Paul S.  Henderson, REALTOR®, CRS, Tacoma Washington Agent/Broker & Market Authority! (RE/MAX Northwest.)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
1,346,498
Carol Williams
Although I'm retired, I love sharing my knowledge and learning from other real estate industry professionals. - Wenatchee, WA
Retired Agent / Broker / Property Manager

The sewer was never hooked up.  This was NOT a new home. 

Sep 21, 2019 11:53 AM
Rainmaker
785,019
Doug Dawes
Keller Williams Realty - Topsfield, MA - Georgetown, MA
Your Personal Realtor®

I've got no story like that! 

Sep 21, 2019 09:44 AM
Rainmaker
3,176,435
Nina Hollander
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

That is some story, Paul. The most bizarre thing that happened on one of my inspections is an inspector seeing two copperheads in the crawl space and asking me to tell the seller's agent that he'd be back to complete the inspection once the sellers got rid of the copperheads.

Sep 21, 2019 12:12 PM
Rainmaker
424,384
Dan Pittsenbarger
Keller Williams Western Realty - Bellingham, WA
Improving Conditions

Just normal stuff - dead animals, rats, bats & giant bee hives.

Sep 21, 2019 11:20 AM
Rainmaker
740,358
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

Hah! Cool story! I don't blame her husband but he coulda told her! Maybe he did and she just forgot.

Sep 21, 2019 11:05 AM
Rainmaker
1,552,862
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg IL Real Estate

great story! 

nothing as exciting as that in my career. Side of a furnace was missing once.

 

Sep 21, 2019 10:35 AM
Rainer
197,337
Sharon Altier, SFR
Lawton Realty Group, Inc. - Elmhurst, IL
Your Real Estate Partner

What a great windfall for your client!

Sep 21, 2019 10:15 AM
Rainmaker
1,217,362
Valeria Mola
SIB Realty - Miami, Sunny Isles Beach - Sunny Isles Beach, FL
305-607-0709 SIB Realty

Wow! 

Thank so interesting.

Our inspections - nothing unusual.

Sep 21, 2019 09:46 AM
Ambassador
2,234,239
Wanda Kubat-Nerdin - Wanda Can!
Prado Real Estate South - St. George, UT
So Utah Residential, Referral & Relocation REALTOR

Fun story Paul! Unable to think of anything that stands out, thankfully.

Sep 22, 2019 04:27 PM
Rainmaker
1,651,819
Evelina Tsigelnitskaya
SIB Realty - Sunny Isles Beach, FL
www.SIBRealty.org 305-931-6931

Nothing unusual

Sep 22, 2019 04:04 PM
Rainmaker
776,183
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

The purple pipes for reclaimed water was connected to the water main into the house.

The seller was leaving because the house made the family sick.

The more you think about this, the sicker you feel.

Imagine the tentacles of the disclosure issue!

Sep 22, 2019 05:32 AM
Rainmaker
567,639
Peter Testa
Nationwide Homes - Danbury, CT
PETER TESTA

A duffle bag with a head in it. Just kidding. Nothing too crazy. One tenant put up a clear tarp on the ceiling. It was meant to stop the Carpenter Bees from entering the room. They had worked their way through the ceiling & instead of treating the problem the tenant pinned up a tarp that was catching what looked like thousands of carpenter bees in it. I saw it before inspections.

Sep 21, 2019 03:29 PM
Rainmaker
1,029,938
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

Crawl space has dead animal, balls, a live skunk start at you, trash. 

My wife's girl friend husband passed away w/o a will. She found a gym bag full of bills totaling $4500. She is spending it. Now she is getting to to a barn and his office.  So far she found out he owns 80 acres of land, a safe full of gem stones and coins.  

Sep 21, 2019 02:20 PM
Rainmaker
4,535,804
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Paul,

What a great story.  No stories from us, and we wish you a wonderful weekend. A

Sep 21, 2019 11:15 AM
Rainmaker
5,463,662
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

Thanks for sharing your experience.

Sep 21, 2019 10:24 AM
Rainmaker
3,227,535
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

Wow, that would beat anything I have to give.

 

Sep 21, 2019 10:00 AM
Ambassador
3,401,742
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
Charlotte Homes for Sale - Charlotte Neighborhoods

I had two that really gave me the heebie jeebies - one found multiple snake skins in the attic, the other, a cat carcass in the crawl space. 

Sep 22, 2019 06:44 PM
Ambassador
4,048,749
Jeff Dowler, CRS
Solutions Real Estate - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

I can't compete with that one!

Sep 22, 2019 03:26 PM
Rainmaker
439,518
Abby Stiller
REMAX Realty Group - Cape Coral, FL
Professional Bilingual Realtor (239) 284-8637

Wow that's an interesting story Paul. 

Sep 22, 2019 02:30 PM
Ambassador
2,895,854
Anna Banana Kruchten CRB, GRI, WLS
Phoenix Property Shoppe - Phoenix, AZ
603-380-4886

Wow Paul that's quite the story. I had a couple like that but they stashed silver dollar coins. Apparently they paid a lot of bills, in person with those coins.  The strangest one I've seen is the sewer line was about 2 inches from the home and draining into back yard. It was one of our agents with the client. Inspector called me directly and said - Anna do you realize how bad this property is he's trying to sell,and he went on to list the bigger issues.   Me - Not a clue.   Newer Agent was not properly protecting this buyer best interest plus no way in heck would a lender lend on it. This had to to end. It did.

Sep 22, 2019 11:11 AM
Rainmaker
776,037
Kasey & John Boles
Jon Gosche Real Estate, LLC - BoiseMeridianRealEstate.com - Boise, ID
Boise & Meridian, ID Ada/Canyon/Gem/Boise Counties

adger in the crawl space. But the inspector got stuck on the wrong side of it and the exit. It wasn't my inspection. The inspector told me about it.

Also, this one was ours. Hot and cold pipes were switched through the whole house in a new construction home. Builder had to rip out sheetrock and rearrange before closing.

Sep 22, 2019 07:06 AM
Rainmaker
741,330
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

Nice story, happy ending. Nothing that interesting on my end, just dead mice in basement and a raccoon in the fireplace.

Sep 22, 2019 05:57 AM
Rainmaker
3,339,781
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Nothing so amazing. A dishwasher in a new construction builder's model had no electrical service run to it. Rather boring! 

Sep 22, 2019 04:04 AM
Rainmaker
1,256,972
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

Wow!  Good answer.  Nothing even remotely close to that has happened to me... or even anything out of the ordinary.

Sep 21, 2019 08:40 PM
Rainmaker
2,475,583
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

leaks and shorts...no surprises so far

Sep 21, 2019 07:11 PM
Ambassador
4,323,813
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams Fox Cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

In so many old homes that we have flipped I have hoped to find something like this, unfortunately our greatest treasures are more like time capsule items of little value.

Sep 21, 2019 05:07 PM
Rainmaker
3,839,803
Dorie Dillard CRS GRI ABR
Coldwell Banker United Realtors® ~ 512.750.6899 - Austin, TX
Serving Buyers & Sellers in NW Austin Real Estate

OMG..this is hysterical..I've never had anything that could top your experience!

Sep 21, 2019 04:29 PM
Rainmaker
67,365
Kris Collis, Associate Broker
Smart Way America Realty - East Stroudsburg, PA
Professional Results you Expect 570-507-7510

A story for the books, Paul.  
Hope this widow lived a long time after to enjoy the discovery!

Sep 21, 2019 02:12 PM
Rainmaker
2,810,873
Kathleen Daniels
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
San Jose Homes for Sale-Probate & Trust Specialist

That is a great story.

Sep 21, 2019 01:03 PM
Rainmaker
1,638,427
Bob "RealMan" Timm
Ward County Notary Services - Minot, ND
Owner of Ward Co. Notary Services, retired Realtor

Nothing bizarre unless you want to count cats Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®, CRS .

Sep 22, 2019 05:32 AM
Rainmaker
449,843
Tom Bailey
Margaret Rudd & Associates Inc. - Oak Island, NC

Great story! I have not had anything that bizarre 

Sep 21, 2019 02:31 PM
Rainmaker
4,135,114
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

A sandwich in the dryer vent of a new home.

Oct 07, 2019 04:12 PM
Rainmaker
705,462
John Juarez
The Medford Real Estate Team - Fremont, CA
ePRO, SRES, GRI, PMN

Great story, Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®, CRS 

Your story is much better than mine about the dead rats.

Sep 26, 2019 05:49 PM