Cathy Hertler (Burns & Egan Realty Group, LLC)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
3,162,488
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

I make it clear a home inspection is for major items, not a document to renegotiate price. Want new, let's look at new with its own set of problems!

Jun 06, 2016 08:34 AM
Rainmaker
2,422,669
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

Keep eye on the grand prize & discipline good thy eyes...richfuscious

Jun 06, 2016 03:32 AM
Rainmaker
982,078
Kevin J. May
Florida Supreme Realty - Hobe Sound, FL
Serving the Treasure & Paradise Coasts of Florida

If the home is a good fit and the major mechanical and structural items are sound I cannot encourage this method as a negotiating tool unless they're willing to lose the possibility of ownership.

Jun 06, 2016 02:49 AM
Ambassador
2,343,739
Fred Griffin presently on Leave of Absence
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

    No.

   I educate Buyers in advance that if they try to nickel and dime the Seller over items found on the Inspection Report, they will probably lose the house, and along with it, the appraisal fee, the inspection fees, and other monies that they have paid out.

Jun 06, 2016 02:47 AM
Ambassador
1,619,844
Alan May
Coldwell Banker Residential - Evanston, IL
Helping you find your way home.

Using the phrase "nickle and dime" certainly will skew your responses.

I encourage my buyers to make inspection requests only of those items on the list that they cannot live without.  As in "If they aren't willing to repair, or credit, for that item... then I may not be willing to go foward with the purchase".

Jun 06, 2016 02:47 AM
Rainer
2,270
Jason Hyland
Ebby Halliday Realtors - Dallas, TX
Realtor in Preston Hollow, Park Cities, Dallas

I don't. I recommend my buyer clients to focus only on issues that are:

1. Structural

2. Safety

3. Mechanical

Please note that we are currently in a tight seller's market with very low inventory.

Jun 06, 2016 06:16 AM
Rainmaker
729,025
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

Nickle and dime is just bs. If a serious issue is found, then seller needs to get it fixed.

Jun 06, 2016 05:56 AM
Rainmaker
783,646
Susan Laxson CRS
HomeSmart Professionals - La Quinta, CA
Local Knowledge & Global Network

We go through the home inspection together and I have been fortunate to have buyers that are reasonable and don't pick the items that they could repair/replace or modify themselves. They also all understand the ramifications of how the seller can respond to a Request for Repairs. And I have had sellers that are also reasonable and understand that there are items that they need to addressed.

Jun 06, 2016 04:42 AM
Rainmaker
3,062,878
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

I had a agent ask for 46 items one time, a couple of the items were to tigthen a screw. 

Jun 06, 2016 03:37 AM
Rainmaker
4,796,451
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

No!

Jun 06, 2016 06:04 AM
Rainmaker
1,523,560
Sybil Campbell
Long and Foster REALTORS® 5234 Monticello Ave Williamsburg, Virginia - Williamsburg, VA
REALTOR® ABR, SFR, SRES Williamsburg, Virginia

Absolutely not, it can alienate the seller.

Jun 06, 2016 05:55 AM
Ambassador
2,848,810
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

I encourage my buyers to be reasonable with repair requests.

Jun 06, 2016 05:45 AM
Rainer
187,145
Sharon Altier, SFR
Lawton Realty Group, Inc. - Elmhurst, IL

No.  I always inform them that their offer is based on the defects they have seen and inspection defects, unless major and unforeseen are not discount items. 

Jun 06, 2016 04:52 AM
Rainmaker
2,969,249
Nina Hollander
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

Oh no, never.

Jun 06, 2016 04:45 AM
Ambassador
2,301,646
Belinda Spillman
Aspen Lane Real Estate Colorful Colorado - Aurora, CO
Colorado Living!

No way.  I tell them to limit their inspection objection to safety and mechanicals.  No house is perfect - not even a brand new home.

Jun 06, 2016 03:35 AM
Rainmaker
526,059
Mike & Eve Alexander
Buyers Broker of Florida - Orlando, FL
Exclusively Representing ONLY Orlando Home Buyers

What is your definition of nickle and dime?  I do not like to dicker on petty things but then I have had listing agents who think that everything is petty.

I remember one time none of the windows opened and the LA said "why do the windows need to be open?  Everyone uses A/C..."

Home inspections are never considered to be a TRICK.  If you are truly representing a buyer, than it is your job to renegotiate if there are more defficiencies than expected, but everything depends.  I would certiainly not fire a client over it.

Eve

 

Jun 06, 2016 03:15 AM
Rainmaker
1,520,356
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Geneva Financial, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

It does happen, and if it is a defect easily remedied and one that it is apparent no one was aware of, then negotiable. If it is a defect that is clearly a case that the seller was aware of; then HELL yes!

Jun 06, 2016 03:10 AM
Rainmaker
742,752
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

Nickle and dime.

I remind them of the queue of folks looking at the house afterward.

I remind them the 'seeking backup' rider was taken down.

I alert them the seller may have a better offer waiting for an opportunity.

Then I say, "If you really want me to submit the list, I certainly will."

I also expect the agent on the other side to understand what is taking place and they support the seller in  saying 'go pound sand' or toss the buyer a bone.

Now, be aware, there are legitimate issues (separate from inspectors seeking relevance) that can not be ignored.

Jun 06, 2016 02:44 AM
Rainmaker
2,889,009
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

No. Just the major items.

Jun 06, 2016 02:37 AM
Ambassador
4,048,614
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams Fox Cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

I think that it is slimey and unethical to use the inspection as an opportunity to renegotiate the price of a home.

The offer is generally made based on an older home and then to try to force the sellers to produce a new home is unreasonable.

Jun 06, 2016 03:11 PM
Rainer
302,029
Melissa Jackson
Citiwide Alliance Realty - Weatherford, TX
Helping You Make The Right Move

No, there are a few issues that should concern a buyer. 

Jun 06, 2016 01:22 PM
Ambassador
3,673,422
Patricia Kennedy
RLAH Real Estate - Washington, DC
Home in the Capital

I think that if they nickel and dime, they may get less done overall.  I try to get my clients to focus on the issues that are important to them.

Jun 06, 2016 01:03 PM
Ambassador
1,769,665
Noah Seidenberg
Coldwell Banker - Evanston, IL
Chicagoland and Suburbs (800) 858-7917

No that is not the purpose of an inspection.

Jun 06, 2016 12:34 PM
Ambassador
3,981,932
Debbie Reynolds
Platinum Properties - Clarksville, TN
Your Dedicated Clarksville TN Real Estate Agent

No I encourage them to be reasonable and to not get ridiculous if they really want the house.

Jun 06, 2016 12:19 PM
Rainmaker
3,977,511
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

No, unless it is a new home then they can be much more picky

Jun 06, 2016 12:04 PM
Rainmaker
1,675,306
Larry Johnston
Broker, Friends & Neighbors Real Estate and Elkhart County Subdivisions, LLC - Elkhart, IN
Broker,Friends & Neighbors Real Estate, Elkhart,IN

They should concentrate on the major issues.  The minor things they can do on their own, especially if they did not have a full price offer.

Jun 06, 2016 11:57 AM
Rainmaker
1,648,641
Lise Howe
Keller Williams Capital Properties - Washington, DC
Assoc. Broker and Attorney Licensed in DC, MD, VA,

No

Jun 06, 2016 11:16 AM
Rainmaker
2,394,705
Evelyn Johnston
Friends & Neighbors Real Estate - Elkhart, IN
The People You Know, Like and Trust!

Absolutely not, all houses have issues. I am mostly concerned with foundation, safety and health issues.

Jun 06, 2016 10:54 AM
Ambassador
1,206,709
Amanda Christiansen
Christiansen Group Realty (260)704-0843 - Fort Wayne, IN
Christiansen Group Realty

Absolutely!  I love wasting time and pissing seller's agents off!  

Jun 06, 2016 09:12 AM
Rainmaker
4,863,044
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Franklin, MA
Marketing Agent for The Todaro Team

I've never heard of any agent in my area doing that.... 

Jun 06, 2016 09:09 AM
Rainmaker
260,728
Allie Angeloni
Long Realty - Oro Valley, AZ

Fortunately I have not been in that situation yet Cathy Hertler, and I would not be a fan of encouraging that type of behavior/reaction either.  Usually items have been minor, and sometimes they will do them all, and other times not, as they 'pick and choose'.  Can't see a deal going south for hundreds of dollars, which I know is not the same as thousands of dollars.  I have seen a buyer accept $1K for repairs, as the owner didn't want to make any of them, and the buyer could have a relative do the fixing up.  Outside of hard feelings, and why even go there?, I sure cannot see 'nickle and diming' done after a Home Inspection.  Save your 'battles' for what counts the most for you, and hopefully there won't be any!   

Jun 06, 2016 08:57 AM
Rainmaker
1,276,257
Carol Williams
Although I'm retired, I love sharing my knowledge and learning from other real estate industry professionals. - Wenatchee, WA
Retired Agent / Broker / Property Manager

Like you said Cathy, they need to understand what the purpose of a home inspection is.  I always explained it was to assure there were no health or safety issues.  

Jun 06, 2016 08:54 AM
Rainmaker
1,273,307
Wayne and Jean Marie Zuhl
Samsel & Associates - Clark, NJ
The Last Names You'll Ever Need in Real Estate

We discourage it, although many buyers, as you indicate, seem to think that the home inspection is for the purpose of lowering the price. In a hot market, sellers can, and often do, walk away when the buyers start this.

Jun 06, 2016 08:16 AM
Rainmaker
1,503,980
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg IL Real Estate

No I don't but there are plenty of other agents that do. They consider it 'showing value' for the buyer. 

Agree about the inspection getting the price down. There was a gang of agents & home inspectors that were in on something I found out a few months ago. 

Jun 06, 2016 07:10 AM
Ambassador
2,751,408
Dick Greenberg
New Paradigm Partners LLC - Fort Collins, CO
Northern Colorado Residential Real Estate

Hi Cathy - In our market, it's more or less customary to constrain inspection objection items to the big stuff. We occasionally see some buyers who attempt to use inspection as an opportunity to renegotiate price, but they typically get a poor reception.

Jun 06, 2016 07:03 AM
Rainmaker
1,209,919
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
www.HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

No.  I advise them to ask for things that make sense that one would expect to be working (like an oven or dishwasher) but not to ask for the minor stuff like not having a cover on an outlet.  That type of stuff will piss off a seller and I've seen people lose houses over it.

Jun 06, 2016 05:07 AM
Rainmaker
4,431,972
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

no

Jun 06, 2016 04:52 AM
Rainmaker
983,617
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

In our area, sellers provide an inspection rpt and stated it is an as-is sale. We have buyer wanting another inspection I make them to sign an AS IS sale and asked them to release appraisal.  

Low ball is verbally offered as buyer agents do not want to waste time in a seller market(5th year in a row) with these opportunists. 

Jun 06, 2016 03:06 AM
Rainmaker
1,366,527
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Cathy Hertler Quite a few of the items found in a home inspection are covered with the walk-through and are mandatory items to be repaired or replaced. The buyer's shouldn't get worked up over items that wil have to be fixed anyways. Major item repairs should be discussed.

Jun 06, 2016 03:05 AM
Rainmaker
796,857
Liz Wallace
Century 21 Sherlock Homes - Rockville Centre, NY
Broker C21 Sherlock Homes, Rockville Centre, LI, N

Good for you, buyers who do this are a nightmare.

Jun 06, 2016 03:05 AM
Ambassador
1,613,518
Harry F. D'Elia
RentVest - Phoenix, AZ
Investor , Mentor, GRI, Radio, CIPS, REOs, ABR

it is better to be fair but buyers decision

Jun 26, 2017 10:29 AM
Ambassador
3,911,944
Jeff Dowler, CRS
Solutions Real Estate - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

Worrying about the small stuff is likely not have the desired effect. I woud worry about any health, safety or mechanical/structural issues. The cracked receptacle cover is a no brainer

Jun 10, 2016 10:38 AM
Rainmaker
723,664
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

Only for legitimate claims; have seen ridiculous requests based on so-called inspection items.

Jun 07, 2016 12:48 AM
Rainmaker
821,580
Jennifer Mackay
Counts Real Estate Group, Inc. - Panama City, FL
Your Bay County Florida Realtor 850.774.6582

I don't mind a re-nogitate if its from something high priced, but low cost issues depends on what the buyers are getting - during the short sale fiasco this was quite popular to try

Jun 06, 2016 10:36 PM
Rainmaker
2,938,676
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of Manchester NH's Leading Agents

No, I really do not like this stance and some offices practice and teach it as it happens every time. 

Jun 06, 2016 10:32 PM
Rainmaker
5,257,450
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

Never.

Jun 06, 2016 09:21 PM
Rainmaker
609,448
Brenda Mayette
Miranda Real Estate Group, Inc. - Glenville, NY
Getting results w/ knowledge & know-how!

NEVER! I educate and re-educate my clients re: what inspections are for and what they are NOT for.  This is something that is making me nuts lately & I wish more agents would "put their foot down" re: this behavior.

Jun 06, 2016 09:17 PM
Ambassador
4,298,221
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Cathy Hertler - not in this market....

Jun 06, 2016 03:47 PM
Ambassador
881,381
John Meussner
Mason-McDuffie Mortgage, Conventional Loans, Jumbo Loans, FHA, 203(k), USDA, VA, - Walnut Creek, CA
#MortgageMadeEasy Walnut Creek, CA 484-680-4852

I would say it depends on the market, however people should always do what's best for their client ----- if you can save your client hundreds, thousands, or the headache of having to move into a new home and immediately start fixing things, then why not?  

 

If it's a hot seller's market and asking to have lightbulbs replaces is going to jeopardize the buyer getting the home, probably a good idea to not ask for it.

 

I ask this, though, to offset the negative conotation of "nickle and dime" --- IF you have 2 options and they are a) get your client into the home, after which they'll have to spend a month or 2 making minor repairs and won't be able to live comfortable or with total peace of mind until they're done" or b) you have a seller prepare the home to be move-in and live-in shape and your buyer can move in and begin living and enjoying their new home care free and with no immediate maintenance needs

 

Would anyone not choose b?

Jun 06, 2016 04:51 AM