Spam prevention
Rainmaker
5,262,104
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

The buyers own the inspection report. If they request repairs, they would be expected to provide the supporting information.

May 02, 2015 04:30 AM
Rainmaker
3,238,674
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Hi Kristin -- "expect" hmmm --- I typically receive the inspection report from the selling agent but if there are no requests made that reference the inspection report I guess there is no reason to "expect" it --- it's for the buyers' use and they have paid for it.  

Of course, if there is a discussion involving a credit, price reduction or repair/corrective issues to be addressed I would "expect"(kindly stated) that it be accompanied by the report.   

May 02, 2015 02:41 AM
Rainmaker
506,933
Dan Tabit
Keller Williams Bellevue - Sammamish, WA

Hi Kristin,

Only if they are requesting some work or adjustments. Then I expect to know what and why. Some inspectors call things that are really minor, sometimes the buyer or their agent overstates the cost of repair.  

If they accept the home as is or walk away, I'm always curious, but I don't expect it and may be better off not knowing. 

May 02, 2015 06:47 AM
Rainmaker
4,796,451
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

Not unless they have an issue with something.  In that case I expect to see the inspection report with the inspectors comments.

May 02, 2015 05:19 AM
Rainmaker
1,366,727
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Kristin Hamilton CA Realtor No, the inspection report belongs to the buyers who purchased it. It is up to them, if they want the sellers to see it. Any issues will be addressed in an Addendum to the sellers.

May 02, 2015 04:11 AM
Rainer
19,879
Takia C. Walker
Keller Williams Columbia NE - Columbia, SC
Real Estate

I don't expect it to be shared with me and the sellers because the buyer paid for the report. I only expect the page or pages that the buyer is requesting repairs for. That's just the same if I represent the buyer, I only give the page or pages in reference to repair request.

May 02, 2015 03:25 AM
Rainer
114,151
Penny Brockway
Brockway Realty - League City, TX

I expect the excerpts from the report to be sent to me to support just the repairs they want. In Texas, if the seller receives the entire report and this transaction falls out, then they might need to revise the seller's disclosure if there are material issues in the report.

May 02, 2015 02:59 AM
Rainmaker
2,891,376
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

No.  However many times after the inspection and they want repairs they will provide the report.

May 02, 2015 09:58 PM
Rainmaker
4,431,972
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

If the buyers are requesting repairs I expect to see the report if not they have no obligation to give it to me.

May 02, 2015 09:51 PM
Rainer
60,491
Renee Paray
Coldwell Banker Preferred - Blue Bell, PA
REALTOR

The inspection report is owned by the buyers. However, if they want to request a credit or repair then I expect them to disclose the report so that I can see the home inspectors notes on the repair item. Additionally, I suggest to all sellers to get their own home inspection prior to listing their home so they do not have any surprises come up when they are in crunch time. 

May 02, 2015 08:57 PM
Ambassador
2,758,460
TeamCHI - Complete Home Inspections, Inc.
Complete Home Inspections, Inc. - Brentwood, TN
Home Inspectons - Nashville, TN area - 615.661.029

 No! The home inspection report belongs to the buyers. We have to get permission to send it to the buyers agent. We never share it with the listing agent.

May 02, 2015 08:13 PM
Rainmaker
674,067
Bob Force (REALTOR®)
Weichert - McKenna & Vane - Mount Airy, MD
The FORCE in Maryland Real Estate

If the buyer wishes any repairs based on the home inspection.

May 02, 2015 05:14 PM
Ambassador
4,298,221
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Yes, Kristin Hamilton CA Realtor - if they request some repairs or major cost reduction, I want them to justify that by sharing the details of the home inspection report.

May 02, 2015 02:15 PM
Ambassador
3,981,932
Debbie Reynolds
Platinum Properties - Clarksville, TN
Your Dedicated Clarksville TN Real Estate Agent

If they ask for repair items the seller generally wants to know what they are talking about and wants to see the report. I don't want to see it otherwise.

May 02, 2015 11:10 AM
Rainmaker
2,088
Ruthann Barshop
Tarbell Realtors - Temecula, CA
Integrity You Can Count On

You note that this property is under contract so all the more reason a copy should be given and shared with seller to keep everything on a cooperative basis moving forward.  Moreover, any Request for Repairs should have the pertinent areas of the Inspection report, together with pages indicating who did the report on behalf of the buyer. Was it "uncle John" or a licensed professional.

May 02, 2015 07:46 AM
Rainmaker
4,866,130
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Franklin, MA
Marketing Agent for The Todaro Team

only if there are issues..... the seller didn't pay for the inspection, so unless there's a problem, they don't need to see it.

May 02, 2015 06:23 AM
Rainer
216,215
Bob Publicover
Publicover Realty Group, inc - Stuart, FL
Thinking outside the box

I don't "expect"it. I don't need it. However, if there is an issue that the buyer wants corrected or credit for, Then I WANT that part of the report.

The buyer paid for it, it's theirs. 

May 02, 2015 05:44 AM
Rainmaker
633,936
Kathleen Luiten
Resort and Second-Home Specialist - Princeville, HI
Kauai Luxury Ocean Home Sales

Like Penny Brockway I expect excerpts of the report if repairs or credits are requested.

May 02, 2015 04:03 AM
Ambassador
1,490,716
John McCormack, CRS
Albuquerque Homes Realty - Albuquerque, NM
Honesty, Integrity, Results, Experienced. HIRE Me!

In our area I get the inspection report then share with my sellers.  

May 02, 2015 03:13 AM
Rainmaker
2,825,303
James Dray
Fathom Realty - Bentonville, AR
Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results

No the only thing the sellers needs to know is what (if anything) was reported and what the buyers want fixed. 

May 02, 2015 02:47 AM
Rainmaker
743,017
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

No.

I don't even want to see the report should the buyer seek repairs.

However, such a repair request, without the support of the inspection report, not the summary, will most likely be ignored since the majority of real estate in Florida is sold 'As Is.'

One buyers agent submitted a request for a $3,000 price adjustment with no additional comment or support, they were instructed to 'go pound sand' and then proceeded to sell to same buyer.

 

May 02, 2015 02:47 AM
Rainmaker
629,063
Ajay Pandya
e-Merge Real Estate - Columbus, OH
Realtor Ajay Pandya

Yes.

Aug 02, 2018 11:40 PM
Rainmaker
48,497
Adele Langdon
Los Angeles, CA
Exclusive Realty Inc.

No I just leave it in the hands of the buyers it belongs to them.  If there are repair requests likes others have mentioned then I can let them see those particular pages and or comments.

May 09, 2015 12:16 AM
Rainmaker
698,797
Chris and Dick Dovorany
Homes for Sale in Naples, Bonita Springs and Estero, Florida - Naples, FL
Broker/Associate at Premiere Plus Realty

The sellers did not pay for it.  None of their business.

May 05, 2015 09:56 AM
Rainer
112,567
Vera Gonzalez
RE/MAX Suburban, Inc. - Sterling Heights, MI
Gonzo For Real Estate

I am related to an inspector, each state may have their owns rules.   Here are a couple things you should know, the buyer owns that report. Sending over the report is not the best idea. Copy and paste parts that are relevant. You can open  not only yourself but your buyer and inspector to legal woes. Your seller would also have to disclose everything. Keep in mind that it is an inspectors opinion followed up with have a licensed electrician, etc. I personally have them list on addendum and have in followed up by the expert. 

May 04, 2015 04:12 AM
Ambassador
1,239,839
Kristin Hamilton CA Realtor
Sun Lakes Realty - Banning, CA
(909) 557-6966- Specialize 55+ Communties Banning

Thanks so much for everyone's responses. I have read them all and took it up with the other agent. I was trying to get a hard copy for my seller but the inspector feels the report is copyrighted and if I want a hard copy, I must pay him for it! Thanks for a lot of great information!

May 04, 2015 01:17 AM
Rainer
61,738
Evelyn M Epperson
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Johns Creek, GA
A Tradition Of [Excellence, Trust & Service]

Yes when I submitt and amendment for repairs I will include the inspection report.  So the listing agent can view the photos of the home repair issues.

May 03, 2015 11:11 AM
Rainmaker
1,765,221
John Novak
Keller Williams Realty The Marketplace - Las Vegas, NV
Henderson, Las Vegas and Summerlin Real Estate

The inspection report is for the benefit of the buyer. If they cancel the transaction due to the results of the inspection, they are required to furnish a copy of the report to the seller. For any repairs or concessions, I only ask for the relevant portions of the report.

May 03, 2015 07:29 AM
Rainmaker
3,977,611
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

Only if the buyers claim a problem and I don't believe it.  Then I want to see that proof

May 02, 2015 11:55 PM
Rainmaker
2,971,424
Nina Hollander
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

In North Carolina it isn't presumed that a seller is entitled to the copy of the inspection report. However, if the buyer requests repairs pursuant to the report, they typically do release it to listing agent and sellers so that it's clear what they are looking to have done.

May 02, 2015 11:52 PM
Rainmaker
797,159
Troy Erickson AZ Realtor (602) 295-6807
Good Company Real Estate www.ChandlerRealEstate.weebly.com - Chandler, AZ
Your Chandler, Ahwatukee, and East Valley Realtor

Kristin - I would have to agree with most of the other agents. As the listing agent, I would only need to see parts of the inspection that the buyer wants repaired/fixed, or a price reduction for. Other than that, I don't want to see it.

May 02, 2015 07:35 PM
Rainmaker
2,394,715
Evelyn Johnston
Friends & Neighbors Real Estate - Elkhart, IN
The People You Know, Like and Trust!

No, I don't want to know what it says.  If they ask for repairs I will ask for the appropriate pages only.

May 02, 2015 02:11 PM
Rainmaker
772,245
Bruce Walter
Keller Williams Realty Lafayette/West Lafayette, Indiana - West Lafayette, IN

Kristin, we would need to see the documentation from the report to support any buyer requests for repairs.

May 02, 2015 01:05 PM
Ambassador
906,534
Frank Rubi
Frank Rubi Real Estate, LLC - Metairie, LA
FrankRubiRealEstate.com

Only if there is a issue. I like to see the writing of the inspector. 

May 02, 2015 10:19 AM
Ambassador
1,962,828
Silvia Dukes PA, Broker Associate, CRS, CIPS, SRES
Tropic Shores Realty - Ich spreche Deutsch! - Spring Hill, FL
Florida Waterfront and Country Club Living

Kristin, I prefer not to see it at all because that would mean the buyers are happy with the house and are not requesting any repairs. 

May 02, 2015 09:35 AM
Rainer
367,602
Raoul Loustaunau
REALTY ONE GROUP - Phoenix, AZ
urhomefinder.com myvaluetoday.com

if it does come clean i never get it; if it has problems i get it or requested

great question , have a great day

May 02, 2015 09:34 AM
Rainmaker
2,230,891
Joe Petrowsky
Mortgage Consultant, Right Trac Financial Group, Inc. NMLS # 2709 - Manchester, CT
Your Mortgage Consultant for Life

Love the topic, common sense tells me the report should be shared, especially if there are any demands for repairs or price adjustment.

Make it a great weekend!

May 02, 2015 09:18 AM
Rainmaker
983,658
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

yes. communication is very important.

May 02, 2015 07:12 AM
Rainmaker
356,075
Bill Dandridge
Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices YSU - Durham, NC
GREEN, ABR, GRI, EcoBroker

If there are any repairs beign requested, then yes, I would expect to at least see a summary of the report.

May 02, 2015 05:53 AM
Ambassador
1,610,817
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

We always receive the inspection report. If it is not received in 15 days from contract date the home becomes as is automatically.

May 02, 2015 04:44 AM