Debbie Reynolds, Your Dedicated Clarksville TN Real Estate Agent (Platinum Properties)

Spam prevention
Ambassador
2,343,939
Fred Griffin presently on Leave of Absence
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

     Put the question back on them.  "Well, here are the problems... what would you like for the Seller to do?" 

    I do advise Buyers not to nickel / dime the Seller over minor issues, but if it's major (roof, HVAC, wiring, plumbing) then some re-negotiation is in order.

Sep 08, 2016 10:57 AM
Ambassador
3,673,422
Patricia Kennedy
RLAH Real Estate - Washington, DC
Home in the Capital

I think we should guide them.  What's important?  If you include an entire laundry list that includes a lot of petty nonsense, the sellers might not agree to anything.  In my market, we sell used houses that are usually close to 100-years old.  The inspection is to let the buyers know what they are getting,not to reopen the negotiations - especially items that were included on the property condition disclosures. 

Sep 08, 2016 11:26 AM
Rainmaker
725,030
Pete Xavier
Investments to Luxury - Pacific Palisades, CA
Outstanding Agent Referrals-Nationwide

I would explain what is customary and what is at stake in negotiating repairs. Than of course let them decide.

Sep 08, 2016 11:09 AM
Rainmaker
2,655,894
Debbie Gartner
The Flooring Girl - White Plains, NY
The Flooring Girl & Blog Stylist -Dynamo Marketers

No, I don't think it's outside of your role.  As an "expert," who has experience, you should know what are show stoppers, what's reasonable, what's not, what you feel can be negotiated, what will upset seller.

The truth is, this should really be joint w/ the buyer w/ advice and counsel from realtor.

Some 1st time home buyers over react to inspection report and are unreasonable.

Sep 08, 2016 11:01 AM
Rainmaker
2,970,381
Nina Hollander
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

I always have an in-depth discussion with my clients about what we should or shouldn't ask for.

Sep 08, 2016 09:02 PM
Ambassador
2,848,810
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

I feel comfortable guiding a conversation.... 

like, I ask, "would you feel confident to change electrical outlets to GFCI or would you want to hire an electrician?"  can you "live with" the stained carpet on the stairs for a year until you are in a better financial place to change it?  I also sometimes recommend them speaking with a general contractor to get a baseline idea of price without an actual estimate if I think the things are not safety related.  I also point out things that I feel a VA and/or FHA appraiser will also make note of on the appraisal and if funds will be also available at that point to require repairs.

Sep 08, 2016 03:31 PM
Rainmaker
3,977,611
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

I revert the question back to them and ask what part of the inspection bothers you.  I will point out the most blatant and costly ones.

Sep 08, 2016 12:21 PM
Rainmaker
2,762,673
Kathleen Daniels
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
San Jose Homes for Sale-Probate & Trust Specialist

Heck  no ... it is not out of my scope of expertise.  That is one reason a buyer hires me. I use the inspection reports are a guide. Then I make the recommendations from there. 

Sep 09, 2016 12:52 AM
Rainmaker
821,770
Jennifer Mackay
Counts Real Estate Group, Inc. - Panama City, FL
Your Bay County Florida Realtor 850.774.6582

I do my best to guide my customer without directing them - for example I would ask them, "Well what is most important to you - a new A/C unit or a new garbage disposal"

They usually make the right decision

Sep 08, 2016 11:45 PM
Rainmaker
1,401,904
Kat Palmiotti
Grand Lux Realty, Monroe NY, 914-419-0270, kat@thehousekat.com - Monroe, NY
The House Kat

I think our role is to guide our buyers but the decision on what to request is theirs. I'm at the inspection with them, so we've already discussed a lot of it before the report comes out. I usually encourage them to only focus only on items that are safety, structure or mortgage related. A cracked tile? A missing piece of trim? They can take care of minor things when they move in.

Sep 08, 2016 08:39 PM
Rainmaker
5,258,734
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

Advise them but leave the decisions up to them. Explain the possible consequences in multiple contract situations.

Sep 08, 2016 07:51 PM
Rainmaker
3,237,979
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

The California purchase agreement reflects all properties are sold in "as is" condition but this does not stop buyers(and their agents) from using the inspection/investigation time period as a means of re-negotiating the agreed upon terms of the purchase agreement.   

Depending on our role in the transaction, I see no issue with making recommendations but reinforcing the terms of the contract that the seller does not have to repair/replace/credit/reduce the price.  It's good to remain mindful that real estate involves negotiation but petty nit-picking may leave you "homeless".    Obviously our always changing market conditions have an influence as well.  

Sep 08, 2016 05:30 PM
Ambassador
4,298,221
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Debbie Reynolds - suggestions are perfectly fine. The final decision should be of buyers.

Sep 08, 2016 03:49 PM
Rainmaker
4,309,178
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Debbie,

I think you can alwasys guide. A

Sep 08, 2016 02:13 PM
Rainmaker
910,452
Thomas J. Nelson, Realtor, ePRO, CRS, RCS-D
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

Health, safety or blatant broken-I point it out.

Nickle & Dime or age & cosmetics issues-my mouth is shut.

Slippery slope to dive into that otherwise.

 

Sep 08, 2016 12:48 PM
Ambassador
1,962,728
Silvia Dukes PA, Broker Associate, CRS, CIPS, SRES
Tropic Shores Realty - Ich spreche Deutsch! - Spring Hill, FL
Florida Waterfront and Country Club Living

I would not recommend it but refer them back to the home inspector to discuss these issues. 

Sep 08, 2016 10:59 AM
Rainmaker
396,134
Katina Hargrove 352-551-0308
Stake Your Land Realty, Inc. - Eustis, FL
Broker/Owner, GRI,SFR, REALTOR®

Debbie Reynolds,

It all depends on the type of repairs the buyer is asking the seller to fix.

Sep 14, 2016 10:14 PM
Rainmaker
4,018,153
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

I reverse the question, and ask the buyer what is the most important to them, and be sure it is about health and safety, not cosmetic.

Sep 12, 2016 10:34 AM
Rainer
42,255
Fred Hafdelin
Weichert Realtors - Mountain Lakes, NJ

I recommend that they ask to have all safety , non functional  and building code issues repaired.

Sep 09, 2016 08:04 PM
Rainmaker
534,100
Tony Lewis
RE/MAX of Valencia (Hall of Fame) 30 year Valencia Resident - Valencia, CA
RE/MAX Valencia, Stevenson Ranch, Santa Clarita

Debbie Reynolds my answer is 100% yes.  We, as their Realtor, know the standard practices and what could be and should be fixed.  My speech starts off "All homes in California are sold as-is.  The contract states this but also give the buyer the right to ask for repairs and the seller to make all, some or none of them.  The buyer has the right to accept, reject or counter.  The contract can not be consummated until their is an agreement on the acceptable condition"  It is our duty to advise our clients on what items are urgent and which are just cosmetic as well.

Sep 09, 2016 03:09 PM
Rainmaker
1,523,560
Sybil Campbell
Long and Foster REALTORS® 5234 Monticello Ave Williamsburg, Virginia - Williamsburg, VA
REALTOR® ABR, SFR, SRES Williamsburg, Virginia

Yes, Debbie, let them decide but I would tell them not to over react and look at what is important.

Sep 09, 2016 01:04 PM
Ambassador
3,981,932
Debbie Reynolds
Platinum Properties - Clarksville, TN
Your Dedicated Clarksville TN Real Estate Agent

Thank you all for your input. The buyer made their decisions based on my recommendation to include all safety and structural items that were called out by the inspector. 

Sep 09, 2016 12:16 PM
Ambassador
2,188,589
Debbie Laity
Cedaredge Land Company - Cedaredge, CO
Your Real Estate Resource for Delta County, CO

It's really up to the buyers. I wouldn't want to be on the line for making that decision. 

Sep 09, 2016 12:02 PM
Rainmaker
442,453
Dianne Goode
Raleigh Cary Realty - Raleigh, NC
Realtor/Broker

We go over the inspection report item by item and I usually indicate what I recommend for each one.  "This one we should definitely ask for .. That's really a maintenance issue .."  etc.  I make it clear that it's their decision but sometimes I'll say, "We can ask and see what happens"  or "Expect that one to be declined."

Sep 09, 2016 09:12 AM
Rainmaker
3,063,516
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

This could be a problem if you do not recommend right,  I am not the inspector.

Sep 09, 2016 08:25 AM
Ambassador
2,751,408
Dick Greenberg
New Paradigm Partners LLC - Fort Collins, CO
Northern Colorado Residential Real Estate

Hi Debbie - We'll advise on general strategy, but not usually on the details unless we're well-versed in a specific one.

Sep 09, 2016 08:17 AM
Rainmaker
1,520,561
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Geneva Financial, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

If you are a single agent, not at all. I would be fightling to get everything repaired for my clients as an initial starting point and negotiate from there.

Sep 09, 2016 06:29 AM
Rainmaker
4,864,159
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Franklin, MA
Marketing Agent for The Todaro Team

If I were a buyer's agent, I would discuss the options and make some recommendations to request to be done....but also relay that it's another negotiating process and the answer may be NO to all...or maybe some will get done....

Sep 09, 2016 05:35 AM
Rainmaker
679,659
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

Safety and habitability. "Now, what do you want?"

Sep 09, 2016 04:58 AM
Rainer
187,145
Sharon Altier, SFR
Lawton Realty Group, Inc. - Elmhurst, IL

I will remind them that their office was based on what they could visibly see.  Unless it is a safety item or unforeseen hazard/issue, they should use the inspection report as a "to do" list when they move in. 

 

Sep 09, 2016 04:17 AM
Ambassador
4,050,195
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams Fox Cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

It is their decision, but they hired you for your expert advice and opinion so you really should help them with this decision.

Sep 09, 2016 03:43 AM
Rainmaker
1,210,204
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
www.HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

I don't recommend, but I help them decide what are the things they should request.  A broken oven or dishwasher?  Yes, you expect that to work.  An electrical outlet that has a different type of cover than the newest code?  Can you live with it?

Sep 09, 2016 03:06 AM
Rainmaker
1,026,912
Susan Haughton
Long and Foster REALTORS (703) 470-4545 - Alexandria, VA
Susan & Mindy Team...Honesty. Integrity. Results.

I feel strongly this is one of the reasons buyers hire us in the first place.  I'm not in the camp of those agents who are so risk averse they fail to do their job. 

Every negotiation is different;  what one asks for during a home inspection negotiation depends on the price paid, competition for the property, if any, and what items, if any, the buyer is willing to take on.  I have a thorough discussion with my buyers about every item; if there is a question about the cost of a repair, if I don't already have a good grasp (and after years in this business, any agent should), I get a quote. 

Sep 09, 2016 01:54 AM
Rainmaker
1,366,627
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Debbie Reynolds Beyond the written addendum, it is their decision for wanted repairs. I do recommend they not restate walk-through items which are mandatory repairs in the contract.

Sep 09, 2016 01:34 AM
Rainmaker
526,059
Mike & Eve Alexander
Buyers Broker of Florida - Orlando, FL
Exclusively Representing ONLY Orlando Home Buyers

Since I always represent the buyer, my advice is expected so I always recommend.

My answer is...it just depends.  It depends on what the problems are, the buyers available cash and the overall condition of the property and the price.

If they paid top dollar, that is different than if they are buying at a discount. 

I prefer to ask for a credit or price adjustment rather than have the seller fix anything.  I find that most of the time the seller looks for the cheapest fix that might not be acceptable.

Eve

 

Sep 09, 2016 12:52 AM
Rainmaker
4,796,451
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

I will discuss this with them.  But, ultimately, it's their decision.

Sep 09, 2016 12:32 AM
Rainer
46,974
Kim Loizzi
Century 21 - Christel Realty - Sparta, NJ
Broker Associate - North West New Jersey

Generally this is discussed with the attorney in NJ, but as their resource a little insight can be helpful. My first question is "What are the deal killers". Remind them again that a home inspectors job is to find something wrong with the house. If they didn't they should find another profession. With that said, every house has something. I ask probing questions and then let them think they figured it out on their own without me actually saying roof, heating, A/C etc. Negotiate a home warranty.

Sep 09, 2016 12:17 AM
Rainer
211,234
Jessie Cochran
Counts Real Estate Group, Inc. - Panama City, FL
Panama City Realty Group

I think it's all how  you approach the answer - evils advocate kinda thing

Sep 09, 2016 12:00 AM
Rainmaker
551,773
Peter Mohylsky, SoWal Is HOME.
PrimeSouth Properties - Santa Rosa Beach, FL
Let me help you find your path to the beach.

I typically review the identified problems personally to see what the actual problem is, then I discuss with the buyer and determine their wishes.  

Sep 08, 2016 11:50 PM
Rainmaker
742,782
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

Depends on the content of the contract.

If the seller has conceded to making repairs up to $$$, then I would adive the buyer to make sure the seller has the opportunity to spend the budgeted amount.

If I am aware the seller/listing agent has 'shopped' this offer and there are buyers waiting for this client to do something stupid, I would suggest foregoing the 'reversed polarity' outlet concern the inspected felt compelled to list and encourage the buyer to get this deal closed.

Obviously, safety issues, do not provide the ignore option.

Sep 08, 2016 11:44 PM
Rainmaker
2,422,951
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

I would gladly point out what should or should not be done

Sep 08, 2016 11:23 PM
Rainmaker
1,276,696
Carol Williams
Although I'm retired, I love sharing my knowledge and learning from other real estate industry professionals. - Wenatchee, WA
Retired Agent / Broker / Property Manager

I usually tried to explain that a "used" home is going to have some issues and that we should be concerned mostly with health and safety issues.  Much of it depends on the market conditions.    Lots of good responses here so far.

Sep 08, 2016 11:04 PM
Rainmaker
3,761,923
Dorie Dillard CRS GRI ABR
Coldwell Banker United Realtors® ~ 512.750.6899 - Austin, TX
Serving Buyers & Sellers in NW Austin Real Estate

No I don't consider it outside your scope of expertise..I've reviewed thousands of inspection reports. It's our job to guide our buyers which is different in various market places. If its a seller's market you make advise very few repair requests. If it's a buyers market more may be request. Health and safety issues always.

Sep 08, 2016 10:32 PM
Rainmaker
1,504,160
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg IL Real Estate

I always say pick your battles & ask for the most important ONE. Not a list with ridiculous nonsense.

I can't believe a state instructor basically told you to stay out of it. You are involved as a confidant no matter what. The buyers look to us for advice. 

Sep 08, 2016 10:02 PM
Rainmaker
3,163,715
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

I let the buyer decide. He is the one with skin in the game!

Sep 08, 2016 10:02 PM
Rainmaker
2,890,027
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

I do give my opinion, and sometimes suggest we call the inspector for guidance.

Sep 08, 2016 10:00 PM
Rainmaker
2,939,752
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of Manchester NH's Leading Agents

When a buyer asks, i will point out the pros and cons of each in both cost or repair and importance of repair. Those hidden items are more important than what we saw when we made the offer.  roof, septic, well and heating systems are tops on my list

Sep 08, 2016 09:46 PM
Rainmaker
3,049,771
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
BVO Luxury Group @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty - Scottsdale, AZ
Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ

That's up to them.

Sep 08, 2016 09:44 PM
Rainmaker
1,237,832
Raymond E. Camp
Howard Hanna Real Estate Services - Ontario, NY
Licensed Real Estate Salesperson Greater Rochester

As they are only buying on average every five years some help would not be out of line as we see it every day.

Sep 08, 2016 09:35 PM
Rainmaker
1,477,056
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • Green • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

I just point to all those red, and other color lines in the report and we decide together what is the most important for them. I truly prefer not to write every single issue mentioned in that report  into the Request for Repairs. 

Sep 08, 2016 04:37 PM
Ambassador
3,041,051
Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®, CRS
RE/MAX Northwest. - Tacoma, WA
Tacoma Washington Agent/Broker & Market Authority!

I recommend they take the advise of the man or woman who did the home inspection. Yes beyond my scope 

Sep 08, 2016 04:30 PM
Rainmaker
2,394,715
Evelyn Johnston
Friends & Neighbors Real Estate - Elkhart, IN
The People You Know, Like and Trust!

Yes, it is out of my scope.

Sep 08, 2016 02:32 PM
Rainer
302,029
Melissa Jackson
Citiwide Alliance Realty - Weatherford, TX
Helping You Make The Right Move

I would discuss important items on the list. Otherwise let them talk to the inspector.

Sep 08, 2016 02:10 PM
Rainmaker
983,648
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

They respect you. I will work with some items relatively affordable but urgent. 

Sep 08, 2016 01:06 PM