Laura Curtis, I am a Student obtaining my Real Estate License (Stucki Farms )

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
1,009,405
Corinne Guest
Corinne Guest, REALTOR® | Barrington Realty Company - Barrington, IL
Barrington Lifestyles

I would be astounded. My morals are so high and I keep up to date with the laws etc. I guess I would feel devastated. And Confused. I would go digging!

Jul 30, 2019 10:07 AM
Ambassador
3,281,966
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
Charlotte Homes for Sale - Charlotte Neighborhoods

I would be shocked - I never compromise ethics or integrity. 

Good luck with your studies, Laura!

Jul 30, 2019 09:11 PM
Rainmaker
1,427,659
Kat Palmiotti
Grand Lux Realty, Monroe NY, 914-419-0270, kat@thehousekat.com - Monroe, NY
The House Kat

Surprised.

Jul 30, 2019 12:38 PM
Rainmaker
538,962
Peter Testa
Nationwide Homes - Danbury, CT
PETER TESTA

I wouldn't do anything that would put me in a position to be reported. If that happened I'd be prepared to defend my actions.

Jul 30, 2019 12:14 PM
Rainmaker
1,595,141
Bob "RealMan" Timm
Ward County Notary Services - Minot, ND
Owner of Ward Co. Notary Services, retired Realtor

I'd be shocked as I've never behaved unethically Laura Curtis 

Jul 30, 2019 11:24 AM
Rainer
46,860
Ken Jones
Ken Jones Real Estate Advisor - Toms River, NJ
Real Estate Training & Coaching

Laura Curtis Above all, I don't allow my feelings control my business activities; I deal in facts.

So, first, I'd review the allegations in their complaint.

Then, I'd review my factual actions with regard to the situation about which they are making the complaint.

If I am an agent working for a brokerage, I would bring this matter immediately to the attention of my broker and present the broker with my findings vs. the allegations and seek his/her advice and instruction.

If I'm the employing broker (which I am), I would contact my attorney at law and discuss the matter bringing my findings to my lawyer's attention and seeking his/her advice and instruction.

Most complaints are without merit; but, not ALL.

Regardless, all complaints must be answered.

In order to successfully defend against any complaint, it's CRITICALLY IMPORTANT to maintain meticulous records of conversations and activities, including emails, text messages, phone conversations, meetings, showings, property shown, property rejected, information presented at a listing presentation, etc., etc., etc.

I have long made audio recordings of most of my meetings and phone conversations (which is legal in my state being a "1-party" state).

In fact, I was once accused of a crime by a former client, and I used my recordings of my conversations with him to have his allegations dismissed.

You cannot possibly be too careful.

Jul 30, 2019 10:43 AM
Rainmaker
13,260
Karen Climer
Demetree School of Real Estate - Orlando, FL
Teaching people to pass the real estate exam

I think everyone would feel terrible.  Even if you are guilty of whatever was alleged and know you deserve the complaint, it's not going to be your best day.

Jul 30, 2019 10:19 AM
Rainmaker
475,219
Jason E. Gordon
AmeriFirst Financial Inc, San Diego, CA - San Diego, CA
Sr. Loan Officer, CMPS, CDLP, RCS-D, CDPE, CMHS

Although I am not a Real Estate Agent, I cannot imagine it would feel pleasant for anyone to file any type of complaint against me on any level (much less to my overseeing Board).

As with any complaint, the first thing I would do is determine if there was any negligence on my part. If so, I would fall on my sword and accept responsibility.

That said, if there was no fault on my end, I would diligently fight back and defend myself (through legal channels of course).

Jul 30, 2019 10:06 AM
Rainmaker
761,669
Doug Dawes
Keller Williams Realty - Topsfield, MA - Georgetown, MA
Your Personal Realtor®

I wouldn't be happy especially is the complaint was unfounded or frivolous 

Jul 31, 2019 07:43 AM
Rainmaker
2,888,104
James Dray
Fathom Realty - Rogers, AR
Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results

All I can say is they better have paperwork to back it up.

Jul 30, 2019 03:47 PM
Rainmaker
2,757,143
John Pusa
Berkshire Hathaway Home Services Crest - Glendale, CA
Your All Time Realtor With Exceptional Service

Laura Curtis I don't involve in misconduct, but I will read the complaint, then I will file a civil complaint against the person in court.

Jul 30, 2019 03:33 PM
Rainmaker
406,166
Dan Pittsenbarger
Keller Williams Western Realty - Bellingham, WA
Improving Conditions

I would of course feel crummy. However, if you just do a good job and always act in the clients best interest and stay in good communication with your clients,  you won't have to worry about it happening. It just won't happen.

Jul 30, 2019 03:19 PM
Rainer
231,647
J.R. Schloemer, CRS
Kentucky Select Properties - Louisville, KY

Pretty ticked. 

If I was to get written up and others out there get away with things they do...ticked probably wouldn’t scratch the surface. 

Jul 30, 2019 03:07 PM
Rainmaker
2,446,601
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

If I went around offending and stirring up trouble and then denied it and continued I would want someone to care enough to stop me anyway they could. Formal complaints may do the trick if one cannot be reached. How would I feel? I don't do anything to cause a complaint and if I do I remedy. Customer service or service the customer is no myth but a paid standard

Jul 30, 2019 02:14 PM
Rainmaker
1,230,781
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

How would you feel?

Jul 30, 2019 02:11 PM
Rainmaker
4,956,359
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Franklin, MA
Marketing Agent for The Todaro Team

I've been in real estate for 41 years (and counting!)  never has that happened....not even the threat of it possibly happening.... follow the law; use common sense and The Golden Rule.... you'll never need to think about that question..... 

Jul 30, 2019 11:54 AM
Rainmaker
4,407,991
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Laura,

How would you feel if someone did that?  This should be an incentive not to mess with the rules of your Real Estate department, and follow the rules to the letter...A

Jul 30, 2019 10:52 AM
Rainmaker
3,060,302
Nina Hollander
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

Not good... but I have no worries that this will happen. It hasn't in 26 years and I have no plans to be around for another 26 doing this. 

Jul 30, 2019 10:21 AM
Rainmaker
1,054,278
Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTACONDOS.COM
Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
Associate Broker
Jul 31, 2019 05:23 AM
Rainmaker
922,813
Thomas J. Nelson, Realtor, ePRO, CRS, RCS-D
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

They’d be hard-pressed to do that; have done 20 years in this industry without that concern. There’s no reason to be anything less than professional in this industry so those that act below the standard of professional should be accused and should be punished and should lose their license

Jul 30, 2019 08:31 PM
Rainmaker
559,350
Steve Higgins
RE/MAX Kelowna - Kelowna, BC

I would be shocked as I try to be totally professional. 

Jul 30, 2019 04:58 PM
Rainmaker
3,243,187
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Readily prepared to staunchly defend against such a frivolous charge

Jul 30, 2019 04:19 PM
Ambassador
4,168,331
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams Fox Cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Interesting question that I hope I will never have to consider.

Jul 30, 2019 04:03 PM
Rainmaker
1,527,726
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg IL Real Estate

I would be bummed. You also might have to defend yourself in order to not pay a fine. Prove your innocence so to speak.

Jul 30, 2019 10:53 AM
Rainmaker
704,551
Richard Bazinet /MBA, CRS, ABR
West USA Realty - Scottsdale, AZ
Phoenix Scottsdale. Sellers, Buyers & Relocations

I would feel like I got busted for doing the wrong thing. Would serve me right.

Jul 31, 2019 07:18 AM
Rainmaker
1,292,547
Wayne and Jean Marie Zuhl
Samsel & Associates - Clark, NJ
The Last Names You'll Ever Need in Real Estate

I imagine EVERYONE who knows us would be shocked if there was a complaint followed against us. 

Jul 31, 2019 06:36 AM
Rainmaker
2,980,109
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

Shocked and start preparing to defend myself.

Jul 31, 2019 03:37 AM
Ambassador
3,968,451
Jeff Dowler, CRS
Solutions Real Estate - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

How could anyone doing their job as they should feel anything but being astounded? I would be floored!

Jul 31, 2019 12:53 AM
Rainmaker
1,007,425
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

 Pray that you will get to keep your license. Often time to get a lawyer paying $400 an hour taking 6-12 months....

Jul 30, 2019 09:59 PM
Ambassador
888,608
John Meussner
Mason-McDuffie Mortgage, Conventional Loans, Jumbo Loans, FHA, 203(k), USDA, VA, - Walnut Creek, CA
#MortgageMadeEasy Walnut Creek, CA 484-680-4852

I'd look in the mirror and see if I did anything wrong

Aug 01, 2019 01:57 PM
Rainer
64,093
Evelyn M Epperson
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Johns Creek, GA
A Tradition Of [Excellence, Trust & Service]

That has happened to me!  I was buying a townhome and another buyer made a complaint against me!!  They where angry I won highest and best on this town house.  They accused me and the listing agent of colluding.  It was ridiculous.  I was mad of course as I had done nothing wrong and luckily the Ga. real estate commission said I did nothing wrong.  That was one weird situation!!!

Aug 01, 2019 11:48 AM
Ambassador
2,205,047
Wanda Kubat-Nerdin - Wanda Can!
Prado Real Estate South - St. George, UT
So Utah Residential, Referral & Relocation REALTOR

Here are some great responses to the repetitive question you just asked:

https://activerain.com/questions/.../how-would-you-feel-if-someone-made-a- formal-complaint-against-you-to-the-division-of-real-estate-for-mis...
 
How would you feel if someone made a formal complaint against you to the division of real estate ... If it was a justified complaint, I would be very embarrassed.
 
https://activerain.com/questions/.../how-would-you-feel-if-someone-made-a- formal-complaint-against-you-to-the-division-of-real-estate-for-mis...
 
... feel if someone made a formal complaint against you to the division of realestate for ... Congrats on picking a question that the schools only ask about once a year .... in a misconduct, but I will review the complain then respond with alawsuit.
 
https://activerain.com/?page=2&timestamp=April+01%2C...
 
Real Estate Industry 3 months ago. How would you feel if someone made a formal complaint against you to the division of real estate for misconduct?
 
https://www.activerain.com/?page=4&timestamp=April...2019...
 
Real Estate Industry 21 days ago. How would you feel if someone made a formalcomplaint against you to the division of real estate for misconduct?
 
https://activerain.com/questions
 
The ActiveRain Q&A site is a place where real estate professionals can ask questions of their peers in a private community ... How would you feel if someonemade a formal complaint against you to the division of real estate for misconduct?
 
https://activerain.com/?page=3&timestamp=April+01%2C...
 
Real Estate Industry 2 months ago. How would you feel if someone made a formal complaint against you to the division of real estate for misconduct?
Aug 01, 2019 05:30 AM
Ambassador
2,675,060
Katerina Gasset
Get It Done For Me Virtual Services - Wellington, FL
Get It Done For Me Virtual Services

I would not feel very well about that especially if I didn't do anything wrong. 

Jul 31, 2019 07:43 PM
Rainmaker
672,970
John Juarez
The Medford Real Estate Team - Fremont, CA
ePRO, SRES, GRI, PMN

I would be very surprised that anyone could fault in my professional conduct. I take my responsibilities very seriously.

Jul 31, 2019 05:14 PM
Rainmaker
2,782,995
Kathleen Daniels
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
San Jose Homes for Sale-Probate & Trust Specialist

I wish you all the best with your real estate studies. 

Jul 31, 2019 09:02 AM
Rainmaker
4,066,161
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

Good luck with your studies.

Aug 12, 2019 04:12 PM
Rainmaker
3,141,577
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

I make sure I never cross that line that it would happen.

 

Aug 03, 2019 10:17 AM
Rainmaker
1,536,825
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Geneva Financial, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

If i was guilty of misconduct behavior, I would learn from the experience. If a bogus charge, then defend myself

Aug 01, 2019 08:21 AM