Brenda Mayette, Getting results w/ knowledge & know-how!  (Miranda Real Estate Group, Inc.)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
910,672
Thomas J. Nelson, Realtor, ePRO, CRS, RCS-D
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

It is a feature that has saved my marriage  (separate closets too).

Apr 04, 2016 12:09 AM
Rainmaker
4,866,969
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Franklin, MA
Marketing Agent for The Todaro Team

a requirement for a master bathroom....no necessary in a main bathroom....

Apr 04, 2016 12:11 AM
Rainmaker
679,944
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

Huge desirability for a master. I guess women think men are pigs. Imagine! ;)

Apr 04, 2016 12:10 AM
Rainmaker
845,955
Marco Giancola
Beachfront Realty - Miami Beach, FL
Realtor (305)608-1922, Miami Beach Florida

all masterbaths should have them.

Apr 04, 2016 12:38 AM
Ambassador
3,981,938
Debbie Reynolds
Platinum Properties - Clarksville, TN
Your Dedicated Clarksville TN Real Estate Agent

There is a buyer looking at one of my listings and loves the house (still hasn't made an offer after 2 weeks). Her only objection is it doesn't have 2 sinks in the children's bathroom. So I guess it is a big deal to some buyers.

Apr 04, 2016 12:05 AM
Rainmaker
2,763,009
Kathleen Daniels
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
San Jose Homes for Sale-Probate & Trust Specialist

What Roger D. Mucci said.  

Apr 04, 2016 12:56 AM
Rainmaker
350,943
Jill Murty, Realtor - Orange County, CA
PREA Realty - Laguna Niguel, CA

Two sinks are way more desirable to most buyers. 

Apr 04, 2016 12:24 AM
Rainmaker
3,238,855
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

If there is space that makes sense, I think it enhances the appeal of the room.

Apr 04, 2016 12:12 AM
Ambassador
3,912,931
Jeff Dowler, CRS
Solutions Real Estate - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

For the MBR it's important but it seems to be less of an issue in a guest bath

Apr 04, 2016 12:06 AM
Rainer
353,228
DEANNA EARLY - - ( NMLS # 268590 )
American National Bank & Trust - Smith Mountain Lake, VA
Highest Ranked Mortgage Loan Originator Virginia

A necessity for a Master bathroom !   Optional, but appropriate for others.

Apr 04, 2016 03:46 AM
Rainer
45,607
Andy Madrid
Hawaii Coast Realty, LLC - Kailua-Kona, HI
Expertise, Professionalism, and Service

In the master bathroom its expected so when it doesnt have one (as in many older homes) the buyer will comment about it and then think of ways to get two sinks in it.

Apr 04, 2016 03:25 AM
Rainmaker
2,971,648
Nina Hollander
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

Double sink vanities in master bathrooms are a really big deal in my market. But people also really like them in a secondary bath and I've had clients turn down a home with only one sink in a secondary bathroom that was shared by more than two bedrooms.

Of course, if I totally had my way, not only would I have my his & her closets and separate vanities (which I do have), I'd have his & her bathrooms!

Apr 04, 2016 01:32 AM
Rainmaker
729,375
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

Dual sink vanities, two seperate vanities, and dual 2 person shower stalls seem to have become common and desirable. They are all ok in the right sized setting.

Apr 04, 2016 01:28 AM
Rainer
138,389
Chrissi Chapman Topoleski
Re/Max Real Estate Connections - Haymarket, VA
HOME~There is no place like it!

If the house has 3 or more bedrooms then I think it is very appealing. I think of my kids brushing their teeth, or getting ready for bed or school at the same time.

Apr 04, 2016 01:27 AM
Rainmaker
3,762,747
Dorie Dillard CRS GRI ABR
Coldwell Banker United Realtors® ~ 512.750.6899 - Austin, TX
Serving Buyers & Sellers in NW Austin Real Estate

Definitely important, especially in the master bath!!!

Apr 04, 2016 01:20 AM
Rainmaker
1,238,082
Raymond E. Camp
Howard Hanna Real Estate Services - Ontario, NY
Licensed Real Estate Salesperson Greater Rochester

Personally no big deal as until the better half is done; stay out.

It is becoming a necessity for the younger generation.

Apr 04, 2016 12:31 AM
Rainmaker
95,709
Scott Lawson
America's Home loans - Santa Rosa, Petaluma Mortgage Broker - Santa Rosa, CA
Mortgage Broker FHA, VA, refinance or purchase

Essential....A man will never leave a sink to the minimum standards for his wife....It takes years just to get us to wipe down around it from time to time...

Apr 04, 2016 12:21 AM
Rainmaker
1,521,006
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Geneva Financial, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

Huge appeal. It give men a shot at having a spot n the master bath.

Apr 04, 2016 12:19 AM
Rainmaker
2,892,797
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

A hot button for many buyers.

Apr 04, 2016 12:19 AM
Rainmaker
396,474
Katina Hargrove 352-551-0308
Stake Your Land Realty, Inc. - Eustis, FL
Broker/Owner, GRI,SFR, REALTOR®

Good morning Brenda,

I have a home under contract and the master bath has only one sink, it is not a deal breaker. The preferred is dual sinks for most but not all.

Apr 07, 2016 10:59 PM
Rainmaker
4,019,713
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

I have had many couples say they want the double sink, and not have to deal with the "other's" toothpaste mess!   

Apr 05, 2016 11:25 PM
Rainmaker
2,476,602
Rebecca Gaujot, Realtor®
Vision Quest Realty - Lewisburg, WV
Lewisburg WV, the go to agent for all real estate

Oh yes... definitely two sinks... and an appealing feature for buyers.

Apr 05, 2016 12:19 PM
Rainmaker
428,914
Greg Large
ERA Real Solutions - Grove City, OH
A Tradition of Trust

Added appeal? a definite YES.

Apr 04, 2016 09:13 PM
Rainmaker
586,283
Sharon Kowitz
CRS-SRES-ABR-GRI-E-Pro-CREN Fonville Morisey Cary, NC - Cary, NC
Cary, NC Relocation Specialist ~ Buying or Selling

Definitely adds value! Master bath it's a must. But I know my daughter is thankful she has two sinks in the kids bathroom as well. Makes bedtime and morning brushing a little easier and causes less fights with the kids!

Apr 04, 2016 01:53 PM
Ambassador
2,188,589
Debbie Laity
Cedaredge Land Company - Cedaredge, CO
Your Real Estate Resource for Delta County, CO

It's a popular feature in the master bathroom in my area. 

Apr 04, 2016 01:09 PM
Ambassador
2,849,080
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

I love my husband dearly.  That being said I shall NEVER share a sink with him.

Apr 04, 2016 12:54 PM
Rainmaker
2,704,298
Lisa Von Domek
Lisa Von Domek Team - Dallas, TX
....Experience Isn't Expensive.... It's Priceless!

Master bath a must...and if it is the main bathroom for two or three bedrooms to share it would be a plus.

Apr 04, 2016 12:40 PM
Rainmaker
798,255
Diana Zaccaro
Tropical Beachside brokered by eXp - Cocoa Beach, FL
"The Accidental Blogger" Cocoa Beach, Florida

Definitely adds appeal in the master but not so much in the other bathrooms.

 

Apr 04, 2016 12:35 PM
Rainmaker
783,646
Susan Laxson CRS
HomeSmart Professionals - La Quinta, CA
Local Knowledge & Global Network

Master bath, yes - but waste of space in any other bathroom.

Apr 04, 2016 10:22 AM
Rainmaker
3,063,681
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

Most couples want them.

 

Apr 04, 2016 09:19 AM
Rainmaker
1,504,625
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg IL Real Estate

If it's the Master that is kind of expected in the Midwest. Not in the hall main BA.

Apr 04, 2016 09:01 AM
Rainmaker
1,210,414
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
www.HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

It's a requirement in master baths and any bathrooms shared by secondary bedrooms.  If you don't have one, don't expect to sell the house to a family.  Single person yes, family no.

Apr 04, 2016 08:45 AM
Rainmaker
983,928
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

ADDED feature. Two couples can wash simitaneous in the AM or at bed time...

Apr 04, 2016 08:38 AM
Rainmaker
1,157,264
FN LN
Toronto, ON

Whether it is added appeal depends upon the persons who use and / or own the bathroom

Apr 04, 2016 08:22 AM
Rainmaker
3,977,611
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

I wish we had that!

Apr 04, 2016 08:01 AM
Ambassador
1,610,998
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

It is widely accepted as necessary in new construction.

Apr 04, 2016 07:57 AM
Rainer
302,029
Melissa Jackson
Citiwide Alliance Realty - Weatherford, TX
Helping You Make The Right Move

My opinion?  2 sinks in the guest / full bath is a plus.  I have one side set up with kid items and the other adult type items.  The kids love it too!  Families with 3-6 kids would also prefer 2 sinks.

Apr 04, 2016 07:32 AM
Rainer
98,188
Becca Rasmussen
HomeSmart Cherry Creek - Highlands Ranch, CO

I think it can be a big deal, but I don't think it should be a make-or-break item if it can be resolved with a small remodel. e.g. our bath by the two spare bedrooms has only one sink but the cabinet size has room for 2 (or 3!). If we had kids in those bedrooms, we'd've updated it by now to convert from 1 sink to 2. We definitely do plan to do that when we do remodel regardless.

Ideally, I think it should be based on the number of people expected to be using the facility at a given time. 

Master bath - typically geared towards 2 people, so put in 2 sinks

Any other full bath - if it typically services more than one person (near more than one bedroom), then 2 sinks; it if typically would be expected to service only one person (or multiple people but temporarily) such as guest room in a basement, or in a luxury home where every bedroom has its own bathroom then 1 sink would likely be fine; if there's a question, put in 2 if financially feasible. :0)

Apr 04, 2016 07:07 AM
Rainmaker
1,366,727
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Brenda Mayette Some people seem to think they have to have two sinks.

Apr 04, 2016 06:23 AM
Rainer
69,288
Shawn and Angela Miller
Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices Amabassador Real Estate - Lincoln, NE
Lincoln and Omaha, NE REALTORS®

Very desirable for many of my clients!

Apr 04, 2016 05:48 AM
Ambassador
881,381
John Meussner
Mason-McDuffie Mortgage, Conventional Loans, Jumbo Loans, FHA, 203(k), USDA, VA, - Walnut Creek, CA
#MortgageMadeEasy Walnut Creek, CA 484-680-4852

In a master suite, definitely added appeal.  Elsewhere, no big deal (and kind of weird)

Apr 04, 2016 05:19 AM
Ambassador
2,344,089
Fred Griffin presently on Leave of Absence
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

You cannot advertise based on familial status per Fair Housing Laws... but on a personal note, I can remember when I was a kid, my brother and I both brushing our teeth at the same time, because our bathroom had two sinks side by side.  Two sinks are great for families with multiple offspring!

Apr 04, 2016 04:58 AM
Ambassador
1,962,853
Silvia Dukes PA, Broker Associate, CRS, CIPS, SRES
Tropic Shores Realty - Ich spreche Deutsch! - Spring Hill, FL
Florida Waterfront and Country Club Living

Definitely a big advantage in our area.

Apr 04, 2016 04:25 AM
Rainmaker
4,796,451
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

I believe it's a big plus.

Apr 04, 2016 04:15 AM
Ambassador
3,075,864
Chris Ann Cleland
Long and Foster REALTORS®, Gainesville, VA - Bristow, VA
Associate Broker, Bristow, VA

I am finding it is becoming somethings buyers expect in a master bathroom and secondary bathroom that is shared by multiple bedrooms.

Apr 04, 2016 04:10 AM
Ambassador
4,054,019
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams Fox Cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

One sink is fine, as long as there are two bathrooms.

Apr 04, 2016 04:04 AM
Rainmaker
558,405
Women of Westchester Working Together
Women of Westchester Working Together - West Harrison, NY
Women helping Women get ahead

For a master bathroom, yes.  For a bathroom for the kids minor benefit.

Apr 04, 2016 03:49 AM
Rainmaker
2,423,272
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

Depends how it is layed out. However, in the end, two people do not fight over a sink use. One nice sweet one will do the trick. The rest is cosmetic

Apr 04, 2016 03:22 AM
Rainmaker
1,477,456
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • Green • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

The double sink or double BA ( if possible) are the most for Master Suit, in other rooms, it is optional. 

Apr 04, 2016 03:02 AM
Rainmaker
1,276,892
Carol Williams
Although I'm retired, I love sharing my knowledge and learning from other real estate industry professionals. - Wenatchee, WA
Retired Agent / Broker / Property Manager

Big deal for master bedroom.  Whether you live alone or not, it is a great resale feature... and we always have to keep resale in mind.  

Apr 04, 2016 02:55 AM
Rainmaker
1,505,709
Gary L. Waters Broker Associate, Bucci Realty
Bucci Realty, Inc. - Melbourne, FL
Fifteen Years Experience in Brevard County

Added appeal as long as there is an extended distance between the sinks and separate storage space!

Apr 04, 2016 02:31 AM
Rainmaker
3,122,718
Lawrence "Larry" & Sheila Agranoff. Cell: 631-805-4400
The Top Team @ Charles Rutenberg Realty 255 Executive Dr, Plainview NY 11803 - Plainview, NY
Long Island Home and Condo Specialists

In a guest bath, not needed. In master, it's a winner, except for a single person...

Apr 04, 2016 02:17 AM
Rainmaker
4,310,710
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Brenda,

We like two sinks.  A

Apr 04, 2016 01:48 AM
Rainmaker
261,028
Allie Angeloni
Long Realty - Oro Valley, AZ

We like it and have it in our master bath!  People do seem to love the 2 sinks here in our community -- the fact of not having to share a bathroom sink is a plus, though I don't think a true deal breaker Brenda Mayette

Apr 04, 2016 12:42 AM
Rainer
43,781
Stephanie & John Webb
Latte Stone Realty LLC - Albuquerque, NM
Stephanie Webb Co-Owner, Latte Stone Realty, LLC

Its a feature that comes in very handy and many of my clients ask for double sinks on their wish list.

Apr 04, 2016 12:12 AM
Rainmaker
1,277,686
Donna Foerster
HomeSmart Realty Group - Parker, CO
Metro Denver Real Estate Agent

Added appeal for sure.

Sep 30, 2016 03:46 AM
Rainmaker
724,099
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

An absolute necessity!

Apr 04, 2016 11:08 PM
Rainmaker
3,164,994
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

As my wife prefers to say: "essential"!

Apr 04, 2016 09:47 PM
Ambassador
2,758,460
TeamCHI - Complete Home Inspections, Inc.
Complete Home Inspections, Inc. - Brentwood, TN
Home Inspectons - Nashville, TN area - 615.661.029

 Sinks are for washing things basins are for washing people. Do you have two sinks or do you have two basins?

Apr 04, 2016 07:37 PM
Rainmaker
140,218
Joan Dickie
Keller Williams Premier Realty - La Crosse, WI
Keller Williams Premier Realty

If they watch a lot of House Hunters, it is very important to have that.  I could personally care less.  My husband and I don't share a bathroom in the way that we need two sinks.

Apr 04, 2016 03:10 AM