Spam prevention
Rainmaker
2,940,590
Nina Hollander
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

100% of the time and two times--once before drywall and then again prior to final walk.

Mar 01, 2016 09:39 PM
Rainmaker
1,513,263
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Geneva Financial, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

Positively YES!!!

Mar 01, 2016 08:35 PM
Rainmaker
2,926,756
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of Manchester NH's Leading Agents

Most definately, i have and the results were scary such as vent hoses from the bathroom fans ending in the attic. Then there was the deck not actually attached to the home correctly

Mar 01, 2016 09:23 PM
Rainmaker
845,955
Marco Giancola
Beachfront Realty - Miami Beach, FL
Realtor (305)608-1922, Miami Beach Florida

YES SIR!

Mar 01, 2016 08:45 PM
Rainmaker
1,026,812
Susan Haughton
Long and Foster REALTORS (703) 470-4545 - Alexandria, VA
Susan & Mindy Team...Honesty. Integrity. Results.

Of course!!!

Mar 01, 2016 08:16 PM
Rainmaker
1,644,464
Lise Howe
Keller Williams Capital Properties - Washington, DC
Assoc. Broker and Attorney Licensed in DC, MD, VA,

absolutely

Mar 01, 2016 08:07 PM
Rainmaker
1,497,000
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg IL Real Estate

Yes, boy o boy I do. As a purchaser of 2-3 new homes - get it. The builders don't like it but who cares. 

Lots of things happen that could have been fixed earlier in the process not 'at drywall' when everything is sealed up.  

Had a Master BR vaulted ceiling go 1.5" off after 8 foot height. You really couldn't see it until after the house had been painted. The wall basically had a pretty good dip up to the ceiling. Argg.

Mar 01, 2016 09:32 PM
Rainmaker
725,329
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

It depends on who the builder is.

Mar 01, 2016 08:36 PM
Rainmaker
334,023
Brenda J. Andrew
ULTIMA REAL ESTATE - Corpus Christi, TX
Professional Realtor in Corpus Christi, TX

Yes.  Jesus did not build the house, so it will not be perfect.  Always have a home inspection, and plumbing, and termite if necessary.

Mar 01, 2016 08:20 PM
Rainmaker
517,058
David Gibson CNE, 719-304-4684 ~ Colorado Springs Relocation
Colorado Real Estate Advisers LLC - Colorado Springs, CO
Relocation, Luxury & Lifestyle residential

As always Nina Hollander  nailed it.

Mar 02, 2016 04:10 AM
Rainmaker
4,796,409
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

Always.

Mar 02, 2016 03:58 AM
Rainmaker
1,364,417
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Peter Mohylsky Yes, Nina Hollander has the right answer.

Mar 02, 2016 02:41 AM
Rainmaker
719,911
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

Absolutely! I'm sure the AR inspectors can tell you why!

Mar 02, 2016 01:36 AM
Ambassador
2,301,630
Belinda Spillman
Aspen Lane Real Estate Colorful Colorado - Aurora, CO
Colorado Living!

Most of the builders out here have a 12 month bumper to bumper warranty.  They do an extensive pre-close walkthru with blue tape for defects.  If my buyers do not want to pay for an outside inpsection pre-closing, I suggest they have one done in month 11 so everything is still covered by the builder.

Mar 02, 2016 01:16 AM
Ambassador
3,898,578
Jeff Dowler, CRS
Solutions Real Estate - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

Absolutely

Mar 02, 2016 12:52 AM
Rainmaker
5,223,215
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

Yes.

 

Mar 02, 2016 12:36 AM
Rainmaker
140,168
Joan Dickie
Keller Williams Premier Realty - La Crosse, WI
Keller Williams Premier Realty

Oh yes.  I suggest to everyone.  I had a buyer who is having continual problems that started a few months after they moved in.

Mar 02, 2016 12:00 AM
Rainer
9,046
Cindy Chaisson
Leader One Financial Corp. - West Palm Beach, FL

Yes. Many new homes have issues pop up later. Earlier is always better than later!

Mar 01, 2016 11:34 PM
Rainmaker
4,278,651
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Yes, yes, yes....Peace of mind is worth evey penny!  A

Mar 01, 2016 11:20 PM
Rainmaker
3,215,974
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Yes.  It's advisable.  

Mar 01, 2016 10:49 PM
Rainmaker
2,415,168
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

I would work closely with the builder and his people. However, having a point of reference to work from making sure little things got done why not?

Mar 01, 2016 10:41 PM
Rainmaker
673,867
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

Lemme tell ya. One of the biggest mistakes that I have made in my real estate career, period, is not having my own new build gone over with a fine toothed comb by a qualified home inspector.

Mar 01, 2016 09:57 PM
Rainmaker
79,943
Linda Guess
Keller Williams Tri-Lakes Branson, MO - Branson, MO
Branson area real estate sales.

Yes, I definitely recommend a home inspection on new construction.  I have found serious problems in new construction.

Mar 01, 2016 09:57 PM
Rainmaker
1,265,944
Carol Williams
Although I'm retired, I love sharing my knowledge and learning from other real estate industry professionals. - Wenatchee, WA
Retired Agent / Broker / Property Manager

Absolutely... I had a defective roof  (and many other issues) revealed on a new construction home inspection.  

Mar 01, 2016 09:51 PM
Rainer
42,255
Fred Hafdelin
Weichert Realtors - Mountain Lakes, NJ

Absolutely.

Mar 01, 2016 09:50 PM
Rainmaker
3,048,869
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
BVO Luxury Group @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty - Scottsdale, AZ
Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ

Always

Mar 01, 2016 09:34 PM
Ambassador
1,597,533
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

Since they are made by human beings, the answer is yes.

Mar 01, 2016 09:10 PM
Rainmaker
2,804,382
James Dray
Fathom Realty AR LLC - Bentonville, AR
Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results

You bet I do

Mar 01, 2016 08:49 PM
Rainmaker
413,006
Greg Cremia
Shore Realty of the Outer Banks - Nags Head, NC

No, i insist on inspecting everything including vacant lots. If they atgue i tell them the y will have to sign off on refusing the inspection and that always changes their mind. They don't like having the liability dumped in their lap.

Mar 01, 2016 08:27 PM
Rainmaker
1,277,551
Donna Foerster
HomeSmart Realty Group - Parker, CO
Metro Denver Real Estate Agent

Yes. We had one when we bought our new construction home.

Sep 23, 2016 02:23 PM
Rainer
23,428
JulieAnn King
RE/MAX Central- Freehold, Manalapan, Marlboro, Old Bridge - Freehold, NJ
Broker Associate - Freehold, Manlapan, Marlboro Re

Absolutely....the buyer is spending so much money, it would be foolish to not get one.

Mar 03, 2016 09:38 PM
Rainmaker
4,003,361
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

Absolutely, and put a reminder in my calendar to remind the new homeowners at 10 1/2 to 11 months. 

Mar 02, 2016 10:12 PM
Ambassador
4,297,836
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Peter Mohylsky - always! I have found some interesting facts after the home inspection on new construction for my buyers....

Mar 02, 2016 01:36 PM
Ambassador
2,188,589
Debbie Laity
Cedaredge Land Company - Cedaredge, CO
Your Real Estate Resource for Delta County, CO

New, old...get it inspected. 

Mar 02, 2016 12:50 PM
Rainer
302,029
Melissa Jackson
Citiwide Alliance Realty - Weatherford, TX
Helping You Make The Right Move

Yes, mistakes can be made in new homes too.  I suggest inspections for each buyer, preowned or new.

Mar 02, 2016 11:28 AM
Rainmaker
1,204,273
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
www.HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

Yes.  Just because it is new, doesn't mean it was done right!

Mar 02, 2016 10:59 AM
Ambassador
3,981,814
Debbie Reynolds
Platinum Properties - Clarksville, TN
Your Dedicated Clarksville TN Real Estate Agent

Every time even on the ones I build. It is in the buyer's best interest.

Mar 02, 2016 10:41 AM
Rainmaker
1,675,236
Larry Johnston
Broker, Friends & Neighbors Real Estate and Elkhart County Subdivisions, LLC - Elkhart, IN
Broker,Friends & Neighbors Real Estate, Elkhart,IN

Of Course!

Mar 02, 2016 07:26 AM
Rainmaker
3,975,651
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

Absolutely

Mar 02, 2016 06:16 AM
Rainmaker
546,559
Peter Mohylsky, SoWal Is HOME.
Gulf Place @ 30A - Santa Rosa Beach, FL
Let me help you find your path to the beach.

The results are almost unanimously yes.  One No vote in the crowd.  

Mar 02, 2016 05:10 AM
Rainmaker
1,157,254
FN LN
Toronto, ON

Yes.

Mar 02, 2016 03:15 AM
Rainer
2,365
Heidi Kitt
Hybrid Real Estate - Eugene, OR
Your New Construction Specialist

I've sold hundreds of new construction homes and there's no such thing as a perfect home. It's always best to have a whole house inspection on any home purchase. New homes are "inspected" by city or county inspectors during construction and get a final inspection prior to occupancy. The whole house inspection puts another set of eyes on the residence. I have seen all kinds of issues resolved prior to closing that were overlooked by the building inspectors. It's wise to always address these matters before the home buyer moves in.

Mar 02, 2016 02:56 AM
Rainmaker
31,601
Amelia Robinette
NoVa House and Home - Frankly Realty - Falls Church, VA
Education, Innovation, Service

definitely - the purpose of a home inspection isn't strictly to find things wrong with a property. they're great education opportunities for buyers, absolutely worth the couple hundred bucks.

Mar 02, 2016 01:17 AM
Rainmaker
3,134,688
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Yes, and the builder's are not fans!

Mar 01, 2016 10:56 PM