Paul S.  Henderson, REALTOR®, CRS, Tacoma Washington Agent/Broker & Market Authority! (RE/MAX Northwest.)

Spam prevention
Ambassador
3,185,367
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
Charlotte Homes for Sale - Charlotte Neighborhoods

Yes, Paul! During the recession, that was rampant! Another house would pop up that they thought they like better and they would stiff the inspector.

I would chase them down and explain - "The inspector had nothing to do with your termination of the Contract. He WAS asked, and DID, however, provide a service to you, for which you owe him." I had a couple of people hem and haw but, eventually they did pay. 

I haven't had that happen in a long time though - thank goodness!

Aug 12, 2018 09:20 PM
Ambassador
3,042,757
Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®, CRS
RE/MAX Northwest. - Tacoma, WA
Tacoma Washington Agent/Broker & Market Authority!

I tried on 2 occasions to explain to two different buyers on two separate inspections that they still owed the inspector. I ended up paying for one and the inspector returned My check onthe other time. I fired both clients...

Aug 12, 2018 07:33 PM
Rainmaker
692,562
Richard Bazinet /MBA, CRS, ABR
WestUSA Realty - Scottsdale, AZ
Phoenix Scottsdale. Sellers, Buyers & Relocations

You mean the buyer booked the home inspection, had the inspection, got the results, then won't pay for it? What an a-hole. I'd fire this client so frigging fast.

Aug 12, 2018 08:46 PM
Rainmaker
3,240,942
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Interesting question.  I don't recall this ever occurring to me.

Aug 12, 2018 07:55 PM
Rainmaker
2,704,298
Lisa Von Domek
Lisa Von Domek Team - Dallas, TX
....Experience Isn't Expensive.... It's Priceless!

No, and I hope that never happens.  The inspectors usually have their appointments pre-paid when the buyers schedule online here.

Aug 12, 2018 07:30 PM
Rainmaker
2,974,333
Nina Hollander
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

That has not happened. My clients order their inspections and pay for them upfront via credit card. I believe it's the law in NC that a report not be issued by the inspector until payment has been received and a "contract" signed for the inspection. So without paying upfront they don't get a report and don't know if they should or shouldn't walk from the house.

If they are serious buyers, they are nuts not to pay. That inspector could file a claim which would impact their credit and possible financing for the next home.

Aug 13, 2018 03:52 AM
Rainer
222,517
J.R. Schloemer, CRS
Kentucky Select Properties - Louisville, KY

Fortunately, I have not had this happen before. I had an inspectior that wouldn’t allow the buyer to leave the home before paying. I stopped using him after that instance. My current inspector won’t accept payment before the buyers say they are happy with his report.

Aug 12, 2018 07:36 PM
Ambassador
2,849,864
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

our buyers order their own inspection and give credit card info to the inspector before it's done.  So, no.

Aug 12, 2018 10:06 PM
Rainmaker
382,677
Lynnea Miller
Bend Premier Real Estate - Bend, OR
Premier Real Estate Service in Central Oregon

Our inspectors require payment up front before doing the work. 

Aug 12, 2018 09:52 PM
Rainmaker
442,601
Diana Dahlberg
1 Month Realty - Pleasant Prairie, WI
Real Estate in Kenosha, WI since 1994 262-308-3563

And thus, the reason, most home inspectors require payment upfront BEFORE they do the home inspection.  That is rediculous that a buyer would refuse to pay an inspector when they did the job.  That is the risk a buyer must take when buying a home.  Honestly I have not had it happen ... but I would have a difficult time working with a buyer that did not see the need to pay a man for a hard day's work.

Aug 12, 2018 09:44 PM
Rainmaker
680,409
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

No. No. No, that does not happen in Blonde Universe. The home inspectors we work with get payment at time of service. They've learned!
Clients are instructed that they will prepay for inspections, nonrefundable, a cost of doing business.
Creeps such as you have described would be jettisoned. Don't F with our vendors!

Aug 13, 2018 03:09 AM
Rainmaker
261,128
Allie Angeloni
Long Realty - Oro Valley, AZ

Fortunately, I have not had any buyer refuse to pay for the Home Inspection, the Termite Inspection, the Pool Inspection, etc.  Our buyers arrange how payment will be made before the Inspections, and then they do not receive their reports until that goes through.  So, it's no report if no payment has been made Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®,CRS,.  

Aug 12, 2018 10:10 PM
Rainmaker
911,112
Thomas J. Nelson, Realtor, ePRO, CRS, RCS-D
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

Nope, those are C.O.D., it's not possible.

Aug 12, 2018 09:41 PM
Rainmaker
762,163
Kasey & John Boles
Jon Gosche Real Estate, LLC - BoiseMeridianRealEstate.com - Boise, ID
Boise & Meridian, ID Ada/Canyon/Gem/Boise Counties

Ooh, yikes. No. The inspectors have something the buyer sign when they hire them and it is contracted between the two of them. Unfortunately, the inspector may have to chase them for payment, but they owe it for services rendered. That's rough. -Kasey

Aug 12, 2018 08:39 PM
Ambassador
2,344,389
Fred Griffin presently on Leave of Absence
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

        Tallahassee home inspectors require payment up front before doing the inspection.

       I have the Buyer contact the Inspector and arrange for the inspection.  If there is a "payment malfunction", I will not get stuck with the bill.

Aug 12, 2018 08:20 PM
Ambassador
4,055,464
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams Fox Cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

We stay out of that arrangement, the buyer hires the inspector and pays according to their terms.

Aug 12, 2018 07:56 PM
Ambassador
3,981,944
Debbie Reynolds
Platinum Properties - Clarksville, TN
Your Dedicated Clarksville TN Real Estate Agent

No, I do not think that has ever happened. That is why I have the buyer call and arrange payment directly with the home inspector so there are no problems.

Aug 12, 2018 07:45 PM
Rainmaker
1,505,122
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg IL Real Estate

No & it would never happen as payment at the start of the inspection. I have known buyers who are miffed over the price of it but then I explain how it saved them 100's of thousands dollars on a lemon.

Aug 13, 2018 05:25 AM
Rainmaker
2,827,189
James Dray
Fathom Realty - Bentonville, AR
Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results

Not yet, but the day has just started

Aug 13, 2018 03:05 AM
Ambassador
4,298,246
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®,CRS, - Not happend to me - yet.

Aug 12, 2018 10:58 PM
Rainmaker
506,933
Dan Tabit
Keller Williams Bellevue - Sammamish, WA

I've had some delay in paying. My primary inspector won't release the report before it's paid for and tries to arrange payment up front. 

Aug 12, 2018 09:07 PM
Rainmaker
526,059
Mike & Eve Alexander
Buyers Broker of Florida - Orlando, FL
Exclusively Representing ONLY Orlando Home Buyers

What dirtbags!

I have never had a buyer not pay, or complain about the cost...but I have heard the stories.

IF however, I had a buyer stiff the inspector, I would pay them myself.

Eve

Aug 13, 2018 06:12 AM
Ambassador
1,620,409
Alan May
Coldwell Banker Residential - Evanston, IL
Helping you find your way home.

No, I have not.  Maybe that's why most of the inspectors insist on being paid at the time of service.

You would think that if the results were such that the buyer didn't want to buy the house... that would have proven the inspection highly valuable.

Aug 13, 2018 05:25 AM
Rainmaker
2,895,002
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

No I have not.  I wonder if they would refuse to pay a doctor because they told him he had cancer?

Aug 13, 2018 05:01 AM
Ambassador
1,963,143
Silvia Dukes PA, Broker Associate, CRS, CIPS, SRES
Tropic Shores Realty - Ich spreche Deutsch! - Spring Hill, FL
Florida Waterfront and Country Club Living

No, the home inspection services in our area typically collect payment before or at time of the home inspection and I let buyers know that when they schedule their inspections. 

Aug 13, 2018 04:55 AM
Ambassador
1,611,744
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

It happens, but some of the inspectors get fees upfront and offer a discount for that.

Aug 13, 2018 04:54 AM
Rainmaker
552,414
Peter Mohylsky, SoWal Is HOME.
PrimeSouth Properties - Santa Rosa Beach, FL
Let me help you find your path to the beach.

Home inspectors demand payment up front

Aug 13, 2018 04:47 AM
Rainmaker
610,739
Brenda Mayette
Miranda Real Estate Group, Inc. - Glenville, NY
Getting results w/ knowledge & know-how!

I always remind the buyer that inspections are fee-for-service & then let the inspector handle collection of funds (which most often occurs at the end of the inspection). 

Aug 13, 2018 04:44 AM
Rainmaker
5,264,108
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

No.

Aug 13, 2018 03:48 AM
Rainmaker
544,738
Steve Higgins
RE/MAX Kelowna - Kelowna, BC

No it hasn’t happened to me. My clients book their own home inspections. I will provide the names of 3 inspectors if they don’t have someone.

Aug 12, 2018 10:43 PM
Rainmaker
4,796,501
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

No.

Aug 13, 2018 07:43 AM
Rainmaker
53,655
Jordan Ayan
The Lifestyle Collection - Scottsdale, AZ
Luxury Market Expert, CLHMS,Million Dollar Guild

No, but our inspectors get a credit card over the phone before the inspector shows up.

Aug 13, 2018 05:52 AM
Rainmaker
743,532
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

They all paid.

Some objected to the reversal. Real estate agents giving everything away then encountering someone that actually wanted to be paid for their service. (What a concept!)

Yep, paying $300 to confirm what they already knew took them by surprise. Buyers pay before they see the inspection report in my little slice of paradise.

 

Aug 13, 2018 05:46 AM
Rainmaker
3,049,871
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
BVO Luxury Group @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty - Scottsdale, AZ
Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ

Our Buyers pay the home inspector PRIOR to the inspection.

Aug 13, 2018 05:35 AM
Rainmaker
3,167,411
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Never happened to me. Just lucky I guess!

Aug 13, 2018 05:29 AM
Rainmaker
4,313,288
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

No.

Aug 12, 2018 09:15 PM
Rainmaker
2,763,575
Kathleen Daniels
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
San Jose Homes for Sale-Probate & Trust Specialist

Buyers pay the inspections upfront.  The reports are not released until the company gets paid.  My answer is no. 

Aug 13, 2018 08:44 AM
Rainmaker
4,869,368
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Franklin, MA
Marketing Agent for The Todaro Team

no.... that hiring was done by the buyer....the agreement was between the buyer and the home inspector....we do not get involved with hiring a home inspector.... no one else is involved!!!

Aug 13, 2018 08:41 AM
Ambassador
906,934
Frank Rubi
Frank Rubi Real Estate, LLC - Metairie, LA
FrankRubiRealEstate.com

No has not happened.

Aug 13, 2018 08:40 AM
Rainmaker
1,278,306
Carol Williams
Although I'm retired, I love sharing my knowledge and learning from other real estate industry professionals. - Wenatchee, WA
Retired Agent / Broker / Property Manager

No and I only recall one instance where the home inspection resulted in the termination of the contract.

Aug 13, 2018 07:24 AM
Rainmaker
1,273,442
Wayne and Jean Marie Zuhl
Samsel & Associates - Clark, NJ
The Last Names You'll Ever Need in Real Estate

No. It's clear that the home inspector is the buyer's responsibility whether or not he buys.

Aug 13, 2018 07:04 AM
Rainmaker
1,135,084
Joyce Marsh
Regal | Christie's International Real Estate - Orlando, FL
Regional Manager Regal Christie's Int'l Realty

I have not had that happen. Payment is typically arranged between buyers and inspectors prior. 

Aug 13, 2018 06:18 AM
Rainmaker
350,570
Susie Kay
Ultima Real Estate - Plano, TX
North Dallas Specialist

Nope.   I've had times that the buyer refuses home inspection because they thought they can safe money.  In your case, I'm going to be firm with the buyer so they pay for the service.  

Aug 13, 2018 01:40 PM
Rainmaker
984,374
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

Sellers often provide a report to the buyers as a way to say this is as is sale.

Want to put others clauses or contigiency because of the condition? Sorry every other offers come with no contigiency.

 

Aug 13, 2018 09:46 AM
Rainmaker
1,211,014
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
www.HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

Our require payment upfront... I suspect for this reason.

Aug 13, 2018 09:06 AM
Rainmaker
4,431,983
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

No.

Aug 13, 2018 04:37 AM
Rainmaker
3,066,362
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

My home inspectors charges first thing before he starts.

 

Aug 19, 2018 11:38 AM
Rainmaker
351,053
Jill Murty, Realtor - Orange County, CA
PREA Realty - Laguna Niguel, CA

Nope!  I guess that's why payment is due at the conclusion of the inspection.

Aug 16, 2018 06:47 PM
Rainmaker
4,020,293
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

No, most inspectors won't release the report until they get paid, plus get it at the end of the inspection.

Aug 15, 2018 02:47 PM
Rainmaker
534,200
Tony Lewis
RE/MAX of Valencia (Hall of Fame) 30 year Valencia Resident - Valencia, CA
RE/MAX Valencia, Stevenson Ranch, Santa Clarita

Not yet, but this is a good reason to make sure the client calls for the inspection.

Aug 14, 2018 11:58 AM
Rainmaker
3,977,611
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

No, my inspectors get paid when they arrive at the home

Aug 13, 2018 06:28 PM
Rainmaker
823,093
Jennifer Mackay
Counts Real Estate Group, Inc. - Panama City, FL
Your Bay County Florida Realtor 850.774.6582

You betcha,

  • Buyer refused to pay for the inspection because they didn't like the results
  • Buyer refused to sign the mortgage docs because they didn't like the escrow officer
  • Buyer refused to buy the home because the walls were pink
  • Buyer refused to close because the seller wouldn't let them stay in it like they do on TV

I've got a million of them!

Aug 13, 2018 05:33 PM