Silvia Dukes PA, Broker Associate, CRS, CIPS, SRES, Florida Waterfront and Country Club Living (Tropic Shores Realty - Ich spreche Deutsch!)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
4,322,811
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Silvia,

This was something that was being done a few years ago to increase one's SEO, and add pages to their website.  It was like a review of  a home that was previewed and covered a part of the home that was not mentioned by the listing agent.  This method worked, and I know that the listing agents were not happy about it.  I know that it is not your intention to do so.  

What is your intention in doing that?  In a sense all agents have the same inventory available for a visitor to view via the IDX,  Would the listing agent be upset that you are in a sense showing that you can do better?  I think you may be going down a slippery slope here...I cannot speak to your marketplace, because, I have not been there.  In other places, I think it would create bad feelings.  A

 

Nov 05, 2015 11:45 AM
Rainmaker
845,955
Marco Giancola
Beachfront Realty - Miami Beach, FL
Realtor (305)608-1922, Miami Beach Florida

I call it showcasing. When a new spectacular condo tower is announced I like to keep the excitement going with my two cents. My intention is to show the world that Miami and the Beaches offers many different lifestyles and choices.

Nov 05, 2015 07:15 PM
Ambassador
2,851,042
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

In Georgia it is a definite violation. IDX is the only way to share if it is not a listing within your brokerage and you don't have the broker's permission.  GA law requires written authority from the owner to advertise.

Nov 05, 2015 12:23 PM
Rainmaker
3,049,971
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
BVO Luxury Group @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty - Scottsdale, AZ
Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ

Not without permission from the agent AND the Seller.

Nov 08, 2015 11:41 PM
Ambassador
1,892,884
Cindy Jones
Integrity Real Estate Group - Woodbridge, VA
Pentagon, Fort Belvoir & Quantico Real Estate News

 In our listing agreements there is a box the seller can check which asks whether they give permission for blogging or unedited comments.  If they checked NO then you can't say anything about their home on line.  If you are in an area where that isn't in the listing agreement then the listing agent should be checking with their seller first.  Recently saw a post about a home in our area where the agent took their own photos.  They were horrible.  Yet the listing agent had beautiful professional photos.  If I was the seller I would be livid and I doubt seriously the listing agent gave the okay.

Nov 07, 2015 01:59 AM
Rainer
302,079
Melissa Jackson
Citiwide Alliance Realty - Weatherford, TX
Helping You Make The Right Move

I will take my own photos and share the excitement on facebook and my blog.  My broker says to write it as if we just previewed or showed the property and wanted to share.  I don't give address or listing agent info. But I do make it clear it's not my listing. 

Nov 06, 2015 11:59 AM
Rainmaker
4,026,771
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

In Denver we have to have permission from the listing agent, and still must use our own photos.  The only exception would be HUD properties.  

Nov 06, 2015 08:23 AM
Rainmaker
1,157,264
FN LN
Toronto, ON

In my area, if the listing is an MLS listing, the listing brokerage needs to provide permission in order to advertise a listing.  A blog post would be considered advertising.

Nov 06, 2015 07:10 AM
Rainmaker
725,370
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

I had a similar question and asked our MLS about it. The answer was it would be a violation without the permission of the Listing Agent. That agent, in turn, might need the permission of the homeowner.

Nov 06, 2015 04:29 AM
Rainmaker
1,367,627
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Silvia Dukes PA, REALTOR, CRS, CIPS, SRES I would ask for the listing agent's approval first.

Nov 06, 2015 12:26 AM
Rainmaker
4,432,093
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

I would not like an agent to post pictures of my house if the agent showed it. I believe you would need the seller's permission. It should not appear that you are making the listing agent look bad either. I would just not do it. 

Nov 05, 2015 09:39 PM
Rainmaker
1,274,389
Wayne and Jean Marie Zuhl
Samsel & Associates - Clark, NJ
The Last Names You'll Ever Need in Real Estate

Our broker has advised us not to do this except in the case when the listing agent has given us permission. 

Nov 05, 2015 09:08 PM
Rainmaker
745,197
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

What is REQUIRED is giving proper identification of the listing agent and brokerage.  The listing agents with whom I have talked NEVER discouraged me from blogging about the real estate they have listed. Most even say, take the pics from the website.

Now, I try to keep the content in the blog about another agents listing evergreen by not using words like FOR SALE of including a price. I close with a privilege and services CTA then call it a day.

Nov 05, 2015 08:53 PM
Rainmaker
1,649,827
Lise Howe
Keller Williams Capital Properties - Washington, DC
Assoc. Broker and Attorney Licensed in DC, MD, VA,

Great question - I loved reading everyone's answers. I agree with Marco Giancola but everyone brings great points to the topic. 

Nov 05, 2015 07:43 PM
Rainmaker
2,233,582
Joe Petrowsky
Mortgage Consultant, Right Trac Financial Group, Inc. NMLS # 2709 - Manchester, CT
Your Mortgage Consultant for Life

Good morning Silvia. I wouldn't do it if these properties are listed, it just doesn't seem like the right thing to do.

Nov 05, 2015 05:31 PM
Rainer
68,595
Sandra Graves
Keller Williams Realty - Folsom, CA
Realtor

I asked a similar question to an instructor this week. Her answer was, talk about anything that has been sold, but nothing that is active or pending that is not your listing. I decided I'll take her advice.

Nov 05, 2015 02:58 PM
Rainmaker
536,476
Mark Don McInnes, Sandpoint
Sandpoint, ID
North Idaho Real Estate - 208-255.6227

Without reading the other answers yet I am guessing / strongly suggesting you would want the listing agents written approval prior to doing so.  Mark

Nov 05, 2015 11:50 AM
Ambassador
3,673,547
Patricia Kennedy
RLAH Real Estate - Washington, DC
Home in the Capital

Sometimes I do that, but only if the listing agent says OK.  And I haven't had one say no.

Nov 05, 2015 11:49 AM
Rainmaker
1,212,994
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
www.HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

On one hand I think this is good exposure, but on the other hand I wouldn't want someone else getting the buyer lead or the up call on it.  I would recommend asking the listing agent first (some get very angry out here about their listings being advertised by someone else).  Me, I'm going to go with "No" as my answer if asked, unless I get the assurance (in writing) that links to my site will be included and I will be listed as the listing agent and any and all leads go to me.

 

Now with that said, Cindy Davis has a great point.  I know from a disaster worker perspective my training has been you cannot talk about the incident but you can talk about your experiences (there are more restrictions than that, but you get the general idea).  Don't list the address, don't market the house, just talk about your experience and you should be fine.

Nov 05, 2015 11:31 AM
Ambassador
1,615,029
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

I don't mind helping in this way, I just would not want to go negative on a review.

Nov 05, 2015 11:31 AM
Rainmaker
1,523,566
Sybil Campbell
Long and Foster REALTORS® 5234 Monticello Ave Williamsburg, Virginia - Williamsburg, VA
REALTOR® ABR, SFR, SRES Williamsburg, Virginia

I'm so glad you asked this as I have wondered the same thing.

Nov 05, 2015 11:31 AM
Rainmaker
1,281,263
Carol Williams
Although I'm retired, I love sharing my knowledge and learning from other real estate industry professionals. - Wenatchee, WA
Retired Agent / Broker / Property Manager

I think you should ask the listing agent.  I can't imagine them objecting if ask upfront.  They may, however, object if they find out through other sources.  Be sure to make proper disclosures.  Think of how you would want someone to treat you and your listing.  

Nov 05, 2015 11:12 AM
Ambassador
1,769,715
Noah Seidenberg
Coldwell Banker - Evanston, IL
Chicagoland and Suburbs (800) 858-7917

Sure why not Silvia, you may end up as the seller through the blog. Other peoples listings appear on my web sites.

Nov 05, 2015 11:10 AM
Ambassador
4,066,225
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams Fox Cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

I cant imagine why a Good listing agent would object to this, anything to improve the saleability of their listing.

Nov 05, 2015 10:31 AM
Rainmaker
2,394,765
Evelyn Johnston
Friends & Neighbors Real Estate - Elkhart, IN
The People You Know, Like and Trust!

I don't think you could give the address, but you could talk about a 3 bed two bath home with special fetures in a particular school district.  

Nov 05, 2015 09:56 AM
Ambassador
2,301,677
Belinda Spillman
Aspen Lane Real Estate Colorful Colorado - Aurora, CO
Colorado Living!

I read something where we should put a disclaimer at the bottom where we state that we are not the listing agent for that property.  Small print is OK.

Nov 05, 2015 09:56 AM
Rainmaker
305,939
Cindy Davis
SD Home Source Realty - San Diego, CA

I've wondered the same thing. I suspect that if you keep your comments limited to your own experience and don't provide a link...(or address) that you would be ok.  

 

When in doubt though, you could always ask the listing agent...who wouldn't like a little extra exposure for their listing?

Nov 05, 2015 09:56 AM
Ambassador
1,963,918
Silvia Dukes PA, Broker Associate, CRS, CIPS, SRES
Tropic Shores Realty - Ich spreche Deutsch! - Spring Hill, FL
Florida Waterfront and Country Club Living

Thank you everyone for your comments and input.  My initial question was a bit unclear as I hadn't actually intended to "pitch" a listing but just write about an experience.  Nevertheless, I am glad I asked and you answered. If i write a post, it will be addressing some other aspects of the experience I just had without mentioning specific properties.

Nov 05, 2015 07:41 PM