Anna Banana Kruchten CRB, CRS 602-380-4886, Arizona's Top Banana! (Phoenix Property Shoppe)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
526,059
Mike & Eve Alexander
Buyers Broker of Florida - Orlando, FL
Exclusively Representing ONLY Orlando Home Buyers

3 days for the comprehensive and then came the specialists.  We use only the best in the business, so it is not that anyone was too slow.

A huge complicated estate.

 

Eve

Sep 22, 2016 02:28 AM
Rainmaker
2,422,675
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

I had a six hour one or there abouts with me telling the guy...MOVE IT ALREADY! The house was in great condition and he was dressed up in a type suit with all the tools & gadgets attached running around like a bomb squad

Sep 21, 2016 11:57 PM
Rainer
211,134
Jessie Cochran
Counts Real Estate Group, Inc. - Panama City, FL
Panama City Realty Group

We've had a few that took quite a few due to recurring repairs and revisitng over and over

Sep 21, 2016 11:28 PM
Rainmaker
4,863,072
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Franklin, MA
Marketing Agent for The Todaro Team

I can remember a 6 hour inspection .... a new construction home that was purchased 70% through the final stage....

Sep 21, 2016 11:06 PM
Rainmaker
910,227
Thomas J. Nelson, Realtor, ePRO, CRS, RCS-D
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

When I sell estates, $1.5-$4 million (so far), the inspection alone can take 4-6 hours in a 5,000-10,000 sqft home. The follow up with roof, chimney, pool, HVAC, pest, plumbing & electrical can easily total 12-18 hours spread out over 3-4 days. That was more frequent when I sold in The Bay Area than here in San Diego, but we have some sprawling estates here too.

Sep 21, 2016 01:56 PM
Ambassador
3,673,422
Patricia Kennedy
RLAH Real Estate - Washington, DC
Home in the Capital

Well, I thought that 5 hours was really, really long.  But 12 hours?  Yikes!

Sep 21, 2016 12:48 PM
Rainmaker
3,761,823
Dorie Dillard CRS GRI ABR
Coldwell Banker United Realtors® ~ 512.750.6899 - Austin, TX
Serving Buyers & Sellers in NW Austin Real Estate

That is absurd!! Did they find anything? Sid they go through with the transaction and close?

Sep 21, 2016 11:43 AM
Ambassador
3,075,864
Chris Ann Cleland
Long and Foster REALTORS®, Gainesville, VA - Bristow, VA
Associate Broker, Bristow, VA

I once sat through a four hour inspection at a very small two bedroom home.  I expected it to take about two hours.  The inspector was slow as molasses.  

Sep 21, 2016 11:17 AM
Ambassador
1,249,433
Susan Emo
Sotheby's International Realty Canada - Brokerage - Kingston, ON
Kingston and the 1000 Islands Area

I chased one out after 6 hours: told him I'd start charging him rent if he didn't pack up and leave.  It was a tiny little place too!  My Buyers were ready to pull their hair out and it was the Seller that called me to find out why they were still there.

Sep 21, 2016 11:08 AM
Rainmaker
998,342
Corinne Guest
Corinne Guest, REALTOR® | Barrington Realty Company - Barrington, IL
Barrington Lifestyles

9 hours. But I have dropped that inspector, my others can do big houses in 4. 12 is nuts.

Sep 21, 2016 10:56 AM
Ambassador
3,981,932
Debbie Reynolds
Platinum Properties - Clarksville, TN
Your Dedicated Clarksville TN Real Estate Agent

Maybe a total of 8 hours with all the various inspections required. That is pretty lengthy as an average inspection is about 4 hours.

Sep 21, 2016 10:45 AM
Ambassador
3,912,204
Jeff Dowler, CRS
Solutions Real Estate - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

Great question. I had one buyer do a home inspection, pool, fire sprinklers, fireplace, land survey, geology/structural, roof, and HVAC - all separate and at different times. Well in excess of 20 hours (but he was not present - out of state buyer). And did I mention the attorney for easement issues?

Sep 21, 2016 10:41 AM
Ambassador
2,343,739
Fred Griffin presently on Leave of Absence
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

  I had a 12-hour Buyer recently. 

  3 different inspectors.  A termite (WDO) guy was there for an hour.  A home inspector (one of the best) who typically takes 6+ hours.  And a foundation specialist for an hour or two (off-grade house, 1960). 

   The Buyer said he was there from 8:00AM until past dinner time! (I was fortunately out of town and could not attend).

Sep 21, 2016 10:39 AM
Ambassador
4,049,253
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams Fox Cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Must have been a very thorough inspection.

In our business two weeks may be a quickie, some of the large timberland purchases take months to complete.

Sep 22, 2016 12:34 AM
Rainmaker
821,580
Jennifer Mackay
Counts Real Estate Group, Inc. - Panama City, FL
Your Bay County Florida Realtor 850.774.6582

Quite a few - too many to count - the inspector sure lost money on one in particular

Sep 22, 2016 12:24 AM
Rainmaker
742,762
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

4 hours tops for a 2,500 sq foot inspection.

Learned my lesson early in the business when the inspector and buyer engaged in war stories. Had to, figuratively, rap the inspectors knuckles with a ruler and instructed him to get to work.  From that time, I inquire if the inspector has a following appointment and if not, I keep the chit-chat focused on THIS house.

Sep 22, 2016 12:18 AM
Rainmaker
4,431,972
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

6 hours for a one year old condo.

Sep 21, 2016 11:53 PM
Rainmaker
1,366,527
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Anna Banana Kruchten I wonder if the inspectors got paid by the hour?

Sep 21, 2016 11:50 PM
Rainmaker
1,503,980
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg IL Real Estate

Wow, that is total overkill. You could have brought a sleeping bag & had a nap in between.

I haven't been longer than 4 hours ever.

Sep 21, 2016 11:24 PM
Rainmaker
2,939,018
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of Manchester NH's Leading Agents

Never that long Anna Banana Kruchten , mine is about 6 hours although last month i had a 4 hour one that was just as painful

Sep 21, 2016 11:12 PM
Rainmaker
3,062,878
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

5 hours at the house  is the most for the inspection.

Sep 21, 2016 11:06 PM
Rainmaker
3,162,500
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

5 hours at a very large home with 4 inspectors!

Sep 21, 2016 10:56 PM
Rainmaker
1,520,396
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Geneva Financial, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

That is a bit much. What did you sell; the capitol building?

Sep 21, 2016 10:48 PM
Rainmaker
5,257,579
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

You would not find me at an inspection for 12 hours.

Sep 21, 2016 09:29 PM
Rainmaker
1,401,304
Kat Palmiotti
Grand Lux Realty, Monroe NY, 914-419-0270, kat@thehousekat.com - Monroe, NY
The House Kat

I'd say about 6 hours which was a few visits by different inspectors. 12+ hours is a lot - I hope the deal closed!

Sep 21, 2016 09:12 PM
Rainmaker
3,049,771
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
BVO Luxury Group @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty - Scottsdale, AZ
Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ

3

Sep 21, 2016 08:44 PM
Rainmaker
3,172,537
Endre Barath, Jr.
Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices - Beverly Hills, CA
Realtor - Los Angeles Home Sales 310.486.1002

Anna,I wrote about a similar event about seven or eight years ago... the inspector should I say the crook was getting paid by the hour... Endre

Sep 21, 2016 04:17 PM
Ambassador
4,298,221
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Anna Banana Kruchten - I think the max was about 4 hours.

Sep 21, 2016 04:15 PM
Ambassador
3,179,653
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
Charlotte Homes for Sale - Charlotte Neighborhoods

Anna, I had one recently that the buyer conducted every inspection known to mankind!  The agent attended every single one and I do believe it was easily in excess of 12 hours (over 6,000SF house and detached guest house).  I was almost as happy as the buyers' agent when they were all completed...ALMOST!

Sep 21, 2016 03:50 PM
Ambassador
2,848,810
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

I would have to say about 6, but one of my agents is in a current deal that mirrors your numbers.  Primary inspection. French Drain guy, HVAC guy, Electrician, Plumber, re-inspect after repairs by original inspector. UGH.

Sep 21, 2016 03:19 PM
Ambassador
3,040,680
Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®, CRS
RE/MAX Northwest. - Tacoma, WA
Tacoma Washington Agent/Broker & Market Authority!

Six long hours!

Sep 21, 2016 02:39 PM
Rainmaker
4,307,948
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Anna,

Wow, that is extreme.  We had long inspections that took days on high rise buildings.  Of course, there are so many systems to check on.  A

Sep 21, 2016 01:59 PM
Rainmaker
260,728
Allie Angeloni
Long Realty - Oro Valley, AZ

Whoa . . .  I have never heard of 12+ hours for Inspections Anna Banana Kruchten.  I'm thinking that Buyer either had numerous issues, or one really big pricey one, in a previous home, and they are now 'covering all bridges'!  Or, they are a true "cross the T, and dot the I" type of person.  I hope the home 'passed' all Inspections . . .  Our longest Inspection time was a 1/2 day. 

Sep 21, 2016 01:22 PM
Rainmaker
1,648,641
Lise Howe
Keller Williams Capital Properties - Washington, DC
Assoc. Broker and Attorney Licensed in DC, MD, VA,

5 hours - yours sounds awful!

Sep 21, 2016 01:13 PM
Rainmaker
2,394,715
Evelyn Johnston
Friends & Neighbors Real Estate - Elkhart, IN
The People You Know, Like and Trust!

That is some serious time! Was everything wrong with the home?

Sep 21, 2016 12:34 PM
Rainmaker
441,751
Diana Dahlberg
1 Month Realty - Pleasant Prairie, WI
Real Estate in Kenosha, WI since 1994 262-308-3563

Maybe 5 hours ... that's about it.  Wow!  12+ hours?  That's crazy!

Sep 21, 2016 12:04 PM
Ambassador
1,769,665
Noah Seidenberg
Coldwell Banker - Evanston, IL
Chicagoland and Suburbs (800) 858-7917

Two hours Anna. I know of two inspectors that are deal killers and they hate Realtors. I have heard about these drawn out inspections.

Sep 21, 2016 11:38 AM
Rainmaker
2,476,101
Rebecca Gaujot, Realtor®
Vision Quest Realty - Lewisburg, WV
Lewisburg WV, the go to agent for all real estate

The most has been four hours. On this inspection, the inspector had to come back the next day to complete inspections because of the rain.

Sep 21, 2016 11:17 AM
Rainmaker
983,617
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

Many inspections I showed them what I have done underneath and in the attic , roof. The inspector missed a bunch and I shared data with him to make it more comprehensive.

Sep 21, 2016 10:58 AM
Rainmaker
633,724
Kathleen Luiten
Resort and Second-Home Specialist - Princeville, HI
Kauai Luxury Ocean Home Sales

I had a couple of 5 and 6 hour inspections. Crazy!

Sep 25, 2016 06:44 PM
Ambassador
1,490,516
John McCormack, CRS
Albuquerque Homes Realty - Albuquerque, NM
Honesty, Integrity, Results, Experienced. HIRE Me!

Good grief...... I will never complain again! 

Sep 22, 2016 12:08 AM
Rainmaker
3,237,213
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Some properties take longer than usual and some buyers are more detailed than others.  I'm not surprised at twelve hours total(including follow up inspections) though depending on the size, condition and complexity of a property.   

Sep 21, 2016 11:30 PM
Ambassador
1,613,518
Harry F. D'Elia
RentVest - Phoenix, AZ
Investor , Mentor, GRI, Radio, CIPS, REOs, ABR

It must of been the agents first deal. Wow

Sep 21, 2016 10:06 PM