Jason Nenadov, expert advice and services to buyers and sellers (EQUITY ASSETS REAL ESTATE)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
823,488
Jennifer Mackay
Counts Real Estate Group, Inc. - Panama City, FL
Your Bay County Florida Realtor 850.774.6582

I schedule them to make sure no one is there - only a few times have the sellers "forgotten" but they've always left us to conduct our business

Aug 26, 2016 11:37 PM
Rainmaker
4,873,359
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Franklin, MA
Marketing Agent for The Todaro Team

just have the inspection and introduce the buyers and sellers.... unless negotiations during the offer period was a hot and heavy situation...then drink heavily...

Aug 26, 2016 10:24 PM
Ambassador
4,298,246
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Jason Nenadov - I'd continue with the purpose why we are there.

Aug 26, 2016 03:49 PM
Rainmaker
1,522,917
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Geneva Financial, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

We schedule inspections for when sellers are not present. If they are on site contrary to our request, we do contact the listing agent and ask the sellers' agent intercede. If unsuccessful, leave, allow inspection to continue and pest repost gets emailed by the end of the day so no problem.

Aug 26, 2016 02:14 PM
Ambassador
4,063,334
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams Fox Cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Why is everyone so insecure about letting the buyer and seller meet, a lot of problems could be eliminated if these people could see each other as humans rather than adversaries.

C or D

Aug 27, 2016 06:40 AM
Rainmaker
1,212,209
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
www.HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

I'd ask the sellers to leave if they don't mind.  Sometimes it's not possible and my sellers have met the buyers.  They built a rapport, both had kids around the same age.  Seller is counselled what to say and what not to say.  Worked out fine.

Aug 27, 2016 02:24 AM
Rainmaker
2,979,402
Nina Hollander
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

The pest inspection takes less than 30 minutes. You can't ask a seller to leave his/her home for an inspection. I even wonder why any agent and buyer go to a pest inspection.

Aug 27, 2016 12:09 AM
Rainmaker
3,244,855
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

I'm assuming there was an appointment made and confirmed.  Carry on.   

Aug 26, 2016 11:54 PM
Rainmaker
5,266,230
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

We usually do not attend these inspections.

Aug 26, 2016 11:47 PM
Rainmaker
4,796,551
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

I allow them to interact while acting as the moderator.

Aug 26, 2016 09:56 PM
Rainmaker
1,405,194
Kat Palmiotti
Grand Lux Realty, Monroe NY, 914-419-0270, kat@thehousekat.com - Monroe, NY
The House Kat

I'd make sure the seller knew we were coming and if yes, would just continue with the pest inspection. My buyer would already know not to say anything to the seller that could hurt the sale - so a "hello, I'm buyer" and "hello, I'm seller" and then move on to the inspection area would be just fine.

Aug 26, 2016 09:31 PM
Rainmaker
4,318,900
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Jason,

You have great answers here, you just make it work.  A

Aug 27, 2016 01:23 PM
Rainer
138,389
Chrissi Chapman Topoleski
Re/Max Real Estate Connections - Haymarket, VA
HOME~There is no place like it!

Normally I would call the seller's agent, but since ensuring the seller wasn't there hadn't been established up front, I'd grin and act as moderator, go home, and have a glass of wine.

Aug 27, 2016 06:16 AM
Rainmaker
1,523,566
Sybil Campbell
Long and Foster REALTORS® 5234 Monticello Ave Williamsburg, Virginia - Williamsburg, VA
REALTOR® ABR, SFR, SRES Williamsburg, Virginia

I like the way Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI NMLS#1483386 handle this situation.

Aug 27, 2016 03:43 AM
Rainmaker
912,017
Thomas J. Nelson, Realtor, ePRO, CRS, RCS-D
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

We never attend termite inspections unless they overlap the property inspection.

But, to your point, I always make sure we'll have the property sans seller in advance, if they are there when I show up ahead of the buyers, I'll politely confirm they are leaving momentarily. If that doesn't resolve it, I'll call their agent to find out "what went wrong with the communications"? It doesn't happen often, but ultimately I'd keep my appointment and caution my buyers not to interact too much pending the personality of the seller. It actually can be a good thing when the clients on both sides are mature.

Aug 26, 2016 11:46 PM
Rainmaker
1,280,414
Carol Williams
Although I'm retired, I love sharing my knowledge and learning from other real estate industry professionals. - Wenatchee, WA
Retired Agent / Broker / Property Manager

Not sure why the buyers would need to be present for a pest inspection, unless they're using it as an excuse to see the house again.  It's rarely a good thing to let the sellers and buyers linger and chit chat too long.  Things are said that are not in the contract and undocumented expectations could result.  People tend to have selective memories when it comes to undocumented conversations.  

Aug 26, 2016 11:37 PM
Rainmaker
2,425,830
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

The show must go on...The players have to get paid

Aug 26, 2016 11:27 PM
Rainmaker
3,172,300
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

The inspection goes on! Like Gabe I become a moderator until it is over!

Aug 26, 2016 11:03 PM
Rainmaker
1,026,912
Susan Haughton
Long and Foster REALTORS (703) 470-4545 - Alexandria, VA
Susan & Mindy Team...Honesty. Integrity. Results.

A buyer showing up for a pest inspection?  I gotta say, the only buyers I have ever had who wanted to show up at the pest inspection were the biggest PITA clients you can imagine.  It is customary in our area for the pest inspectors to have lockbox access and do their thing without anyone being there.  I use a pest inspector who does not do treatment, so he has no conflict of interest, which is not always the case. 

Aug 26, 2016 09:42 PM
Ambassador
2,850,656
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

I discuss it with the listing agent prior to if my buyers don't want them there. Otherwise I'm fine with it.

Aug 26, 2016 03:31 PM
Ambassador
3,045,245
Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®, CRS
RE/MAX Northwest. - Tacoma, WA
Tacoma Washington Agent/Broker & Market Authority!

Pest inspection don't take the time that a home inspection takes so I run  interference while the buyer walks around with the inspector.

Aug 26, 2016 02:25 PM
Ambassador
3,673,447
Patricia Kennedy
RLAH Real Estate - Washington, DC
Home in the Capital

If the buyer is there, it's no big deal.  Either there are bugs or not.  

Aug 26, 2016 01:00 PM
Ambassador
2,188,625
Debbie Laity
Cedaredge Land Company - Cedaredge, CO
Your Real Estate Resource for Delta County, CO

I like option D. And I would share with both the buyer and seller. 

Aug 26, 2016 12:53 PM
Rainmaker
730,490
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

I get the pest inspection done. Seller being there doesn't bother me.

Aug 26, 2016 12:41 PM
Ambassador
3,917,409
Jeff Dowler, CRS
Solutions Real Estate - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

I would contact the listing agent to discuss the matter. It's only happened twice that I can recall in a number of years!

Aug 26, 2016 11:50 AM
Rainmaker
280,079
Jeanne Gregory
RE/MAX Southwest - Sugar Land, TX
The most important home I sell is YOURS!

It's only a pest inspection.  Shouldn't last long.  Engage both sides in friendly conversation about the weather, football or who will win the world series.  Keep the discussion away from real estate.

Aug 26, 2016 11:12 AM
Rainmaker
999,596
Corinne Guest
Corinne Guest, REALTOR® | Barrington Realty Company - Barrington, IL
Barrington Lifestyles

Well first I would ask seller if there were expecting us, then I would ask if it's OK to carry out the pest inspection. Then I would let the buyer and seller talk like normal people but be on hand to nipp inappropriate conversations in the bud. Real estate is rarely confrontational, just be civil to all and nothing to worry about.

Aug 26, 2016 10:38 AM
Rainmaker
3,071,918
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

I would let the listing agent know they were home but still get the inspection done.

Aug 28, 2016 02:09 AM
Ambassador
3,981,962
Debbie Reynolds
Platinum Properties - Clarksville, TN
Your Dedicated Clarksville TN Real Estate Agent

I don't think I understand what is going on. The buyer brings a contractor to to pest inspection? Sellers are generally home for these and have never had a buyer attend a pest inspection. There seems to be more going on here.

Aug 27, 2016 10:42 AM
Ambassador
2,344,789
Fred Griffin presently on Leave of Absence
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

     I am happy for either Buyer or Seller, or both, to be present during inspections...  as long as they stay out of the way and don't breathe down the inspector's neck. 

Aug 27, 2016 07:24 AM
Rainmaker
724,785
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

Owner has the right to be home, it's HIS house, although things would probably go better without him.  Just carry on.

Aug 27, 2016 04:11 AM
Rainmaker
4,431,983
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

I do not ask them to leave.

Aug 26, 2016 10:03 PM
Rainmaker
3,049,971
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
BVO Luxury Group @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty - Scottsdale, AZ
Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ

Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI NMLS#1483386 nailed this one!

Aug 26, 2016 09:59 PM
Rainmaker
346,916
Teri Pacitto
Compass - Westlake Village, CA
Real Estate, Your Style...Your Home...My Specialty

In CA typically the seller's agent would be the one who would meet the termite inspector.  In a situation where the buyer is obtaining a termite report I would make arrangements to be there and probably not the buyer.  

Ken Jones has very valid points and I concur with him on this. 

Aug 26, 2016 01:52 PM
Ambassador
3,191,083
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
Charlotte Homes for Sale - Charlotte Neighborhoods

If your buyer is okay with it, sometimes it helps 'soften the blow' of the repair request negotiations!  It's typically a very civil time and sellers love telling the buyers things about the home (how much they love the neighbors, how to operate the surround sound or irrigation system, etc.).  It's rarely uncomfortable.  When the inspector is through and ready to give the report, politely step out of the room or outdoors, away from the seller's earshot.

Aug 26, 2016 12:05 PM
Rainmaker
383,277
Lynnea Miller
Bend Premier Real Estate - Bend, OR
Premier Real Estate Service in Central Oregon

Ask the sellers if we had the wrong time for the inspection? The sellers should not be present and having them there would be inappropriate. The only time seller presence may be beneficial is with new construction in which the builder can talk with the inspector and answer questions and if the inspector finds something that needs repair, the builder may be able to have it corrected before the inspection is completed.

Aug 28, 2016 09:58 AM
Rainmaker
1,478,361
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • Green • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

Even I like your D choice the best, I'd go with A and B. 

Aug 27, 2016 04:48 AM
Ambassador
1,613,518
Harry F. D'Elia
RentVest - Phoenix, AZ
Investor , Mentor, GRI, Radio, CIPS, REOs, ABR

bye bye seller go for a long coffee

Aug 27, 2016 02:49 AM
Rainer
211,834
Jessie Cochran
Counts Real Estate Group, Inc. - Panama City, FL
Panama City Realty Group

D: call the listing agent and have them contact their seller

Aug 27, 2016 12:40 AM
Rainmaker
3,977,717
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

If the sellers were not supposed to be there I would be calling the agent

Aug 26, 2016 11:47 AM
Rainmaker
2,394,765
Evelyn Johnston
Friends & Neighbors Real Estate - Elkhart, IN
The People You Know, Like and Trust!

I would be calling the listing agent and let them know we are uncomfortable with the sellers in the house.

Aug 26, 2016 11:19 AM