.  We did not get his license plate.  I have learned not to turn my back on anyone after that.

Apr 22, 2015 02:44 AM
Rainer
31,000
Julia van Mook
Coldwell Banker Real Estate Services - Pittsburgh, PA

Walked into my vacant listing yesterday to find it totally destroyed & clearly someone had been squatting in it.  

I've also walked into a showing once only to hear a squatter rushing to get out the back door.  

Apr 22, 2015 01:05 AM
Rainer
200,626
Richard Robibero, ABR, SRS
Panorama R.E. Limited - Toronto, ON
Selling Your Home as if it were My Own!

Not in the traditional sense. I've been in places that I'm sure were infested with "something" and just wanting to leave the place because my skin was crawling.

Apr 21, 2015 09:41 PM
Rainmaker
2,982,593
Nina Hollander
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

Thankfully, I've not come across this situation, but I suppose there will always be a first time. You did the right thing.

Apr 21, 2015 09:29 PM
Rainmaker
1,649,888
Lise Howe
Keller Williams Capital Properties - Washington, DC
Assoc. Broker and Attorney Licensed in DC, MD, VA,

I recently did a walk through with a client who had become increasingly erratic and unreasonable. I tried to get one of the guys on my team to go with me because it was about 45 minutes from home, a 3 acre property, lots of woods, and after dark. Her husband was there too and he is really off the wall. He yelled at me and cursed at me and generally was out of control. I was pretty angry at having to do that by myself.  The only good that came of it was that I went next door to talk to the neighbors about moving a car that was parked slightly on the property we were about to go to settlement on. They had heard the buyer's husband yelling at me in the front yard and ended up listing their home with me and buying a new one with us too. 

Apr 21, 2015 02:26 PM
Ambassador
3,981,968
Debbie Reynolds
Platinum Properties - Clarksville, TN
Your Dedicated Clarksville TN Real Estate Agent

I was shaken when I walked in on a squatter sleeping in the back bedroom of a vacant house. I backed out of the door and told the fellow to gather his things and leave by the back door. I would wait in the front yard with my client and in five minutes if he wasn't gone I would call the police. He left, then I showed the house and made sure all doors were locked. I was scared but tried to remain calm and not show it.

Apr 21, 2015 01:47 PM
Rainmaker
4,026,783
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

It can be scary previewing homes especially if they are vacant.   I would have RAN to my car.

Apr 21, 2015 12:36 PM
Ambassador
1,769,715
Noah Seidenberg
Coldwell Banker - Evanston, IL
Chicagoland and Suburbs (800) 858-7917

I was doing a CMA on property in the most dangerous neighborhood in the South side of Chicago last Summer from a lead I got from a member of AR and an investor. I went at 7:00 AM because I thought the bad people would still be asleep. I still had my Range Rover then and when I pulled up there were cars jammed in the street and a couple of guys started fighting with each other over approaching my car. When the bigger one won he came up to me and said "What you need". I said I am just a Realtor and he said Sheeeeeeeeeeet. I left pretty fast.

I am done with that scene.

Apr 21, 2015 12:20 PM