Wayne and Jean Marie Zuhl, The Last Names You'll Ever Need in Real Estate (Samsel & Associates)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
1,635,878
Bob "RealMan" Timm
Ward County Notary Services - Minot, ND
Owner of Ward Co. Notary Services, retired Realtor

I think it's the stupidest thing a Realtor can do. It only feeds the beast that is already robbing us Wayne and Jean Marie Zuhl 

Nov 03, 2019 07:57 AM
Rainmaker
3,390,112
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

There are all kinds of strategies with many success stories.  You can likely find some dismal failures as well.  My opinion really doesn't matter as much as what works for you, your situation and your business model.  

Nov 03, 2019 08:23 AM
Rainmaker
5,459,038
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

I recommend generation of your own leads.

Nov 03, 2019 11:54 AM
Rainmaker
830,043
Diana Zaccaro
Tropical Beachside brokered by eXp - Cocoa Beach, FL
"The Accidental Blogger" Cocoa Beach, Florida

I wouldn't do it but I did once a trial with Trulia back in the day. The majority of the leads were either fake or spam and I only got one actual legitimate lead the whole time. If it's not a long term committment and you are prepared to lose the money if it doesn't pan out, go for it. But use a throwaway credit card for your protection.

 

Nov 03, 2019 10:10 AM
Rainmaker
937,475
Thomas J. Nelson, Realtor e-Pro, CRS, RCS-D, Vets
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

If you wish to throw your money away, please send it to me. I'll at least send you a  thank you note!

Nov 03, 2019 09:58 AM
Rainmaker
5,077,069
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Franklin, MA
Marketing Agent for The Todaro Team

don't do it!!!!  if you want buyers, blog posts are what they read....buyers start online....sellers are offline with print marketing and open house events...

THAT'S MORE REALISTIC FOR ANYONE.... do open house events and YOU market online to spread the word.... most listing agents are lazy and don't want to spend the time.... we do and we get business.... tammy had one saturday for 1.5 hours and there were 3 buyers....one is without an agent...  they want to work with her in the $800-$900k range..... good buyers...nothing to sell... but have a two family home.

Nov 03, 2019 08:42 AM
Ambassador
3,097,762
Chris Ann Cleland
Long and Foster REALTORS®, Gainesville, VA - Bristow, VA
Associate Broker, Bristow, VA

I tried Realtor.com listing enhancements when that was still a thing, years ago.  I also paid for buyer leads from Zillow in the more recent past.  None of the leads I ever got online were woth the money I spent.

The real power in this business is the power to generate your own leads.  Being a baby bird, relying on someone else to feed you is not a good business model.

Nov 03, 2019 08:36 AM
Ambassador
1,657,948
Alan May
Jameson Sotheby's International Realty - Evanston, IL
Helping you find your way home.

5-8% return is an excellent return ... IF... they're truly getting that return.  In my experience, agents who are buying leads, when talking to their colleagues tend to "exaggerate" (read that as "lie") their success.

But $50 isn't much of a risk if you wanna take a shot.  My guess, most of the leads you will get will be rentals, and very low quality.

Best of luck.

Nov 03, 2019 08:11 AM
Rainmaker
3,171,408
Nina Hollander
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

At $50/month doesn't sound scary... they cost hundreds of dollars a month here in my area and the leads are not worth it.

Nov 03, 2019 08:03 AM
Ambassador
817,243
Mimi Foster
Falcon Property Solutions - Colorado Springs, CO
Voted Colorado Springs Best Realtor

RUN, FORREST, RUN!!! 

Nov 03, 2019 08:34 PM
Rainer
2,440
John & Sheema Harris
RE/MAX North-San Antonio - San Antonio, TX
Because... Results Matter!

I've only been a Realtor for 8 years with my husband, but it appears that Realtor.com is not what it used to be. He is going on his 17th year, and had let his account lapse. We signed up in May 2018 at a Jared James Advance Conference, for a 12 year term where all of our listings would only go to us, but we received "0" ZERO leads or inquires for that whole 12 month contract... only to find out that because we didn't cancel before the 12 month term, it auto-renewed. Once we realized we were still being billed, they stuck us with another 6 months. Absolute waste of money! 

Nov 03, 2019 05:50 PM
Rainmaker
703,780
John Juarez
The Medford Real Estate Team - Fremont, CA
ePRO, SRES, GRI, PMN

It is not the cost of buying leads...which our Team does...that is the problem. It is not having a well constructed plan to follow and convert those leads that is the prohibitive cost of buying leads.

Lead follow up must be swift and repetitive. Those who do it should have  measureable goals and hold themselves strictly accountable or it is likely that money will be wasted without beneficial results.

 

Nov 03, 2019 02:31 PM
Rainmaker
739,071
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

OK, the prevailing sentiment around here as you know is 'no buying leads' but if you decide to proceed, I would STRONGLY suggest that you review any contract carefully, and as Alan mentioned, use a 'disposable CC' in case they try to hold you hostage.

Nov 03, 2019 09:10 AM
Ambassador
2,233,197
Wanda Kubat-Nerdin - Wanda Can!
Prado Real Estate South - St. George, UT
So Utah Residential, Referral & Relocation REALTOR

In the past, I tried this once and was excited when Jennifer Lopez wanted to buy a home here...got a lot of spam and fake email addresses! I will pass.

Nov 03, 2019 08:23 AM
Rainer
57,520
Ken Jones
Realty ONE Group Central - Commercial - Freehold, NJ
There's no substitute for Experience.

Wayne and Jean Marie Zuhl Buying leads from anyone is a terrible idea - PERIOD.

It's an indication of weakness and incompetence, in my opinion. Especially since it's so easy to create one's own systems to develop a continual flow of qualified leads.

Nov 03, 2019 07:57 AM
Rainmaker
566,275
Peter Testa
Nationwide Homes - Danbury, CT
PETER TESTA

Sounds like a good amount of leads for the money. I don't buy leads from them but everyone has their own business plan & what works for one person may not work for another. The key is, have a good plan & stick with it. 

Nov 04, 2019 08:51 AM
Rainmaker
423,433
Dan Pittsenbarger
Keller Williams Western Realty - Bellingham, WA
Improving Conditions

I don't recommend buying leads - why do you want to "pay" someone to remain in between you and the public. Spend the money on marketing yourself. Have a drawing for $50 cash or a free $50 gift card at your local hardware store or whatever.

Nov 04, 2019 08:02 AM
Rainmaker
2,809,069
Kathleen Daniels
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
San Jose Homes for Sale-Probate & Trust Specialist

I do not buy leads from anywhere.  I believe doing so is an enormous waste of time and money. I generate m my own leads from y website. It works for me. 

Nov 04, 2019 06:49 AM
Rainmaker
775,243
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

Many believe buying leads in any way shape or form is the worst of decisions.

I do not agree.

An agents needs to spread seeds somewhere and start filling the pipeline somehow. 
It has been my observation that when I am in need of a gasoline, I must go to a gas station. If an agent needs leads they need to go where the leads are until they are able to create and open their own station.

Wayne and Jean have been in business for a long time. I would suggest opening your own station. But, $50 a month is pretty close to the price of shiny things. REALTOR.com has never been an ally of the real estate agent. Who owns them? In whose favor will the bias go?

Nov 04, 2019 04:50 AM
Rainer
448,835
Rose Mary Justice
Synergy Realty Pros - Dandridge, TN
Synergy Realty Pros

I have had no luck. Most of them send to the list agent first before you.

Nov 03, 2019 07:32 PM
Rainmaker
643,648
Brenda Mayette
Miranda Real Estate Group, Inc. - Glenville, NY
Getting results w/ knowledge & know-how!

My knee jerk response is "Don't feed the bear" HOWEVER, the reality is that the majority of consumers use Realtor.com, Zillow etc...   If it's "only" $50 per month, even if you get one closed deal a year, you're good (I'm assuming your closing check would be well above $600!!).  As another potential pillar of leads, it would make sense to consider it.  Just my humble opinion. 

Nov 03, 2019 04:03 PM
Rainmaker
604,555
Peter Mohylsky
PrimeSouth Properties - Santa Rosa Beach, FL
Let me help you find your path to the beach.

No experience, but not sure it works in all markets.  We have a lot of vacationers  here just looking.

Nov 03, 2019 12:49 PM
Rainmaker
2,474,221
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

Find what works and where it works and how.....Then put legs on it

Nov 03, 2019 10:42 AM
Rainmaker
1,842,249
Michael J. Perry
KW Elite - Lancaster, PA
Lancaster, PA Relo Specialist

If you run your business on buying leads , the cost usually outweighs the benefits 

Nov 03, 2019 10:41 AM
Rainmaker
1,095,009
Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTACONDOS.COM
Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
Associate Broker

I do not pay for leads.

Nov 03, 2019 08:37 AM
Rainmaker
95,450
Dario Ferreira
Attleboro, MA
Internet Marketing

Let me get this right, he does about one closing per month for $50?
That's an incredible deal if it's true.

Nov 03, 2019 08:31 AM
Rainmaker
1,343,983
Carol Williams
Although I'm retired, I love sharing my knowledge and learning from other real estate industry professionals. - Wenatchee, WA
Retired Agent / Broker / Property Manager

5% - 8% sounds pretty decent.  If you sign up then do you get the same leads as the other agent in your office (and who knows how many other agents)?  That wouldn't be good. 

Personally, I was never one to buy leads. My blog & website, repeat business and referrals generated all the leads I could handle.

Nov 03, 2019 08:26 AM
Ambassador
4,316,926
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams Fox Cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

List some homes, advertise these and you will have plenty of buyers to sell to these other people.

Nov 03, 2019 05:11 PM
Rainmaker
1,645,355
Evelina Tsigelnitskaya
SIB Realty - Sunny Isles Beach, FL
www.SIBRealty.org 305-931-6931

Worth to try

Nov 03, 2019 03:31 PM
Ambassador
1,650,226
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

I don't leads from anyone,.

Nov 03, 2019 03:17 PM
Ambassador
2,880,560
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

I haven't.  And the most I ever converted from on line ads is 2 to 2.5 %, but that was a good ROI for my spend.  I am still using Google ads to drive traffic to my site.  NOT all the leads that land there are from the ads, but the traffic from there isn't something I can sort by the person so I can't say how many come from the ad convert now vs. the total that converts.

Nov 03, 2019 02:57 PM
Rainmaker
1,210,822
Valeria Mola
SIB Realty - Miami, Sunny Isles Beach - Sunny Isles Beach, FL
305-607-0709 SIB Realty

$50 worth 

It is always good to try and see.

Nov 03, 2019 02:39 PM
Rainmaker
1,255,547
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

Not a fan of buying leads.  Prefer to get them for free.

Nov 03, 2019 01:31 PM
Rainmaker
3,334,624
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Read the comments of Alan May. Just saying!

Nov 03, 2019 10:06 AM
Rainmaker
4,530,229
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

And I can sell you the Empire State Building...A

Nov 03, 2019 09:42 AM
Rainmaker
3,223,099
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

Not a fan, try Truia and never got a deal!

 

 

Nov 04, 2019 09:06 AM