Mimi Foster, Voted Colorado Springs Best Realtor (FALCON PROPERTY SOLUTIONS )

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
661,635
Thomas J. Nelson, Realtor,CRS,e-Pro
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
Co-Host of Mail-Right's: Real Estate Agent Podcast

I've contested appraisers, but never filed a complaint yet.

I'm old school though, I go for the horse head in the bed first,

then file a complaint 

Jun 14, 2017 03:04 PM
Rainmaker
3,812,713
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Franklin, MA
"Franklin MA Homes"

I would not hesitate with that challenge....call for another VA appraisal... or a review of that one by a supervisor.... send your comps again and copy the supervisor ..... your lender can't help you with that.. who took the loan? get that person on it.... I'd be shaking the B'Jesus out of everyone....

Jun 14, 2017 02:54 PM
Ambassador
2,960,407
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams fox cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Thomas J. Nelson, Realtor, CRS may be willing to loan you his horse head.

 

Jun 14, 2017 05:56 PM
Rainmaker
476,293
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

Not a VA appraiser, in fact they usually help us save our deals. Conventional financing appraisers oh yeah I've challenged them a few times. And had a couple that had been so arrogant that they refuse to see what was in front of their face but we just went back at them over and over until they caved.

Jun 14, 2017 02:45 PM
Rainmaker
1,264,152
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg IL Area Real Estate

Yes it was years ago for the same reason plus he was always intoxicated. You had to get the morning appts with the guy for him to be somewhat sober. The VA ended up doing nothing about it.

Jun 14, 2017 03:32 PM
Rainmaker
2,254,818
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker

Never had to file a complaint, thank goodness

Jun 14, 2017 05:39 PM
Ambassador
741,211
John Meussner
Mason-McDuffie Mortgage, Conventional Loans, Jumbo Loans, FHA, 203(k), USDA, VA, - Walnut Creek, CA
#MortgageMadeEasy Walnut Creek, CA 484-680-4852

VA appraisals are tougher than most to get overturned and there have to be a lot of good reasons (ie appraiser bedroom count was wrong, square footage way off, comps in different school districts, etc).  Most areas have limited VA appraisers, so they're a bit more difficult to deal with.

Jun 14, 2017 05:35 PM
Rainmaker
563,229
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

No.

I do tell those seeking VA backed financing what will happen and that they must be prepared to make up the difference or find other financing.

If they protest, they get to look at more houses.

I will not allow the seller to be harmed by the financing a buyer chooses.

Jun 14, 2017 03:05 PM
Rainmaker
1,966,628
Nina Hollander
RE/MAX Executive | Charlotte, NC - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Area Realtor

No, I have not. But no appraiser is obliged to come in at value. And whether a house is worth "more" can be considered an opinion.... unless it's totally clear that appraiser used all wrong comps. I've had same houses appraised three times with wildly different values... who was right?

Jun 14, 2017 02:58 PM
Rainmaker
1,107,282
Mary Yonkers
Alan Kells School of Real Estate/Howard Hanna Real Estate - Erie, PA
Erie/PA Real Estate Instructor

I have not, but have challenged other appraisals. Some successful, others not.

Jun 14, 2017 02:56 PM
Ambassador
1,127,159
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

No, but I have contacted the lender and asked for a second appraisal.

Jun 14, 2017 02:44 PM
Ambassador
3,242,126
Jeff Dowler
Solutions Real Estate - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude - Carlsbad

No I haven't but certainly would if I felt it was waranted

Jun 14, 2017 02:39 PM
Ambassador
1,434,289
Alan May
Coldwell Banker Residential - Evanston, IL
Helping you find your way home.

I have wanted to... but I have not.

Jun 14, 2017 02:34 PM
Ambassador
3,211,162
Debbie Reynolds
Platinum Properties - Clarksville, TN
Your Dedicated Clarksville TN Real Estate Agent

You can also complain to the national appraisal board as they monitor things like this.

Jun 14, 2017 07:02 PM
Rainmaker
2,334,812
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of Manchester NH's Leading Agents

I have faced many a bad appraiser lately, and have found it goes easier of the loan officer an dor their manager assist in requesting a review. Then a complaint to the state licensing board is what I do

Jun 14, 2017 05:52 PM
Rainmaker
4,109,172
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD
Roy and Dolores Kelley Photographs

No. I was a VA appraiser many years ago.

Jun 14, 2017 03:34 PM
Rainmaker
372,325
JoAnn Moore
The Mortgage Market of Delaware - Georgetown, DE
Home Loans in Delaware

Yes, we have requested that several of our lenders not use a certain appraiser. Was always coming in low, was rude to the people at the house and had comments from the appraisal management company stating lack of compliance, etc.

The appraisal industry is in dire need of new inspectors. A lot of them have retired or got out of the business due to now getting paid a lot less. The appraisal management companies take such a big chunk of the appraisal fee.

It also isn't fair to the buyers that pay a lot more for an appraisal because of the  cut the appraisal management company takes. 

The appraisal requests are put out to the appraisers to bid on and the lowest price one gets the order. Not a good system at all.  This was all done to protect the borrowers but it doesn't do that at all. 

Jun 14, 2017 02:57 PM
Rainmaker
656,590
Jennifer Mackay
Keller Williams Success Realty - Panama City, FL
Your Bay County Florida Realtor 850.774.6582

2k? You should jump for joy about that!

We're getting appraisals 10-20k below value now!!!!

And yes I'm pissed off!!!

Jun 15, 2017 05:21 AM
Rainmaker
549,402
Kasey & John Boles
Jon Gosche Real Estate, LLC - BoiseMeridianRealEstate.com - Boise, ID
Boise & Meridian, ID Ada/Canyon/Gem/Boise Counties

I have never made a complaint. We have challenged appraisals, though I can't recall if any were VA - I'm certain some where FHA.  What a bummer - good luck Mimi, I hope it works out.  $2000....sigh.  We just had one come in $1000 low.  We had the buyers and the sellers agreed to lower the price.  But $1k? Come on..-Kasey

Jun 14, 2017 09:40 PM
Rainmaker
1,141,301
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • Green • GRI • HAFA • PSC Los Angeles CA

I'm curious what the price of the property?

( 2k is like nothing for my hood). 

Jun 14, 2017 08:56 PM
Ambassador
2,088,843
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.AtHomesCharlotte.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
Charlotte Homes for Sale - Charlotte Neighborhoods

I've never tried but, gosh I'm interested in hearing more about Thomas J. Nelson, Realtor, CRS' strategy!!

Jun 14, 2017 08:44 PM
Rainmaker
1,357,058
Sybil Campbell
Long and Foster REALTORS® 5234 Monticello Ave Williamsburg, Virginia - Williamsburg, VA
REALTOR® ABR, SFR, SRES Williamsburg, Virginia

No I have not had to do that.  We are often at the mercy of the appraisers.

Jun 14, 2017 08:10 PM
Ambassador
1,776,299
Fred Griffin
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

I have challenged conventional and FHA appraisals, and I think a cash deal, but I can't recall challenging a VA appraisal.    I have never filed a complaint.

Jun 14, 2017 07:10 PM
Rainmaker
2,154,074
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

Appraisers  can sometimes be like a fly in a peaceful room...bzzzzzz

Jun 14, 2017 05:23 PM
Rainmaker
750,824
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

I do not accept VA loan. Accepted FHA loan for the first time the buyers were not qualified.  I sensed that listings goes back to the market.....

Jun 14, 2017 04:02 PM
Rainmaker
3,279,668
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding and Marketing

NO

Jun 14, 2017 02:38 PM
Rainmaker
3,095,504
Dorie Dillard
Coldwell Banker United Realtors® ~ 512.346.1799 - Austin, TX
Serving Buyers & Sellers in NW Austin Real Estate

I've never filed a complaint just files for a review and sometimes it's worked.

Jun 15, 2017 07:20 PM
Ambassador
1,569,048
Harry F. D'Elia
Real Estate and Beyond, LLC - Phoenix, AZ
Investor , Mentor, GRI, Radio, CIPS, REOs, ABR

all the numbers very frustrating

Jun 15, 2017 04:21 PM
Rainmaker
905,137
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
www.HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

Yes.  Had one who was a complete idiot who used a three year (and 200k lower) comp for one of my sales.  Reported him and filed a complaint with his boss.

Jun 15, 2017 02:36 PM
Rainmaker
270,807
Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTACONDOS.COM
Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
Associate Broker

I have not

Jun 15, 2017 11:58 AM
Rainmaker
2,251,973
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

Never have but almost did two years ago, he is always coming in low otheres say.

 

Jun 15, 2017 08:42 AM
Rainmaker
2,370,142
Kathleen Daniels
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
San Jose Homes for Sale - Probate Broker

I have not.  That is not to say that I wouldn't.  

Jun 15, 2017 07:53 AM
Rainmaker
250,577
Brenda J. Andrew
ULTIMA REAL ESTATE - Corpus Christi, TX
Professional Realtor in Corpus Christi, TX

I've never filed a complaint, but anytime something comes in that far under, I usually try to find additional comps and see if I can fight it with more information.  Sometimes the lender will work with it, and sometimes they won't.  Good luck!

Jun 15, 2017 06:24 AM
Rainmaker
2,687,387
Michael Jacobs
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena Area Real Estate 818.516.4393

VA financing is not as common in my market as in others so I've never challenged or filed a complaint.  I'm sorry this happened to you, Mimi -- it certainly seems to be something that should be addressed.    

Jun 15, 2017 03:46 AM
Ambassador
3,510,063
Praful Thakkar
eXp Realty - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Mimi Foster - not many VA loans I have come across  - for sellers as well as buyers.

Jun 14, 2017 10:39 PM
Rainmaker
3,215,181
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

I have not but I have told a lender to gind a new appraiser or my client goes to a new lender.   One called my bluff.  We walked and got a guy that knew what he was doing.

Jun 14, 2017 09:44 PM
Rainmaker
3,596,404
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

No.

Jun 14, 2017 04:41 PM
Rainmaker
2,459,292
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty - Scottsdale, AZ
Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ

Barbara Todaro nailed this one!

Jun 15, 2017 05:30 AM
Rainmaker
3,776,382
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

I have not.

Jun 15, 2017 05:27 AM